Detention

Rosita arrived today, but I’m not allowed to play with her.

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 5.53.41 pm

Today’s output. My fingers are a bit sore…

Instead, I’m steeling myself for several long days of slogging away at hexies. It feels a bit like being kept back in school and doing detention (for those not familiar with the term, detention is extra punishment schoolwork which had to be done at school after hours while all your friends were outside playing).

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 5.54.11 pm

Miss Rosita is modelling 2metres of a rather fetching spot fabric waiting to be turned into something wearable…

Upstairs in my sewing room, Rosita stands sturdily in the corner, draped discreetly in fabric to conceal from the curious the fact that she’s now very nearly as porky as I am. Her shoulders slope a little more than my very square ones, nothing a couple of shoulder pads can’t fix. Her waist goes in a bit more and will need padding out, but otherwise she’s eerily familiar. Apart from being bright red, that is.

On my cutting table lie the pieces for the Swoopy Shirt and new fabric in lilac cotton with a medium white dot, destined to be turned into a long tunic top, possibly with the same swoopy hem as the shirt.

In the cupboard are numerous pieces of fabric whispering seductively about the garments they want to become. They know I have the patterns already. But worst and most tempting of all is the siren song of the Wedding Quilt….

So you can see why I feel a bit trapped by hexies. I’m still absolutely loving this quilt, but the stupid show deadline is what’s causing all the angst. And all self-inflicted, too…

Ah well, onwards.

31 thoughts on “Detention

  1. tialys says:

    What a shame! You were so full of enthusiasm when you started this – and we wouldn’t have pressured you 😉 It’s not pleasant when you’re working to a deadline but, sometimes, it does make you press on when you would otherwise be distracted.
    Ooh, hark at me – I sound like the local wise woman or something.
    Just keep thinking of all the oohs and aahs your beautiful quilt will attract when it’s displayed at the show.

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, don’t get me wrong, I’m still loving this quilt heaps, but because there’s so much of it I’m craving a change. The deadline is, as you very rightly point out, exactly what I need to finish it some time this decade!

  2. Nanette says:

    Ooh Rosita, you……porky???? hmm, I didn’t say that…..siren you, hush now and stand quietly.

    Stay calm Kate and sew hexies 🙂

  3. That will teach me not to read blog posts for a while… deadline? Rosita? Better catch up on my reading…

  4. Rosita seems like the patient type. And let’s face it, she’s not going anywhere.

  5. I’ve found quite a lot of blue bits, including more of the Java print, but have forgotten what size squares you need for the hexies. Can you let me know and I will cut them to send.

    At least you are spoilt for choice of projects – when you get bogged down in one you can turn to Rosie and start another.

  6. Magpie Sue says:

    It’s amazing the effect a deadline or other sense of responsibility can have on our joy and creativity. Deadlines can inspire, no doubt, but they can also have the opposite effect, as evidenced by your feeling of being in detention. Carry on! I have a feeling Rosita is a patient gal.

    • katechiconi says:

      The deadline is mainly having the effect of making me panic just a little, and seriously stepping up hexie production. It’s good to knuckle down, but I’d hate to think I slogged away for nothing if I just miss it! The quilt would have to wait a whole year to get entered!

  7. I didn’t know there was a deadline for the quilt but I’m sure you’ll get there, I can imagine it starts to be boring, it is HUGE !!!

  8. EllaDee says:

    Miss Rosita, like me and Mma Ramotswe is traditionally built!… I’ve started reading the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency novels… and I believe that is the appropriate term.
    Reproachful silences… you are funny 🙂 But a quiet companion who won’t talk back.

  9. Ashley says:

    beautiful!!!!! LOVE those hexies!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, just you wait! I’m on a big roll right now, and the bottom strip of the front will be finished by the end of this week, and the top strip will be started. I’m never, ever going to count hexies again. It makes it just too intimidating…

  10. I pulled Miranda out of the cupboard on the weekend and finally rehemmed my red evening dress after it had hung by my sewing machine for two years. I am sure Rosita will be very handy!

    • katechiconi says:

      We should introduce them! I’m really looking forward to being able to fit things properly, instead of just going by the pattern and being disappointed at the finished result.

  11. pattisj says:

    We’re hard on ourselves with our imposed deadlines and schedules. I have so many things I want to accomplish, but I must settle for a little at a time. It’s progress!

    • katechiconi says:

      Conversely, the old adage says “if you want something done, ask a busy person”! I don’t want to drift through life, I want to pack every second. Some days that second-packing involves dreaming, other days I’m on my feet the whole time, but it’s all purposeful and creative – even doing the dishes!

  12. Grannymar says:

    I bought my own ‘Rosita’, still un-named, about nine years ago in the run up to my daughter’s wedding. A throw away line from many years earlier was coming to Pass. My one and only little tomboy announced: “Mum. When I get married, you will make my outfit. Right.” This from a young lady who only wore jeans!

    Kate, your mention of shoulder pads brought back a memory…

    “Remember mum, my boobs are heavy!”

    My Rosita needed help and adjustment….. I asked for a bra that fitted well. and a neat t-shirt. The adjustments were made to the dress form and the bra added. it sagged! Cushion/toy stuffing was too light to hold the correct shape. One day while putting away my baking equipment, a box of ceramic baking beans literally fell into my hands. Bingo! I had my answer. I divided the beans into two small food bags and placed them in the bra cups surrounded by the stuffing, Perfect. I dressed the newly shaped form in the t-shirt and. it remained that way throughout the making.

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, priceless! It just goes to show the value of lateral thinking. Unfortunately my baking beans are in weekly use, even if I was well enough endowed to need to boost Rosita’s charms…

Leave a Reply

