Aimée 7: in the home stretch

I was lucky, I got 5 solid hours on it on Saturday, so I was able to finish up all the quilting.

Screen shot 2015-01-25 at 1.03.06 PM

Just the binding to do, and then it’s finished. The photo was taken in the hot midday sun, and all the colours look a bit bleached.

Screen shot 2015-01-25 at 1.03.56 PM

The back shows the quilting better. I’m quite proud of the invisible join in the two pieces of fabric!

Still to do: make the binding strip and sew it on, hem it down all round and attach the label. I enjoy doing the binding, so that’s not going to be too painful. Monday should see it finished, and then I can trot it down to the post office and mail it off. I must remember to take a shot for the Chiconian Quilts gallery….

I think the next thing I’m going to make is a garment of some sort. The gorgeous grey and white Riley Blake damask print I bought with a gift voucher from Hawthorne Threads in the US has arrived, and I’ve bought a metre of matching grey homespun, as it’s not quite enough on its own. I think a little summer dress is called for.

After that, I have another big quilt to work on as well as Worldwide Friends, but that’s a story for another post.

11 thoughts on “Aimée 7: in the home stretch

  1. Beautiful. How did you quilt it so quickly? I love the bleached effect of the sunlight!

    • katechiconi says:

      Luckily it’s not a very big quilt, so I didn’t have to keep rolling and unrolling it to get it through the machine. The piecing really determined the quilting, so I didn’t have to do a lot of marking on the top, which saved time as well. I like this quilt a lot, whether in its true richer colours indoors or with the sun-faded effect. It has a vintage look which I think my sister will love.

  2. tialys says:

    Kate, it looks gorgeous. It will go beautifully in your sister’s French abode. I am halfway round hemming a quilt binding this weekend and, like you, it’s a job I quite enjoy even though it seems to take forever. That spotted fabric you have used for the backing is perfect – I love the colour. Is it going to cost a fortune t post?

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m using the same spotted duck egg blue to bind the quilt. I looked at the dark grey and it was just too ‘loud’. It all worked out very well; the bits I trimmed off the sides were almost enough to do the binding. I have the binding machine stitched on, just hemming to go. I suspect the postage may be a trifle expensive, but worth it. I don’t know how much the quilt weighs, or will weigh when packaged, so that’s all to be discovered. Whatever the cost, it’s cheaper than taking it over in person!

  3. it is absolutely lovely ! also the soft blue back !

  4. Kirsten says:

    Really like the way the quilting / stitching looks on the back. It’s very pretty.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s nice and simple, and didn’t need lots of marking up, so it went quickly. I like that the quilting’s not too dense so the drape of the quilt is still very soft.

  5. pattisj says:

    The back is as pretty as the front. You do beautiful work.

  6. […] quilted, queen size The AHQ Corporal’s Quilt: machine stitched & quilted, bunk size Aimée for my sister: machine stitched & quilted, lap size Truck Quilt for the Husband: machine […]

Leave a Reply

