The Gardens of Chiconia 28: Fruits, flowers and fabulousness

It’s time for another visit to the jungle-in-waiting known as the Gardens of Chiconia.

I say jungle because it’s growing like crazy, especially the bits you’d really rather not, such as the grass and weeds everywhere… On the upside, everything else is making good progress too, and the lemon tree, which seemed to be at the point of death, is staging a comeback.

A few images to entertain you.

Many of you will remember that mango tree from when it was a small sprout, barely knee high on me and looking a bit shaky in its first few months. Now, I think we’ll have to get it into the ground soon or it’ll burst its pot. Oh, and that rudely shaped object is the first set fruit from the Monstera deliciosa. The plant/tree/shrub/whatever is now covered in flowers, so we can expect a spot of fruit-salad flavoured bounty in a year or two. That’s apparently how long the fruit takes to ripen. I won’t be holding my breath…

Tomorrow I should have more stitchery to share.

24 thoughts on “The Gardens of Chiconia 28: Fruits, flowers and fabulousness

  1. Gail says:

    Thanks for sharing your garden joy, looks wonderful.

  2. Wonderful bounty. I was wondering about that Monstera fruit. When it does eventually open, can you eat it?

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s covered in sectional pieces, which ripen from the bottom up, so you can scrape off the sections that are ripe and yes, you can eat them! But you have to be cautious, as they’re high in oxalates which can cause irritation in the mouth and throat if you eat unripe sections. They’re supposed to taste like fruit salad, hence its alternate name of Fruit Salad Plant. I’m going to have to wait a year to find out!

  3. tialys says:

    What are you having for tomorrow’s brekkie? Those berries look like blueberries – one of my favourites – but isn’t it too hot for them there?

  4. Kirsten says:

    A couple of years for fruit to ripen?!! I hope it is worth the wait!

  5. a sight for sore eyes !

  6. EllaDee says:

    What wonderful colors, and flavours… in my imagination of course 🙂 The frangipani flowers are stunning. I’ve never seen Geisha Girl before, and I love the purple. And I love hibiscus, the yellow with red centre is striking. I didn’t, until I just looked it up, realize Portulaca & Purslane were the same. We have it growing wild in the lawn, but I’d like to cultivate some. I’m envious of all your garden bounty, and I love Monstera fruit. We have it over the road, and I must see how it’s going next visit.

  7. dayphoto says:

    You are so lucky to live where things thrive! Your place is beatiful!

    Linda ❤⊱彡
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    https://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/sherlock-boomer

  8. Lily Lau says:

    So many fruits and flowers, why don’t you invite us to your tea party? 🙂

    http://lazypenguins.com/artist-transforms-clouds-into-creative-illustrations/

    • katechiconi says:

      Want directions? 21.2200° S, 149.1467° E, but you’ll need to pack your bathers, we’re a bit hotter than Antarctica….. You might be able to hitch a ride on the Aurora Australis, but you’d need to swim north from Hobart. Gluten free chocolate cake OK?

  9. I love your frangipani! I can only dream of growing one so vibrantly coloured this far south in Sydney.

    • katechiconi says:

      Aren’t they lovely? All three of my young trees are ‘rescue cuttings’, taken before my appalling neighbours decided unilaterally that they’d rather have a slab of concrete than an old frangipani tree. So far, no sign of rust either, although the parent tree was affected.

Leave a Reply

