Aimée 2

Aimée has grown a bit more.

Screen shot 2015-01-14 at 5.43.13 PMI think I now have the final size, which was dictated by the width of the lovely Anita’s Arrowhead blocks I made yesterday (thank you for the link, Esther). In the corners, I will put dresden plate blocks, using scraps from the quilt, and I will fill between the corner and centre blocks with a simple striped fill – again, using some scraps and some new fabrics. There might also be a little more appliqué. I have auditioned more of the duck egg blues, and using too many of them simply makes the quilt look bland and wishy washy, so there’ll be a mixture of colours. The warm rosy red border was also visually necessary, and fortunately I had just enough of it.

Screen shot 2015-01-14 at 5.43.35 PM

Close up of Anita’s Arrowhead and the red border

Any thoughts on what colour I should use to bind this beauty? All opinions considered, but I’ll end up doing what the quilt tells me in the end….

25 thoughts on “Aimée 2

  1. your colours are beautiful 🙂 I wouldn’t DREAM of suggesting a suitable colour for binding…!!!

  2. katechiconi says:

    I think it needs to be quite a strong colour; either that, or a scrappy binding. I shall have to wait until I’ve completed the outer border before I decide – or rather, before the quilt decides!

  3. Barbara says:

    I think the gold you have already used would make it look really opulent, just right for Nat? A dark blue would look good as well, but not as spectacular. I love this quilt!
    Barbara XXX.

  4. tialys says:

    I’ve just realized the vast expanse of white fabric is your display ‘wall’ – I thought you’d suddenly gone a bit mad with the ‘plain’ look. I was going to suggest a scrappy binding using the fabrics from the centre of the quilt but I see you are going to use them for the filling stripes. I will reserve judgement until I see the next border completed. Perhaps you could use the brown ric rac again 😉

  5. Kirsten says:

    Hmm, it’s a tough one that – the colour of the binding. Looking at it as it is now, I would favour a red to match the rosy red strip, just to balance it out, but as you say, until the time comes you’ll not truly know.

  6. You don’t hang about! It’s going to be splendid. Binding? How about a strong teal blue colour to reinforce the soft colour in the central block?

  7. Carole says:

    I do like those arrowhead blocks. It’s coming on really quickly too.
    I can’t believe how fast you’re getting it done. I tend to do an hour on mine and then drift gently back to the computer to lose an hour or two in internet land 😛

    • katechiconi says:

      I manage that particular addiction by having my computer in a completely different part of the house. Plus, my sewing room is air conditioned, which makes it a very pleasant place to pass the time in this rather hot summer weather. I think another two days will see the front finished.

  8. The turqoise perhaps ??? but then I love all the blues…..

  9. Yep, auditioning it is! I think that a teal or aqua might do the trick, but let’s wait and see! 😄 love the arrowheadblocks you did! Great fabric selection!
    Hugs
    E*

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m quite excited because I have found some leftovers of the grey spot fabric I used for my pillows in an earlier post, and it looks great. My only concern is whether I have enough, I may have to mix it with something else…

  10. EllaDee says:

    My first thought was silver, then I liked the gold suggestion… teal, turquoise… so now like you I think it’s best for the quilt to decide 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s going to be another, different, dark grey spot with bits of something else to give me the length I need! I have unearthed some scraps, but there’s not quite enough…

  11. pattisj says:

    I do like that red border. I’ve not seen the Arrowhead block before.

Leave a Reply

