Gratitude

Frangipani

THANK YOU!

I’m very grateful.

That we escape the horrors of Tropical Cyclone Marcia.

That we’re safe, well, unharmed and undamaged.

For all the good wishes, support and interest from you all. Thank you.

And thank you especially to Viv, who wrote me a poem for the event, which I think you’ll enjoy.

Go and check it out.

I have a busy day ahead undoing all the preparations we made, so I won’t hang around.

Normal service will resume as soon as possible.

 

30 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Nanette says:

    Relieved for you and grateful too. Enjoy your day doing practical tasks.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s taken till now to get the internet back up; they had some power supply problems at the transmitter. Freedom from worry makes mundane tasks like cooking and shopping seem rather pleasant!

  2. EllaDee says:

    As Maxwell Smart would say… “missed you by that much!”, for which I am very pleased.
    I enjoyed Viv’s poem – we’ve all been there one way or another, and wait, holding our breaths for it to pass.

  3. Great to hear. There is something about the power of prayer.

  4. pattisj says:

    So thankful for a good report!

  5. knettycraft says:

    Apart of all your impessive posts about it we had it in the news today morning. … I’m relieved it is over and you are fine. And I read Viv’s expressive poem … someone already said – like a prayer, it carries both the fear and the will to resist.
    And Kate… I got your parcel… I’m speechless. Thank you so much. 🙂

  6. Cicely says:

    So glad that you’re all OK Kate, and your home (and even the shed!) too. Scary stuff. Sounds as if you were well prepared. Enjoy those mundane tasks. Viv’s poem is very good. Thinking of all those affected by the storm.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s still going on, hot and strong, just a long way south of us now. Rockhampton has 50,000 people without power, there’s widespread flooding and northern NSW is expecting a major storm surge. I’m so very grateful we’re currently safe and warm and have the leisure to blog!

  7. I spent all day fretting about you and checking the track of the cyclone… so happy that you and HoC are safe and still have a house in one piece.

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, thank you for being such a good friend! I was finally quite frightened when I’d run out of displacement activities and preparations. In the even, it wasn’t needed, but it wasn’t time wasted. I’m just so sorry for all the people who are being badly affected. No loss of life yet, but lots and lots of property damage.

  8. Glad to hear from you !!!! I’ve seen on tv what Marcia is doing and it is horrible !

    • katechiconi says:

      It sure is, she’s a bad, bad girl and she’s still going.

      • Hi Kate, may I nominate you for a challenge which is :to post 5 black and white pictures in a row (1 per day) and each day you have to nominate someone else to do the same. It is not a must but can you let me know if you accept this challenge please ? I hope all is well over at your place !

      • katechiconi says:

        Dear Rita, thank you so much for thinking of me, but I have a lot of posts already drafted, waiting to appear, and I don’t think I’ll be able to fit in these extras as well. Can I do it another time, say later in the year…? Can you re-nominate me then? All is very well here, apart from lots of big black thunderstorms, but that’s normal for this time of year. K xx

      • it’s ok ! glad to hear all is well !

  9. Glad to hear you are fine!
    Hugs
    Esther

  10. Susan says:

    So glad to hear that you are alright!

  11. Jen Gardener says:

    Been thinking of you Kate. Glad Marcia left you alone.

  12. Kirsten says:

    Glad to hear that the worse didn’t happen.

    • katechiconi says:

      We are hearing such sad stories on the news of people whose entire home has been destroyed – about 200 of them in total for Marcia, and 50,000 without power for the foreseeable future. We really did have the luckiest of escapes by a very narrow margin of about 150km or 90 miles, which is almost nothing in cyclone terms…

Leave a Reply

