Aimée

Which is what I’ve decided to call the the quilt for my sister.

Aimée means loved. It is also, coincidentally, pronounced exactly the same as the name of the village in France where my sister lives, although the spelling is quite different to look at.

Screen shot 2015-01-12 at 2.40.20 PM

It’s working quite well for me; I’m loving the way this little quilt is coming together. The dark grey with white spots is not sashing, it’s a flange strip, just to add a little variety and texture. I’m really loving the Toile de Jouy print in duck egg blue, too, and am quite proud of the mitred corners, which I normally avoid like the plague. But the layout demanded it, so I knuckled down. I’m thinking about a few options for the next row out.

I’ve done hearts and pinwheels. Time for something else, I think…

39 thoughts on “Aimée

  1. flying geese? or simple nine-patches separated by light strips? I did a flange strip round my horrible foundation-pieced square yesterday, and had a problem with the corners, now sorted. How about that for coincidence?

    • katechiconi says:

      Small world! I like flanges for a bit of visual punctuation, but they do present problems in the corners… I am tempted by 9-patches, and am pretty sure I’m going to do dresden plates in the corners of the next strip out. 9 patches also have the advantage of letting you use up leftovers and scraps. I shall interrogate the quilt about what it wants tomorrow!

  2. tialys says:

    When I first looked at the quilt I thought you had put a strip of brown ric rac around the centre – and I had my glasses on! Then I had to Google ‘flange’ and zoomed in so now I get it. I just hadn’t heard it called that before. Looks good. How big is it as it stands now? How much more do you want to add?

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s only about 42″ across at the moment. I’ll be adding a couple more borders round the outside, probably adding about 12″ each side. Then it’ll be big enough to be a cosy lap quilt. You made me laugh with the idea of brown ric rac – so not my thing! I don’t know how Google described a flange, but it’s a folded border which is only sewn in on one edge, leaving the outer edge free. It creates a bit of visual interest.

    • Nanette says:

      I thought it was ric rac too, and thought “what the…..that’s not like Kate!” so we’re all getting a handle on you 🙂 Love the colours in the quilt btw, very pretty !

  3. knettycraft says:

    How lovely it turned out (and how many thaughts you put in it)… your sister will be glad receiving this quilt.

    • katechiconi says:

      There is still some thinking – and sewing – to go. I’m pleased at how quickly and easily it’s coming together. But I don’t think I will be hand quilting this one!

  4. EllaDee says:

    Aimee is beautiful. I love the colours and the heart centre. We went to Dorrigo… I ventured into Misty Threads and thought of you, of course. And we went to Griffiths lookout – stunning. I can’t thank you enough for the suggestion 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I have spent more money in that shop than I care to mention! I’m so glad you made it out to Griffiths Lookout, it’s a wonderful place, very restorative and good for chilling out when you’re fussed or miserable. Sounds as if you had good weather and could take in the whole view.

  5. modflowers says:

    It looks lovely, very restful colour combinations. I had never heard of a “flange” in relation to quilting before… in our house it’s one of those words that has a vaguely rude sound to it, as though it belongs in a Carry On film… but then perhaps we have a slightly odd sense of humour!

  6. rutigt says:

    Nice to see a finished result!!!! I think your sister will be pleased. It´s a beautiful quilt.
    Gun, Sweden

  7. Carole says:

    Oh it’s looking lovely. I like the flange. It really does add something 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It adds a sort of frame which the quilt needed; it was all getting a bit wishy washy. I had to audition about six or seven fabrics before I was happy with how it looked, and I only just had enough.

  8. Wonderful so far. Next border? Consider hourglass blocks. Even with them you can do something different and special in the corners. Hourglasses would echo the shapes of both the pinwheels and hearts, but still be different enough to add interest. I’ll look forward to your progress.

  9. The dark grey adds a lovely frame to it. Like your sister, I am a sucker for these colours.

  10. Now I’ve read the comments I’ve learnt (after an English snigger too!) what a flange strip is – you learn something new every day!

    • katechiconi says:

      I like them; it’s easier to control the width than inserting such a narrow piece as a border. I like them even better as prairie points, but that’s a story for another day, and probably a tutorial!

  11. Lovely French chique and simple elegance!
    Esther

  12. wombatquilts says:

    So sweet and very French.

  13. Kirsten says:

    I’m a bit of a sucker for a Toile de Jouy and that one is lovely.

  14. pattisj says:

    I know she’s going to love this!

Leave a Reply

