Foot²Freestyle: a block swap party

Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 7.13.18 amFoot²Freestyle is a new scrap-busting block swap party for 12 people. It has been developed by Kate Chiconi of Tall Tales From Chiconia (me!) and Sue Brown of From the Magpie’s NestWe hope you’ll want to join the party – everyone who does ends up with 36 foot-square blocks, the makings of a decent sized quilt.

Here’s how it’s going to work. First come, first served, but we will retain the next few names as well in case anyone has to drop out and a replacement would like to step in. To make it work, we need enough people to make enough blocks for a decent-size quilt, and 12 is the practical minimum. If we get a lot of response, we can run two parallel block swap parties, which would be very exciting. If the participants enjoy it enough, we may do the whole thing again but have more people and make the blocks smaller – Four²Freestyle, for example – or simply make fewer blocks each.

Each month, one of the 12 names is picked out of a hat at random. That person is notified both by email and on the F²F page we will set up on our blogs, and chooses a colour theme for their blocks. This colour choice will be advised to all participants on the F²F page. Each of the F²F swappers makes three foot-square (12 inches square) blocks each month, and we all send our 3 blocks to the same selected person, who gets to choose colour, but that’s all. You get to choose the design, layout, fabric, etc. That’s why it’s called Freestyle…

Your foot-square blocks must feature the selected colour, but can be any design, any style, any layout, so long as they’re a foot (12 inches) square plus a quarter inch seam allowance all round. Please make sure you measure and trim your blocks before you send them out.

At the end of the year, we all end up with 36 blocks, which is enough make a 72” square quilt top. At that point, we celebrate and have an online exhibition! We are each responsible for assembling, quilting and binding our own quilts. You can, if you prefer, make something else out of your blocks – for example, if you’d like to make baby quilts, a twin size, or multiple pillows, etc. Your blocks, your choice. Freestyle, remember?

Foot²Freestyle will be administered by Kate Chiconi of Tall Tales from Chiconia and Sue Brown of From the Magpie’s Nest. Once we know how many (or if any!) people are interested and if it will go ahead, we will make the image above available as a button for you to grab for your blogs. Insufficient interest will result in failure to launch… Contact us in the Comments section of this post if you’d like to participate. Please also send emails to us at the addresses shown on our blogs, so we have your email for future notifications (it doesn’t matter which of us you send to). Entry is strictly on a first come, first served basis. The selected participant each month is chosen by random draw from the remaining names and cannot be changed, to keep things simple and administration to a minimum.

The swap party begins in June, which should give you time to work out if you have time to join us.  We’ll send an update closer to the time. Hope to see you there!

Kate & Sue

33 thoughts on “Foot²Freestyle: a block swap party

  1. I would like to participate, but think that it is all a bit too ambitious for me for several reasons: my health is very precarious; I am doing a succession of online courses which take up a fair bit of my time. Also, I shall be going to UK in June to visit my daughter. If you should decide to scale down a bit, it might be possible, though. I sincerely admire you for your boundless energy and commitment.
    love,
    ViV

  2. Nanette says:

    I thought I was going to come to ‘comments’ and find it was all filled up, but I’m first! You two have been busy behind the scenes cooking this up and what a great idea. I have my hand up, count me in. 🙂

  3. claire93 says:

    a bit ambitious for me and my patchwork skills ^^ but I look forward to cheering you all on!

    • katechiconi says:

      It needn’t be complicated – I’m thinking about some pretty basic blocks for busy months such as strips, simple chequerboard squares, HSTs, etc. But we look forward to your support!

  4. Hi Kate, I’d love to participate in this swap if you’ve still got room. I’ll email you as well.

    • katechiconi says:

      Welcome! Still plenty of space for everyone; the post has only been up 4 hours… I think it should be a lot of fun, and I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone comes up with for their three blocks each month.

    • katechiconi says:

      Hi Pat, if you sent an email, I haven’t received it, so could you try again: katechiconi(at)gmail(dot)com? I want to make sure I can contact all participants in case there’s a change of plan/timing etc.

  5. I already know what my chosen colour would be, but I need to weigh up some overcommitments. Can I be a maybe?

    • katechiconi says:

      Of course! And you have three months before you need to commit, so if you find closer to the time that you’re going to be able to do it, just let me know. And vice versa, of course…

  6. EllaDee says:

    I laughed when I read this… you’re busy busy and yet you find time & energy to come up with yet another collaborative scheme… time & distance be damned! 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      By June, Worldwide Friends has to be ready and entered in the Mackay Show. I’ll be just about ready for something different. This only involves making three 12 inch square blocks once a month, which is not a big deal! It arose out of the huge fun I got from the collaborative part of WWF, and took the form it did because I don’t like being told what block I have to use in quilting bees! And it need not be at all complicated, as I said above to Claire…

  7. tialys says:

    Oh, go on then. I think I can manage 3 a month. I will be keeping my blocks simple though – no Mariners Compass or anything too tricksy lest there be disappointment and complaint. I’ll start thinking about a colour scheme and collecting block ideas.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s my girl! I’m thinking that there will be months when the best I can manage is piecing strips together! I’m hoping someone will do some crazy stuff; I’m never able to be spontaneous enough and my ‘crazy’ blocks end up looking very contrived.

      • tialys says:

        I’ve already put the button on my blog. What should I link it to for the moment – this post?

      • katechiconi says:

        Eek! I haven’t written the grab code for the button yet; I thought I’d put off that particular horror till I saw if people wanted to join. At the moment it’s just a picture, so probably the best thing would be to link it to this post.

  8. Emmely says:

    Ooh, that sounds like fun! And I’m sure I can manage 3 blocks a month, especially if it’s freestyle and I can do whatever I feel up to at that point. 🙂 E-mail is on it’s way!

    • katechiconi says:

      Great! I’m so glad you’re able to join us! So far, we have people joining from Australia, the US, France and the Netherlands. We’ll be the United Nations of Quilting!

  9. Magpie Sue says:

    Ah ha! Much as I suspected, you’ve had a bigger response than I’ve had so far. This is encouraging. For those on the fence maybe in future posts about the swap we can point out that we’re not going for anything terribly fancy, complex, or difficult. This is supposed to be fun! I look forward to any excuse to make a simple block, this is just another opportunity to do so. ;- )

  10. I hope you all have fun with this and that I can see your end results !

  11. rutigt says:

    I´ll do like Claire, cheer you up! Really looking forward to see the result, but I want be participating. Nice idea though 🙂
    Gun

  12. I would like to join you!
    Esther

  13. Kirsten says:

    Sounds exciting, although I shall not volunteer to take part – it will probably take me too long, all things considered – but I look forward to seeing how it all goes.

  14. […] so if you haven’t had a look at what that’s all about, hop over and take a look here – we only need one or two more people to make it work. Sue’s over on the Pacific […]

  15. […] were sent to her from Australia, the States, Germany, the Netherlands and the U.K. as part of the F2F Block Swap?  Yes,  she […]

Leave a Reply

