Aimée 4: Pieced at last

The top for Aimée is together, and I can stop whipping out my tape measure and calculator every few minutes.

Screen shot 2015-01-18 at 5.17.25 PMSpontaneous design is very nice, and looks fun, but it does require a lot of arithmetic, never my strong point. If God had wanted us to do long division, he’d have given us calculators instead of fingers. And I don’t really enjoy working in base 16 (inches) when I’m used to base 10 (centimetres) in daily life. But this is the price you pay for making it up as you go along…

I have to head over to Spotlight tomorrow and buy 4 metres of backing fabric (since I don’t think I’ll find anything suitable in wideback, but I may be mistaken).  I have batting, I have thread, I’m good to go. For the binding, I’ve dug out some dark grey fabric with a cream spot, the same, you may remember, as I used a while back for my pillows. I reckon with a bit of nifty piecing-in of some of the red from the red border, I might just have enough.

Next stop, the sandwich. I shall, as usual, be pinning the quilt using quilting safety pins, and my 3 metre dining table.  I’m too old and my hip is too painful to crawl on the floor, and if I tape the backing and batting along one edge of the table, then offer up the quilt top to the same edge and pin from one side to another, letting the weight of the fabric pull everything taut, I’ve been getting a pretty good result and no sore back.  Once half the pinning is done, you untape the backing edge and carefully pull it across. Most of the time, there’s very little smoothing out needed. I can even pin sitting down.

Nearly time to tick another one off the list!

35 thoughts on “Aimée 4: Pieced at last

  1. Gail says:

    Such a lovely choice of fabric and designs, Kate. I also sit at my dining table to cut and pin.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I’m quite pleased with it, and I know my sister will love it. I find a desk chair on casters is best when pinning, because you can raise it up high to reduce bending and reaching.

  2. Maybe I should do the quilt math and you should do the table basting. Between us, I think we would have a good team. 🙂

  3. rutigt says:

    Right now, I´m avoiding every sort of quilting. That´s why I never got a quilt finished 🙂 Must sharpened up and start sandwish my tops. It´s time to crawl on the floor again LOL! Your quilt looks great!!!
    Gun, Sweden

    • katechiconi says:

      Just take one out and start, it’s the only way! It’s not necessary to crawl though, if that’s the problem? I’m glad you like the quilt, I’m pleased with how it turned out…

  4. claire93 says:

    this is so gorgeous – I wouldn’t have believed you were making it up as you go along if you hadn’t told us in an earlier post

  5. katechiconi says:

    It was really making a virtue of necessity. I didn’t have enough fabric to do a ‘proper’ pattern, and as it turned out, this was a pretty solution. The colours in the photo are a little bleached; I’ll take a proper one in strong daylight when it’s finished and bound. I’m really thrilled with the Anita’s Arrowhead block, though, it’s very easy, and the results are a bit like magic, it suddenly appears from nowhere!

  6. tialys says:

    I love what you’ve done with the border Kate. I’m going to sandwich a quilt, maybe this afternoon and, instead of crawling on my workroom floor, I might try your method. Just got to clear off the stuff that’s all over the work table at the moment.

  7. katechiconi says:

    Do give it a try. For a bit of extra tightness, you can tape all round the edge of the backing that’s on the tabletop. The batting will stick to that, and the top to the batting. I use low tack wide masking tape to avoid a sticky mess when I peel it off and marks on the table. I also sometimes use a blanket covered by oilcloth over the table and clipped to the edge, to protect the top from the pins, but mostly I don’t bother; the table is natural waxed wood and a few pin marks don’t really show. Glad you like the quilt, let’s hope Madame in Eymet likes it just as well!

  8. This turned out so well. The final border, especially, is lovely with the play of colors from the piano keys, the beautiful arrowhead blocks, and sweet Dresden plates. The Dresden plates work very well since the echo the roundness of the heart in the center. Great work all around.

    Could you give the link again for the arrowhead block? What is the total size of the top, and how wide is the last border? Thanks so much!

  9. Kirsten says:

    I still love those Dresden plates (aka hoola hoops) in the corners. So pretty.

  10. It’s beautiful!! I love how you’ve pulled it all together, and I love your design wall. That’s definitely something that’s going into my new sewing room. Your photos look so nice!

  11. katechiconi says:

    The design wall was born of necessity, but a bit of wooden dowel, a queensize beige flannelette sheet and three hooks does the job. The only downside is picking the threads off it when the quilt is finished! This particular photo isn’t too good; the colours are very bleached. Wait till it’s quilted and bound; I’ll photograph it outside on the line in the sunshine and it’ll really sing!

  12. EllaDee says:

    It’s beautiful:) I had no idea the amount of work that goes into quilting.

    • katechiconi says:

      And this is rather a quick one! The one on my bed took 11 months… All hand sewn. Glad you like it. It’s not really my taste in colours; I prefer things a bit brighter, but my sister will love it!

  13. Hi Kate!
    The top is really sweet! The colours work so well together.
    Good luck with the rest of the basting. Very interesting to hear how you do that.
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      The way I do it is so much easier on the back. Perhaps I’ll do a post about it, with pictures… I shall post your fabrics today or tomorrow. Hope they work for you; if not, spread the joy and send them to someone else!

  14. ordinarygood says:

    This is gorgeous, pale photo or not and you have worked in high humidity. We are having very humid weather in wellington and no air conditioning so handcrafting is a bit tricky. I am knitting the odd row and tidying things up in the craft zones. Attempting to establish one zone!

    • katechiconi says:

      Hmm, good luck with that! Handwork spreads to fill the space available, so the more space you make, the more it spreads!

      • ordinarygood says:

        So I’m not the only one with “zones”…..Lol! I like to think that a home with lots going on it is an interesting home – that helps!
        Looking forward to your final photos of this lovely project that is nearing completion.

  15. pattisj says:

    This is really pretty. You and your ruler did a good job. That’s a nice long table you have to work on.

  16. Looks stunning – love the tips about the sandwich on the table!

  17. Lynda says:

    Kate, Why do I keep losing you? I have you in my reader and in my mailbox, but somehow you keep dropping off my list! I have been missing you and your lovely posts for some time, and of course, my inability to sit for very long has caused me to not notice you have slipped off the edge of my horizon again! (I fixed that again last week).

    Anyway, all that to say I love your most recent creation and can’t wait to see the big finish!

    • katechiconi says:

      No idea! I noticed that my followers had decreased a couple of weeks ago, which probably occurred at the same time. WordPress has been messing about again, and something always goes wrong when they do… Still, you’re back, and welcome!

Leave a Reply

