Long overdue

Another one from the UFO list.

Screen shot 2015-01-11 at 7.37.02 AMI’ve started the quilt I promised my younger sister nearly two years ago. I know exactly when I promised it, as she came to Australia to visit when I was just out of hospital following surgery for breast cancer. I was feeling surprisingly OK and optimistic, and we went shopping for fabric. The bag has been sitting in my cupboard ever since! To be fair, a few things have happen in between: chemotherapy, getting married, moving to Queensland, and then more recently, moving house. But now it’s time. Yesterday was her birthday, and I wanted to be able to say I’d made a start.

Screen shot 2015-01-11 at 7.34.34 AM

Moulin de la Grenouille

Screen shot 2015-01-11 at 7.35.42 AMHer tastes are more traditional than mine. She lives in the Dordogne, in France, in a beautiful old converted watermill, and  her house is full of antique furniture, beautiful rugs, books, pictures, elegant muted fabrics and stone floors. So her fabric choices reflect this. I had three Moda charm packs at the time, Etchings by 3 Sisters and Petite Ecole and Panier de Fleurs by French General. She picked out the colours she liked from these, and we bought fabrics that blended. The design she left up to me. I’m simply starting in the middle with a square made from the charm squares, and working my way out as a sort of medallion quilt. Literally, I’m making it up as I go along.

So far, we have square piecing, HST pinwheels and one central appliqué block. There will be some appliqué corners, and some dresden plate squares, and probably a border of HSTs too. It’s not going to be fancy; she wouldn’t care about or appreciate fancy, what she cares about is colour, and that I made it for her. I do realise I’ve made things difficult for myself with making it up as I go along; I have to keep on working out measurements to fit the ever-increasing size, but it’s all part of the fun.

More pinwheels today, I think…

22 thoughts on “Long overdue

  1. tialys says:

    Gorgeous! You know I love a bit of French General. These would be my colour choices too – especially the blues and greys.

    • katechiconi says:

      The rest of the fabric selection is in the same sort of palette; duck egg blue, light donkey brown, warm dark grey, rosy red, buff and cream. I’ll probably have to add to it to get something the right size, but we chose enough of the fabrics together that I have a good idea of what she’ll like. Sadly, I don’t think I’ll have many scraps left over!

  2. nanster says:

    love !! the colors and Bravo to the big sis !!

    • katechiconi says:

      It was one of the UFOs I most regretted neglecting, and I feel a great sense of relief having made a start. I don’t think it’s going to be a big quilt, but it will be very pretty!

  3. Linne says:

    I love those colours. Your sister is very lucky! I think the quilt will suit her home very well. ~ Linne

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m pretty sure it will too, having seen the inside! Plus it always gives me more pleasure to make a quilt for someone I know very well, because I have a clear idea of what they like.

  4. I love the colours, and I’m sure the result will be beautiful. Most of my quilts are made up as I go. Any time I have painstakingly drafted an entire quilt ,the end result is always entirely different!

  5. it is beautiful as always !

  6. Cicely says:

    Beautiful colours and combinations. The quilting is still a closed book to me, but I love this. The inspiration isn’t lacking, just the time and a heap of other things to do (but that’s life, isn’t it!)

    • katechiconi says:

      Making something like this is fun not only because you end up with a wonderful gift, but also because it’s extremely satisfying to make! If you ever find the time, do give it a go. It needn’t be complicated; some of the nicest quilts I’ve ever seen have just been simple squares of various sizes. And you could always get someone else to quilt it for you!

  7. Kirsten says:

    What’s HST??

    Last night I had a dream that a made a quilt. A full blown quilters quilt. And it only took me an afternoon. Pah! I have no idea what it is happening . . .

    • katechiconi says:

      HST are Half Square Triangles. You cut a square in half on the diagonal, and this shape forms the basis for hundreds of different quilting patterns. There is a short cut, which is to place two squares face to face, draw a diagonal line, stitch 1/4″ on either side of the line, and then cut along the line. You end up with two smaller squares, each composed of two right angle triangles. And you know, you could make a quilt in an afternoon if you get organised and don’t go for anything too complex. I think your subconscious is trying to tell you something!

  8. You have a very lucky sister for many reasons – living where she lives, the quilt you’re making, and for having you as a sister!

    • katechiconi says:

      Gosh, blush! It is a lovely house, isn’t it? I’ve felt bad every time I caught sight of the bag of fabric, and now I feel much better! I think she was pretty surprised when I told her I’d made a start…

  9. you are the queen of quilting 🙂
    ps. I wish I was your sister, looking at where she lives……

  10. pattisj says:

    I like these colors, too! This would go perfectly with the colors in my sewing room (that hasn’t been used for sewing in too long)!

Leave a Reply

