Aimée 8: on its way

I finished hemming down the binding last night.

We had a beautiful (if hot and steamy) sunny morning, so I got out there at 7.30am to take a few photos. Now, it’s folded up around a note, waiting for me to be able to get out to the post office and send it on its way to France. With luck, she’ll have it by mid-February – I find that mail from and to Europe tends to take two weeks.

Now, on with the next thing. I’m going to be housebound today, waiting for someone to come and fix the ride on mower, so I’ve got a great chance to get cracking on my grey and white summer dress, or whatever I have enough fabric to make. And my sewing room is beautifully air conditioned, so it’s not at all hard spending hours and hours in there! Who knows, I may emerge with more than one garment….

Have a good day, everyone. More soon.

31 thoughts on “Aimée 8: on its way

  1. Lucy Mustoe says:

    It looks beautiful. I’m sure she’ll love it.

  2. Carole says:

    It’s lovely. I can’t believe how quickly you got it finished 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Guilt drove me! Seriously, when I wrote my To Do list for this year, there was nothing older than that, and I knew I just had to get it done. I feel a great sense of relief…

  3. It is even more gorgeous than I thought is was going to be!
    Esther

  4. claire93 says:

    I hope postal services take good care of this beauty ^^

  5. What a lucky sister. Beautifully done.

  6. Kim says:

    I love the binding choice. Very, very beautiful. So happy you have gotten some much needed rain. I found a free pattern this weekend for a quilt that would make a quick, fun sewing extravaganza sometime soon.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, I like the binding choice better than what I’d originally planned. Sunny today, but rain forecast for the afternoon, hurray! And have fun with your sewing extravaganza – I do love a quick result!

  7. It might get there more quickly. I once sent something to Poland and it got there in four days. It is all a bit random, isn’t it.
    Have fun dressmaking!

    • katechiconi says:

      A bit, but 10 days to 2 weeks is about the average. The dress is cut out. I fiddled around a bit with the pattern so I hope it works! Still debating whether to do a fancy facing or a plain one… And I need some contrast detailing. Good job Spotlight’s closed for Australia Day!

  8. tialys says:

    Wouldn’t it be great – what with the hearts in the centre and everything – if it arrived on Valentine’s Day.

  9. Gail says:

    Beautiful quilt. Sisters are so special. I just love mine.

  10. Well done. It looks great and I’m sure it will be loved when it arrives..

  11. lovelucie1 says:

    Absolutely stunning. She’ll love it.

  12. Nanette says:

    Finished up beautifully Kate. I cut out a top to sew on the weekend too, but have to fiddle with the neckline a bit because I changed things a bit and now it gapes…..I know how to fix it but just wanted it to be a quick sew and done, it’s in the ‘bugger, you’ll just have to wait’ pile now, until I have the patience to deal with it. Look forward to seeing yours.

  13. Lynda says:

    So lovely, Kate! I’m working on UFOs this month, and none so beautiful as this. Well done!

  14. Stunning and those colours really are so right for France!

  15. Kirsten says:

    Yay, another thing off the list. I am sure she will love it!

Leave a Reply

