Loot!

Thanks to the Husband’s hijack of my post for his own message, many of you know it was my birthday yesterday.

My word, did I score lavishly…

Both my computers, the desk one and my laptop, were old (8+ years) Apple Macs, and while I’ve updated software and done my best to keep them running happily, the hardware has been unable to keep up and they were both getting extremely cranky. Then, a week ago, the laptop took an unassisted dive off the table, fell on its corner, and was fritzed. Finished, dead, gone.  Inconvenient, to say the least, because I couldn’t retrieve a few things I had sitting on the desktop.

So the Husband decided I had to get a new laptop. And despite the fact that they’re stupidly expensive, I was going to get another Mac. And it’s here. A teeny weeny little 11″ MacBook Air, which is going to replace both my desk computer and my lappie. On the desk, it will be hooked up to a large monitor, mouse and keyboard. Carried around, it’ll be just a bit larger than a standard iPad, but with the convenience of a USB port so I can upload photos and hook things up, and a lid that closes to protect the screen. Two for the price of one, as it were…

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 8.48.07 am

Think I’d better hurry up and make a nice cover for this ….

In addition to this lovely piece of sleek techyness, the Husband took me shopping to our LQS, where I scored these:

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 8.48.27 am

A gorgeous blend of purple, rust and some blue. I feel a quilt coming on….

And to top the day off, I made this chocolate cake from The Pink Rose Bakery, and I have to say that Kirsten’s recipe is, well, awesome. Do yourself a favour and make it… I’m calling it Death by Chocolate, because you’ll think you’ve died and gone to heaven!

Right, that’s quite enough gloating. I have to go and do battle with the new laptop’s operating system, which is very, very different from what I’m used to. Nothing is the same….

Some of it’s a whole lot better!

36 thoughts on “Loot!

  1. kymlucas says:

    Now I know why I like you so much. We almost share a birthday — mine is tomorrow (1 February). Of course, you are clearly more talented, and much more hardworking than I! 🙂 Happy belated birthday — celebrate again!

    • katechiconi says:

      Well, as it’s already 1 February here, Happy Birthday to you too! One of the fun things about time zones is that it starts being one’s birthday early and finishes late, depending on who’s reading. And I’m not at all sure about the talented and hardworking bit; perhaps I’m just better at making a little look like a lot!

  2. kymlucas says:

    It’s still 31 January in the US, in case anyone thinks I can’t read a calendar.

  3. claire93 says:

    happy birthday ^^
    great présents and lol to the high-jacking

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks, Claire, it was an awesome day, and I eventually forgave him for letting the cat out of the bag…. Thankfully no-one has been rude enough to ask how old I am. The reply would have been “Old enough!”

  4. knettycraft says:

    Although it is already over I’m sending you all the best wishes … just missed your birthday. As I see you have had a nice day… love the batics … and what you’ll going to make with the templates???
    Oh, … and I never heard the word “fritzed” befor (but I need no dictionary to translate it)
    All the best for you Kate, especially HEALTH! 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Hello, and thank you for the good wishes!
      The triangle templates are for a quilt which is sitting at the back of my mind, waiting to happen. It’s made of triangles and hexagons, and I need something to draw around to get the triangle papers, because it’s EPP, of course! I already have all the hexagon templates. I simply can’t allow myself to start it until I have completed a few more UFOs, though…
      Fritz is a word used a lot here to describe electronic devices blowing up, going wrong or generally not doing what they should. It’s quite descriptive, if you think about the sound it makes…. Kxxx

  5. The joys of a new computer – they tidy things up so you cannot find anything for a few weeks! Glad you had a good day.

  6. ro848 says:

    Happy Birthday!! How special!!! Thanks for the link to the fabulous cake recipe.

  7. I missed the hi-jack yesterday due to my own techy dramas, so belated happy birthday wishes. I don’t need a new computer (new last June), but I’m green with envy for your jelly roll – gorgeous colours.

    • katechiconi says:

      They’re Hoffman Fabrics Bali Pops, but I don’t know the name of the colourway. I’m thinking of combining them with jade greens… Thank you for the birthday wishes, and I hope your own techy dramas are now resolved.

  8. EllaDee says:

    Oh you did have a lovely day, and well deserved. I have a similar but Windows device, a Toshiba Ultrabook, they are so versatile, and space & user friendly. Enjoy 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Having fun already, but a few stresses because things are a bit different, and transferring info is proving to be a little, um, bumpy… We’re doing a long trip north on Tuesday so I must make a nice cover for it asap!

  9. tialys says:

    Lucky girl! I’ve pinned that chocolate cake for future indulgence. Did you make it in two or in one and slice it? I must find some edible gold stars

    • katechiconi says:

      I made it in one thick layer instead of doing dodgy slicing, and just heaped the chocolate fudge frosting on top. I went for little silver balls instead of stars. I have never seen a cake disappear so fast….

  10. glad to hear you were spoiled on your birthday, you deserve it after the year you had ! the fabrics look lovely !

  11. Happy Belated Birthday!

  12. Happy belated birthday 🙂 Clearly things are just getting better and better. xxx

    • katechiconi says:

      Having my laptop commit suicide was a bit of a low point, but just look at the result! And the fabric and triangle templates were a real bonus, I already thought I’d struck it lucky with the MacBook!

  13. Carole says:

    What brilliant presents. What’s not to love about a Mac, and the Bali pops are gorgeous.
    Belated Happy Birthday 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly! I’ve been a Mac fan since the very first desktop version came out, with a single floppy disk port at the bottom. Loathe PCs… And Bali Pops are my dream treat!

  14. Nanette says:

    Very happy belated birthday wishes. I saw where husband hijacked the blog, but was called away to deal with a man up a ladder needing direction, and didn’t get back to you to offer good wishes. You scored big time, fabulous gifts. Mmm, purple batiks…..will know where to come when I need purple scraps for ACushla 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I hope there’s still some left by the time I’ve finished with them! They’re sitting on my work table, screaming for attention and I’m finding it very hard to ignore them!

  15. Jen Gardener says:

    Woo! Happy birthday! x

  16. pattisj says:

    A bad day on a Mac is better than a good day on a PC. Once one makes the switch to Apple, I doubt there’s any going back. Happy belated birthday!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve been a Mac lover since the day the first ever tiny one came out, the one with the minute screen and the floppy disk drive underneath. I loathe PCs with a passion, and just wish that everyone understood how much nicer and easier to use the Mac is by comparison….

Leave a Reply

