Last one…

This is the blue top I cut out and started at the same time as the yellow/red/spotty one.

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 6.48.42 pmIt has sat neglected while I played delightedly with my new laptop, made a case for it, and packed for our trip. But in the new spirit of finishing things up which I’m trying to foster, I decided to Get It Done. So I did. And here it is.

It’s quite gaudy enough without any additional details, I think. Although there’s a small demon at the back of my mind saying “wouldn’t a nice big pink fabric rose look great pinned to the yoke?”. I shall not pay any attention…. no matter how much my inner child might agree.

I’ve got enough tops like this now, so this will be the last one of that style. Time for something new. Perhaps the next sewing job will be that A-line shift dress for which I cut the pattern a few days ago.

I spoke to my sister in France a few days ago, the one who’s eagerly awaiting her quilt. For my birthday, she is going to send me 2 metres of Liberty Tana Lawn, which comes in the super large width of 1.3m. Huge excitement! This is the one I’ve chosen: Patsy. To be honest, it’s going to take a while before I’m brave enough to take the scissors to it, but it’s too good to waste. Perfect for this weather, durable, soft, beautiful and irresistible.

Good job there’s nowhere selling Liberty fabrics within a thousand kilometres of here…. 

 

26 thoughts on “Last one…

  1. I love your tops, they’re really cute. And go for a big fat rose, why not? Enjoy your road trip, drive carefully 🙂

  2. tialys says:

    I love your choice of Liberty fabric – it’s pretty yet elegant at the same time. My local fabric shop did Liberty fabric for a while – at a fairly silly price – but when they had a 50% off sale they included it and I stocked up big time as it was cheaper than the U.K.! Of course, he won’t stock it anymore now – tant pis! – but I made the most of it when he did.

    • katechiconi says:

      You’ve got to grab Liberty if it’s going cheap. I’m not the only one who likes that fabric; it seems they’re currently out of stock, so I have to wait patiently for it. I’m told it won’t be long…

  3. you can never have too many tops, especially in a climate like yours ! do you ever have to wear a sweater or a coat ? that Patsy fabric is just gorgeous !!!

  4. Absolutely NO ROSE! That would be over-egging the perfect pudding!
    How wonderful to think of you in this pretty top while I am shivering in three layers of wool.

    Gorgeous Tana lawn – you can buy it online but it is frantically expensive. One of my very early quilts was made with a charm pack of Liberty lawn, and it is still going strong, if a tiny bit faded.I also made a skirt from which (after years of wear and washing remnants) were incorporated in another quilt.

    • katechiconi says:

      No, I won’t be adding any roses! The fabric already has quite enough. It’s so vivid, but in this hot, bright sunshine, it works in a way it couldn’t possibly in northern light.
      Tana lawn is wonderful, it just keeps going and going and going. And as you say, once it does finally wear out, I can recycle it into a quilt! It will be the birthday present that keeps on giving…

  5. Wendy from NY says:

    “Good job there’s nowhere selling Liberty fabrics within a thousand kilometres of here….” Remember, the world is but a keyboard click away!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m trying very hard to support local businesses by only purchasing quilting fabric from them. You’re right, of course, and Liberty does actually mail overseas. Luckily it falls into the ‘stupidly expensive’ category so I won’t be buying too much of it!

  6. claire93 says:

    how about a pink rose for your hair?

  7. EllaDee says:

    Nup to the fabric rose but nice complementary beads – pink glass or crystal- would be a fun addition if you wanted a variation 🙂

  8. Nanster says:

    Love your choice of Liberty Fabric……

  9. Kirsten says:

    Liberty fabrics are gorgeous and the one you have picked is no exception. I wouldn’t be in a hurry to use it either. Deliberations must be made in order to decide what you really want to make with it.

    • katechiconi says:

      I also need to look at the feel and drape, at how much I actually have (it’s a funny width) and whether I can rework a cutting layout if necessary, since the design is directional. But I think a dress or tunic is the answer…

  10. I have an inner child who makes fashion choices like the big flower pin too. Sometimes I indulge that child.
    Liberty! Oooh!

  11. […] You know, the fabric I was burbling on about in this post. […]

Leave a Reply

