Worldwide friends: three-quarters of the front

I have only about another 64 flowers and 64 fillers to go and the front will be finished.

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 8.29.10 am

That little section at the top shows how high the top strip will be, and it’ll be the same again at the bottom. It’s 75″ wide and will be about 72″ high.

That’s another 512 hexies to make. 448 to stitch together into flowers. It’s not so bad if you say it quickly! But what it does tell me is that the back of the quilt will not be as complex as the front, or I’ll never get it done in time. There will be hexies on the back, but I think they’ll get appliquéd to a background. There will be a hexie border all round, there will be haiku panels, but it will be mostly larger pieces of fabric. I have another furoshiki featuring carp, and this may well form part of the background piecing.

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 8.28.43 am

The assembly station for the next 16 flowers… Some of those papers badly need to be retired and recycled…

This broad strip is the majority of the front of the quilt. There will be a strip 2 flowers high along the top, and the same along the bottom edge, making the quilt almost square.

I’m on my second 1,000m spool of thread. The EPP papers are mostly on their third usage in this quilt alone. I’ve had to discard two needles which were too bent to be comfortable to use any more.

I need to give some thought to embroidering the kanji symbols for the name of the quilt on the front furoshiki section. I suspect that plain old satin stitch will be the answer. I need them to look substantial, and a satin stitch using 3 or 4 strands of floss should do the trick.

Right, I’d better go and cut some more squares!

31 thoughts on “Worldwide friends: three-quarters of the front

  1. ordinarygood says:

    Totally impressive work and planning. You would not want our breezy wind to upset your assembly station.

  2. ordinarygood says:

    I think my obsession with being on the computer may halt project completion …lol…..

  3. EllaDee says:

    It’s daunting to even think about for me! Have you counted the woman-hours you’ve spent on it so fat as well?

    • katechiconi says:

      No, that would be too intimidating! I have a long way still to go. And with things like this, you can’t count the cost of creation. I couldn’t make a quilt like this to sell, it would be outrageously expensive. Perhaps if it were bought as a piece of art, but I don’t have such an exalted opinion of my creativity! I do it because I must, because it satisfies me and because I end up with something beautiful and useful at the end…

    • katechiconi says:

      You got me hooked on this: I had to go and count the bloody hexies, and now I can give you an answer. There are currently 123 flowers and fillers, which is 984 hexies on the front. Each hexie takes 2 minutes to make once the fabric is cut. Each flower takes half an hour from cut fabric to fully assembled. You’re looking at 492 hours so far…. That’d be 20.5 days of 24 hour-stitching. And that doesn’t include the layout time, assembling the blocks of pieces or cutting the fabric. I think I was happier when I didn’t know….

      • EllaDee says:

        Phenomenal! But it is the way of skilled crafts. I bought a queen bed size hand crocheted silk granny rug for $75 at the markets… similarly the price didn’t reflect the work gone into it.

  4. katechiconi says:

    Of course poetry is useful! It brings beauty into the world, which we sorely need.
    Counting and listing is not for everyone, but I’m a Listaholic and it works well for me. As for the maths, well, that’s why calculators were invented, isn’t it?
    Interesting, I think, that a job of this magnitude would have put me off starting when I was young. Now, I’ll derive enormous satisfaction from the process as well as the completion. Sometimes it’s good to be getting older…

  5. tialys says:

    And there I was moaning about cutting out 320 trapezoids and reverse trapezoids! Well, actually 640 because my friend that is doing the quilt-along with me won’t go near a rotary cutter and I couldn’t bear to watch her doing it with scissors. However, unlike your creation, once my pieces are cut they will be offered up to the sewing machine, not individually hand sewn. I am in awe.
    Strangely, enough though I was no good at maths in school, I really enjoy the calculations for a quilt although I sometimes have to draft in the husband for help.

    • katechiconi says:

      Same, I could do basic arithmetic but was hopeless at the advanced stuff. Strangely, I spent my entire professional career managing large budgets! Fortunately I haven’t had to resort to Husband power yet…

  6. Emmely says:

    I am very impressed by your progress!

    • katechiconi says:

      Considering how little time I’ve given to this project in the past month, so am I! I must admit, I’ll be happy when the front is done; the back will be much more straightforward.

  7. I kind of like the abstract look it has now with the little piece branching offf

    • katechiconi says:

      It looks like the beginning of a chemical diagram to me! Perhaps if this was going to be a purely decorative piece, I’d be considering some abstraction and asymmetry, but it is destined for a bed… Part of my problem is that I have a new quilt brewing in my brain and it’s very, very distracting!

  8. you must have the patience of an angel !!!

  9. AMazing how this quilt is growing!!! AWESOME,
    Esther

  10. That should keep you out of mischief for a day or two!

  11. […] recent post has raised the interesting question of whether the hours we spend working on our quilts could ever […]

  12. Kirsten says:

    I spy with my little eye . . . some familiar looking fabric 🙂

Leave a Reply

