Aimée 3: a visit to Dresden

Yes, OK, not literally, more of a metaphorical excursion!

Screen shot 2015-01-15 at 12.57.08 PM Screen shot 2015-01-15 at 12.57.46 PM Screen shot 2015-01-15 at 12.58.24 PM Screen shot 2015-01-15 at 12.58.56 PMThe corner squares for the final border on Aimée are the design known as Dresden Plate. Normally, with this design there’s a lot more border and less central plate. In this context, I prefer the look of the simple ‘daisy face’ version I’ve done here, much more plate-like in my opinion!

I don’t produce my Dresden Plates the usual way, by machine stitching a vertically-folded piece of fabric up one side and pressing it flat so the seam runs up the centre back, giving you two folded side edges. I make mine the EPP way, with fabric stitched over a stiff paper template. This is one I’ve used many times before, having drafted it by hand originally.

The 3″ fabric square is stretched and folded over the template with the curved edges on the bias of the fabric, so that the curves can be eased a little. As usual, I don’t cut the fabric to size, I trim it out afterwards if necessary. I find having a little extra to fold over and manipulate makes life easier.

The ‘daisy petals’ are whip-stitched together up their side seams, forming a ring, which is then appliquéd to the background fabric. Mark the centre of the background with a pin to assist with placing the ring centrally.

Once that’s done, insert the fabric for the centre of the plate between the ring and the background through the centre – again, I use a square, it’s more forgiving if you want to move things round a little. Pin in place, and appliqué round the inner edge of the ring, being careful not to pass the needle through both layers of background fabric, just the plate centre. Once it’s all stitched, trim carefully ¼” from the stitching on the back of the panel, cutting out the daisy shape from the background fabric and the circle from the plate centre fabric.  Press carefully, then unpick all the template basting and pop the templates out. Job done.

Must get on, I have three more to do.

22 thoughts on “Aimée 3: a visit to Dresden

  1. tialys says:

    I love that coral and grey combination – it would work well with clothing too I’m thinking. Which French General range is it, can you remember? Or was the FG the central squares only?

    • katechiconi says:

      Aaargh! I can’t remember. You have to bear in mind this fabric was bought nearly 3 years ago. I’m confident the centre is French General Panier de Fleurs and Petite Ecole, plus 3 Sisters Etchings. I’ve got a feeling the coral and grey is 3 Sisters for Moda – hang on, I’ll go and check. Scuffle, scuffle, yep, here it is, the range is called Oasis. In daylight, the grey is very warm, almost buff, so be aware of that if you want to use it.

  2. I like this Dresden, and your method is so well described that my fingers are itching to start sewing! I wondered if it would work without the central circle, relying on a well-chosen background fabric to do the job?

    • katechiconi says:

      It was a close thing whether I actually used the central circle. It looks very nice in other applications without a separate centre panel. Some time ago, I produced a quilt called Morning Tea at the Quilting Bee, which you can see on my Chiconian Quilts page, just scroll down quite a bit. This featured a variety of dresden plates all around the outside edge, and here I simply left the middles the same white on white spot as the background. It works well, I think.

  3. Kirsten says:

    I love those rings, they are so pretty. Knowing me I would be hoola-hooping them up my arm before attaching them!

    • katechiconi says:

      Ahem, so it’s OK to confess I wrapped one round my neck to see if it made a nice collar…? It did look very pretty, but didn’t lie properly, in case you were wondering.

      • Kirsten says:

        Definitely okay!
        You might need to remove a couple of the plates to make it work as a collar – love the idea, it would be a little like a Peter Pan collar, only scalloped slighty!

      • katechiconi says:

        Yes, you need to remove at least one, and probably redraw the whole thing to make the centre circle large enough to fit comfortably round your neck. But it was cute.

  4. That is so lovely – have never appliqued before….time to try soon!

    • katechiconi says:

      Not hard at all, and such a pretty result, it’s worth a go. Even if you find it’s not for you, you end up with a cute block you can use for a cushion or as part of a sampler quilt.

  5. I LOVE how this is coming along…..I may try a quilt this way very soon.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a nice way to work. Intuitive and spontaneous. There’s no ‘wrong’ way, whatever you produce can be integrated, and best of all, the only rule is that you use up what you have in the stash. It looks as if the only fabric I’ll have to buy is the backing.

  6. I have a lovely pattern called Bloom that uses this shape Dresden. I like it so much I have the original pattern and a recent magazine/book that republishes it. It is on my ‘one day’ list.

  7. rutigt says:

    Thanks for “the tutorial”. It´s so cute, your flower. Maybe one day I do something similar 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

  8. pattisj says:

    Wow. Nice work on the Dresden Plate.

Leave a Reply

