Worldwide Friends: friendship is golden…

Sekaijū no tomodachi

Screen Shot 2015-02-27 at 10.15.48 pm

The quilt’s name, painted freehand onto the fabric surface using a brush and thick red-gold resist ink

That is what this says. And its meaning is Worldwide Friends or Friends around the World, whichever way you prefer it.

The calligraphy nib on my pen was not the right tool for laying down thick ink on this textured surface, so I fished out one of my fine sable brushes for the lettering. It wasn’t completely straightforward. Having traced the ideograms from the original slips of paper using my LED lightbox and a quilt marker, I found the painting process was fairly laborious. The resist ink is thick and blobby, being very dense with gold pigment, and the surface of the fabric is a nubbly weave, making straight lines and neat corners a bit tricky. It dries quickly on the brush, and slowly on the fabric, so I had to keep moving.

Probably a Japanese person will be able to point out awkwardness or inaccuracy in my letter forms, but so long as it’s not actually saying something rude, I’m OK with it!

Screen Shot 2015-02-27 at 10.16.19 pmNow that I’ve done this lettering, the central section can be permanently added to the side pieces. I haven’t wanted to do that until now, because of the additional weight and volume of the sides making it hard to work with the middle – particularly when I thought I’d be embroidering the name on for a week or two.

Screen Shot 2015-02-27 at 10.16.39 pm

At the bottom is Nanette’s own hand-dyed fabric

After my last post on this quilt, which said that I would need more indigoes in order to finish the front, the kind and generous Nanette from Stitch and Sow has sent me even more loot, including some of her own hand-dyed fabric. So kind… As you can see, I’m making progress on the bottom strip. And no, I haven’t worked out how many more hexies I still have to make, that wasn’t such a great idea last time!

Suffice it to say there’s still quite a few hexies to go…

26 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: friendship is golden…

  1. pattisj says:

    I’m enjoying your process and progress. The ink sounds like it was really hard to work with, but it looks great!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m glad you like it! I’ve always felt that reading about a quilter’s process was useful – there’s so much to learn from our fellow quilters if they’ll only share. That’s why I always describe – in sometimes excessive detail, I admit – how I arrive at a result… The ink can be thinned with water to make it runnier but you’d probably need a second coat to get coverage, and I wasn’t going that way a second time!

  2. That hand-dyed fabric is awesome and so will your quilt be when it is finnished !!!

  3. Your handiwork is exceptional. If you need any more fabric shout – but it does take rather a long time to getto you!
    love,
    ViV

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, Viv, I’ll have a better idea in a day or so, once I’ve attached the two new pieces, unpicked all the basting, picked out the papers and made up dozens of little piles for more hexies! If you do have any more you think would work, I’d love a bit more variety; I’m getting down to a rather limited palette now…

  4. Magpie Sue says:

    The paint looks fine in the photograph. Sometimes we see our own work too closely for too long.

    I have an envelope with some fabric swatches in it addressed and ready to go. Unfortunately I have to wait for someone to take it to the post office for me. Hopefully you won’t have to wait too long for it to come.

    • katechiconi says:

      Wonderful! Don’t worry about a delay in posting; I still have a couple of months’ worth of work to go, and judging by past experience, mail from west coast US takes 10 days to 2 weeks, so it won’t be a problem.

  5. claire93 says:

    lol my other half (who can speak & read Japanese) translated it as “amis du monde entier” so looks like you’ve done well and not written anything rude lol

  6. EllaDee says:

    It looks wonderful. I will keep my eye out for more fabric. The pic of Nanette’s fabric gives a better idea of what to look for… I’m so not a quilter!

    • katechiconi says:

      To be honest, anything in that very dark, almost greeny-black blue would be great. Less pattern rather than more; I’m shortest of the darkest colour and the more pattern the lighter the effect.

  7. It’s looking stunning – shame I’m not in Spain as I know I have some lovely batik that would have worked colour wise!

  8. rutigt says:

    This is gonna be so nice! I think you are brave, daring to write in japanese on a quilt! You are so talent 🙂
    Gun

  9. Kirsten says:

    Lovely gold lettering and I still adore the bunnies. Although today it struck me that the one under the lettering looks as if he has farted unexpectedly! Sorry, shall go and hide in the corner . . .

  10. The gold looks just right with the colours of the hares!

Leave a Reply

