Patsy A

My ‘Patsy A’ Tana Lawn from Liberty has arrived!

You know, the fabric I was burbling on about in this post.

Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 5.42.28 pmI’m almost speechless with fabric-worship. Which is saying a lot, because as you know, I like to talk. This fabric is without doubt the most beautiful, soft, sheeny and gorgeous piece of material I’ve ever owned, and I’ve had some pretty nice silk in my time.

Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 5.42.06 pmAnd just look at how it arrived. It’s just a piece of fabric, but inside the box was the traditional purple Liberty bag, pristine, stiff and shiny. Inside that was a flat package swathed in printed tissue, sealed with a purple Liberty label. And then, inside that was two whole metres of 1.3m metre wide gorgeousness and a little personalised card with a birthday message from my sister. Those people really know how to turn a nice treat into a lavish production. It’s all about style and presentation. You can see how Liberty got and maintains its reputation for quality.

Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 5.42.44 pmI still don’t know what this beautiful stuff is going to become. But I’m going to enjoy stroking it and admiring the colours for a bit while I think about it.

34 thoughts on “Patsy A

  1. knettycraft says:

    What a wonderful fabric… and really joyful to read about your gladness about it 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s lovely, isn’t it? And Tana lawn is such amazing fabric, whatever I make from it will last a long, long time, and get nicer and softer each time I wash it. So I have to think carefully about what I want to make.

  2. The shop is wonderful. I spent a lot of my younger years working in London and often used to go in and wander round, not being able to afford anything, but just loving being there!

    • katechiconi says:

      I know, it’s like an Emporium of Delight, isn’t it? The jewellery department used to fascinate me too, with all the ethnic pieces. I think the best way to describe Liberty is Lavish!

  3. claire93 says:

    “speechless with fabric worship” rofl . . . now that’s a lovely way of putting it 🙂
    I have to agree though, it looks gorgeous and presentation must have made the opening even more exciting.

  4. EllaDee says:

    Gorgeous fabric and packaging… and the anticipation before inspiration strikes is always enjoyable… ah, the possibilities 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      What I’d love to do is spend a few hours browsing the pattern books for inspiration, but it’ll have to wait a bit. Whatever I make has to be something I’ll love for a long time…

  5. tialys says:

    Liberty is the sort of shop you go in for the ‘experience’ as well as, perhaps, to purchase. I do try to buy something though, however small, just so I can get one of their purple bags.
    That fabric is gorgeous Kate – not too overly fussy floral – I love the little pops of colour against the grey. You could make something very elegant with this.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s funny, isn’t it, how the purple bag is as much an icon as the aqua Tiffany bag? I’m so anxious not to blow it with the fabric; a simple floaty dress, a long tailored shirt with interesting asymmetrical tails, soft wide leg pants… any suggestions?

  6. it’s beautiful ! I look forward to the end product !

  7. Kirsten says:

    The fabric is divine but I am also a sucker for lovely packaging!

  8. And when you have made the dress or whatever, you still will have a pile of gorgeous scraps to play with!

    • katechiconi says:

      Isn’t it… Would you care for any useful-sized scraps, or won’t it work with the rest of your stash?

      • wombatquilts says:

        OMG I would love any scraps. I am using 1.5 inch x 2 inch pieces at the moment! Tiny buggers but fun.

      • katechiconi says:

        I’m doing a giveaway for the smaller bits, posting later today. If you don’t win, I’ll send you a piece of one of my larger pieces if you like? I’ve promised a lawn hankie to Viv, and wouldn’t mine one for myself, but there should be a fair bit left over after that!

  9. rutigt says:

    You can sew yourself a nice dress! The fabric is made for that, I think!
    Gun

Leave a Reply

