Someone else’s rain…

We’ve had a good soaking, a small taste of our missing monsoon.

I had almost lost hope. On Monday evening, I took the photo below.

Screen shot 2015-01-20 at 7.16.33 PMIt shows rain falling a kilometre (just over half a mile) away to the southwest, beautifully lit by the setting sun. It was falling there, but we were getting nothing. I ground my teeth and watered the garden yet again, sending wishes out into the universe. Watering the garden in the Wet. It’s ridiculous. Anyway, someone was listening.

Last night, the pressure spiked, the temperature dropped like a stone, the wind suddenly whipped up to gusts of 87kmph (55mph) and the rain didn’t so much come down as blow in sideways, in buckets. It lasted all of half an hour, but it was long enough to soak the ground, strip dead fronds from the palm trees and blow over my flame tree and mango tree in their tubs. We have a storm water channel at the front of the house, with a bridge over it to reach our drive. It’s 80cm (30 inches) deep and normally dry as a bone. This night, it was in full spate, racing and gurgling through the large pipes under the bridge. I won’t bore you with the graphs I love so much, because I do appreciate that not everyone is a weather freak like I am, but it was exciting, and long overdue.

And it rained again today, properly. The ground is wet, the cracks are closing up, the leaves are lush and green, and the grass is springing out of the ground. The Husband is glumly resigned to the fact that one of his days off will contain several hours on the ride on mower and attacking the edges with the line trimmer.

I’m glued to the Bureau of Meteorology website. More rain on the way! Sad, I know…

 

23 thoughts on “Someone else’s rain…

  1. tialys says:

    Hoorah for you – I know how much you’ve been longing for rain! We had quite a hard frost this morning and snow is forecast for the weekend – I’ll make sure I’ve got enough supplies in the cupboard so, if it happens, I won’t have to go out and test the snow tyres.
    What a great photo. I’m terrible at spotting things like that. Mr. T. will often say ‘look at that rain coming down over there’ and I just look and nod wisely but, really, I can’t make out that it’s rain at all.

  2. Carole says:

    Beautiful photo and I am glad you finally got your rain. Sounds like the garden is really appreciating it 🙂
    We had a small snowfall last night but it’s all gone this morning. More on the way though.

  3. Kirsten says:

    You’re wishing for more rain, I’m wishing for some snow (much to everyone else’s disgust) . . .

  4. (Laughing heartily at Kirsten’s comment!!!)
    I’d love some rain here right now. It’s F for hot. Totally de-energising. Think must nap soon….

  5. katechiconi says:

    Everything looks better after a nap, and it is, after all, mid afternoon where you are. Still raining here, yay!

  6. Oh Kate, well done. I am also a weather freak – the last course I did before my degree in 2010 was “Understanding the Weather” on the Open University. And now I am studying Climate Change (Exeter Univ) in the free Future Learn courses- you’ll find it here: https://www.futurelearn.com/partners/university-of-exeter You can join in any time and we’re only halfway through the second week.

  7. EllaDee says:

    An excellent photo, I’ve never seen rain + sunset captured quite like that. I’m pleased for your garden, you can’t replicate rain watering with a hose. We’ve been getting dribs and drabs, a showy storm yesterday morning. But nothing disruptive. And apparently the tanks are full at TA. I keep one eye on the weather, the seasons and the moon… I like the old ways.

    • katechiconi says:

      I like the fact that weather, when it comes, behaves consistently in this climate. Storms always come from the same direction. Certain pressures and wind directions will bring predictable results. After an upbringing in the UK, where the Gulf Stream made everything unpredictable and you often got 4 seasons in one day, I’m enjoying the binary nature of tropical weather!

  8. rutigt says:

    Here, in Uppland, Sweden, the snow is falling 🙂
    Gun

  9. Lynda says:

    “I’m glued to the Bureau of Meteorology website. More rain on the way!”

    You too? We are going to be 90 percent chance of rain tomorrow and it may turn into snow after sundown. (Threat, threat, threat…) We’ll see!

    What a vision your rain was at sunset, Kate!

    • katechiconi says:

      Wasn’t it beautiful and romantic? We’re set to enjoy rain for the rest of the week, and yesterday had our first flooding of the Wet season. When it rains here, it does it in a very big way!

  10. I love a good graph… don’t hold back!

Leave a Reply

