Spot the detail

Sorry about that.

Screen shot 2015-01-29 at 5.16.12 PM Screen shot 2015-01-29 at 5.16.38 PMEveryone who knows me even slightly knows that I have a serious penchant for puns, making use of even the most feeble excuse to employ one.

So, yes, I’ve cranked out some more dress-making. One top cut out, in a rather vivid floral with blue, another completed, both using scraps. This one’s bits of the Tana lawn I used to make one of my nighties, and a co-ordinating(ish) scrap of spot. Should be nice and cool.

Tie all that together with green bias binding and green topstitching detail, and I couldn’t resist.

As I said, sorry… I can’t promise I won’t do it again.

16 thoughts on “Spot the detail

  1. i don’t think you’re sorry at all. and you won’t stop, you know it 🙂

  2. Tut tut. As if I didn’t have enough puns to cope with from Jock!

  3. EllaDee says:

    That top certainly doesn’t look like it was made using scraps… When the G.O. and I make a particularly nice meal using remains-leftovers we love to pat ourselves on the back by saying “imagine what that would cost in a restaurant!”. Same for your top from a shop: it wouldn’t be made near as well, and you’ll not see someone else wearing them same.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m with you on that. I pride myself on getting at least three meals out of one chicken, and I never throw food out unless it’s actually growing whiskers. And at least with this top I know it’s not going to fall apart after two washes.

  4. claire93 says:

    lovely – I especially like the detail with green biais

  5. well, it is cute ! and I love the green bias

  6. tialys says:

    This is a seriously cute top but it made me shiver a bit as it is snowing today and jumpers are in order. A lovely use of your excess Liberty!

  7. Kirsten says:

    Love that lime green bias binding peeping out from the edges. Goes so well with the colours of the fabric.

    • katechiconi says:

      I was lucky to find some that matched so well. There’s a distinct lack of colour choice in ready made bias binding. One day I shall have to knuckle under and get a gadget for making my own. Soon, I suspect!

      • Kirsten says:

        I have one of those such gadgets but have yet to use it!! There is a haberdashery near by who does a lovely range of bias bindings – spotty, floral etc.

      • katechiconi says:

        I find I’m using bias binding more and more, so I should probably go and invest in a range of different width gadgets. You can’t get anything very fancy here, and I have a fancy for fancy!

Leave a Reply

