The road to hell…

… is paved, they say, with good intentions.

You’ve had the Good. Now it’s time for the Bad and the Ugly. In addition to all the swanking about stuff I’d achieved and my publicly-acknowledged UFOs, there’s a second, secret, rogue’s gallery of projects I’d intended to start, but which never got off the ground, or no further than some very tentative initial work.

My Recycle quilt, made from denim, twill and flannel from the Husband’s castoffs. The ultimate recycling project, most of which is still sitting in a large and inconvenient pile on the floor. The Ugliest of all, because the mess is biggest.

Pannier liner bags for Miss Scarlett, our Big Bike. Another pile, but a bit tidier.

Cylindrical fabric boxes with a hole in the top, for knitting or crochet yarn, intended as gifts. Yup, you guessed it. A pile, but a small one.

Posh Nightie, hideously, screamingly expensive Sea Island cotton fabric from Barbados, to make myself the world’s softest, most comfortable nightdress. Still in a box on the shelf.

Dressmaking: two dresses, a pair of pants, a shirt or two. More fabric and patterns sitting about.

Fluffy Thing. I was supposed to finish Woolly Thing and then start knitting that. Yup. No.

And we’re not even mentioning fabrics bought for no particular purpose, yarn ditto, a lap quilt for a sister that I haven’t even looked at, quilts promised long ago to nieces, my One Day Double Wedding Ring quilt.

There’s a line from a poem by Robert Browning, which says “Man’s reach should exceed his grasp”. Boy, have I have done the double-handed grasp without a hope of reaching my goal… I think it’s time to turn that around, stop buying on impulse and start consolidating a bit…

Watch this space.

And a special thank you to Kirsten, who told me how to do a collage of photos, thereby saving you all from visual hideousness. 🙂

44 thoughts on “The road to hell…

  1. kymlucas says:

    Feeling much better about the queries that I’ve left unsent and the book I’ve yet to finish. Also, can you share Kirsten’s directions? If I grovel?

    • katechiconi says:

      Glad to make you feel better by comparison! Grovelling not required. Upload the images you want to collage. Click on Create Gallery at the top left hand side. It gives you some drop down boxes to select from, and a chance to caption the images so if a cursor is hovered over, the text appears. I selected medium for size, and 2 columns, and random, so it varies which ones appear large and small. Give it a go, if it doesn’t work, I’ll try to help! I don’t think you can wrap text around an image collage, though…

  2. claire93 says:

    I reckon, now you’ve shared the Bad and the Ugly with us, you’ll feel guilty enough to pick up at least one of these projects in the coming year so all is not lost ^^

  3. ordinarygood says:

    We could start a support/recovery group for WIPS or yet to be WIP’d.
    BTW what is the yarn for please?

  4. katechiconi says:

    The darker stuff is a ‘just because’ purchase. The pale pastel fluffy stuff is for a very light, lacey shawl I’m supposed to be knitting for myself for evenings when the air con is too cool for me and not cool enough for the Husband… Since knitting is virtually an undiscovered country for me, I’m delaying the start as much as possible! I’d love to think I’ll get all these projects done one day, but I suspect I’m a serial relapser!

    • ordinarygood says:

      Knitting can be tricky when humidity is rampant – sweaty fingers make it hard work. I am attempting a “yarn purchase free 2015” and MUST finish the two cardigans I have started for winter as it gets very cold here in Wellytown and environs at times. I also have a goal to use up lots of stash oddments by knitting hats for a charity organisation. Onwards I say:-))

  5. What’s not to like? At least you’ll never be casting about, bored, saying “I don’t have anything to do” and you can be enriched by the variety of projects. My workroom, now you’ve made me think about it is somewhat similar.

  6. katechiconi says:

    I think this particular state can be found in workrooms around the world! Quite honestly, I can’t remember the last time I was bored, but for me it’s always a question of priority; what you see here has filtered to the bottom of the list because they’re either too hard, or need improvements in particular skills, or simply because I’ve had my imagination set alight by a newer idea. But I can finish them, I will finish them…

  7. tialys says:

    I have decided to stop buying PDF patterns for clothes. Having printed out pages and pages of instructions and even more pages of weird, numbered lines that then have to be laboriously stuck together, I usually lose interest by that stage and they are consigned to the ‘PDF Patterns Container’ which is very full and looks so uninviting that I tend to ignore it. I’m going to wait until the pattern is available as a hard copy and suck up the postage charges. If I bother at all.
    I’m looking in your collage for the screamingly expensive nightie fabric – is it there?

    • katechiconi says:

      It is, the white fabric with a very faint satin stripe and the roll of broderie anglaise edging. It’s 1500 thread count, incredibly soft and satiny, and I almost don’t dare take scissors to it!

      • tialys says:

        Ah yes – I see it! What a very posh nightie you will have.

      • katechiconi says:

        Since most of my nightwear is well used (not scruffy, exactly, just comfortably worn), I wanted something a bit nicer for special occasions. I might even go mad and do french seams, or some embroidery. You know, the sort of thing that girls used to put in their trousseau.

  8. Carole says:

    Oh I have so many unstarted or unfinished projects in crochet, sewing, stitching etc. Seeing all of yours has made me feel much better about mine 😛

    • katechiconi says:

      I think anyone who does anything creative has a secret stash of unfinished work. I got fed up with how much of it was lurking sheepishly in the back of my cupboard, and I’ve decided my goal is to make progress on – or even finish – at least three by the end of the year. Of course, it’s virtually guaranteed that anything I do finish will immediately be replaced with some other lame duck or other!

  9. you are not alone with this problem ! 😀

  10. Jule says:

    I looked into the abyss only this morning when I opened one of my cupboards. I’ve decided to make a list of every half-project that’s appearing from now on out of the unexpected. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I think something I must do this year is trying to make sense of all my scraps. There’s so much there and I could do so much with it all. Perhaps at least one of this year’s quilts will be a scrap job, which would have two advantages: making space and making a quilt I owe!

  11. Kirsten says:

    Well look at that, others were baffled by the image gallery too! So glad I could help. Any other WordPress related problems let me know! I can’t promise I can help, but I’ll give it a go!

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t often want to feature a whole load of pictures, and I think it’s the same for others, so we just never took the trouble to find out how. You have been very helpful, and three of us are grateful!

  12. pattisj says:

    Now that you’ve bared your soul, I have to say I have Bad and Ugly, but no Good to share! Guess I’d better get busy.

  13. Oooh! I need Kirsten’s tip!
    I was not brave enough to take photos of the cupboard of shame. I now have two UFO lists – the inside the cupboard list and the outside the cupboard list. No shortage of stuff to do here either!

    • katechiconi says:

      See above, my reply to Kym’s first comment, for the How To. Once you know where to go to start the process, it’s as easy as falling off a log. I actually tidied the sewing room yesterday, prompted by the teetering heaps of old flannel shirts, shoe boxes full of fabric for some distant future project, and dusty bags of yarn. Name and shame seems to be working….

  14. Nanette says:

    You have some pretty yarn there….. you could send me your fluffy yarn and I’ll knit you up your shawl. I’m very pleased to hear about your teetering piles and B and U items tucked away, no wonder you didn’t bat an eyelid the day you came here and caught me with my sewing room ….. not to mention my kitchen…..in disarray 🙂 I’m just doing some catch-ups around the blogs after days!! of no internet, and still intermittent connections, a storm knocked the tower out, but also have a sewing room expose post planned!

    • katechiconi says:

      Whilst I’d love to hand off Fluffy Thing to someone else, because the point of it all was to improve my knitting and courage in taking on knitting projects, I can’t shamelessly take advantage of that very kind offer! Everyone has B&U tucked away, and since some people can only work in a state of (organised) chaos, I’d never dream of eyelid batting in anyone’s workspace! Look forward to the expose – and thank you for sending your rain up here, much appreciated!

  15. Nanette says:

    Doesn’t have to be shameless handing off, could be grateful, or joyful, or with relief, or compassion…..poor Nanette has nothing else to do, I could give her my fluffy knitting to keep her occupied 🙂 I do understand your reasons though, especially if you’re wanting to gain expertise and courage…….not that I think you lack either of them. Perhaps I’ll tidy a little before the expose.

    • katechiconi says:

      On the other hand, we could help each other out. Is there something you’ve been burying at the back of a cupboard which I could start/finish for you? We could swap – I could joyfully pass you Fluffy Thing, and you could joyfully pass me your long-deferred Something. A sort of UFO-completion exchange?

  16. Nanette says:

    Moi?! UFOs in back of cupboard?! I don’t think so…………oh wait, maybe, I’ll go look 🙂

  17. nsturgill says:

    Dont put off the sisters quilt!

  18. I think impulse buying is good. (I’d have to say that, but still…) You don’t want to curb your creative impulses in any way. And sometimes the “thereness” of a big messy pile of something prompts a new idea 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      The ‘thereness’ of the flannel shirts was just a bit too overwhelming, but I do know what you mean. Nothing like a pile of something to nag you into doing something about it. I’ve decided that this will be the year of doing something about it all. Starting tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

