The rogue’s gallery

Lots of people publish a list of projects they completed in the year, a round-up of achievements. It’s satisfying to look at, and sometimes very impressive.

This year, I thought “nah, not worth it”. I wasn’t going to do it, until I actually listed what I’d done in the past 12 months. Twelve quilts?! That’s one a month! Granted that a few of them are baby quilts and the AHQ ones are narrow bunk size, but that’s still a lot of quilts… On top of that is the making of bags, sewing kits, boxes, garments and cushions. I’m now unreasonably proud of myself, and probably need taking down a peg or two!

Quilts: Happiness, Tree of Life, Isfahan, Amistad, Broken Bottles, Jumble, Wervelwind, Flucht, Komeet.

AHQ: 3 quilts, 3 laundry bags

Garments: Blue batik top, two nighties

Bags: Navy stripe, black & yellow, laptop bag, embroidery travel kit, hexie travel kit

Odds & ends: tea cosy, fabric storage boxes, pincushion, round box, egg cosies, placemats, 3 cushions

Embroidery: Wedding sampler, Husband portrait

UFOs: Steampunk, Woolly Thing, Worldwide Friends, Husband star quilt

I apologise for the completely random placing of the images. I appear to have no control over where things are placed, and the formatting fights back.  I have no idea how to make a nice little mosaic of the shots in this particular WordPress theme, so I’m afraid you’ll just have to view them in all their wonky glory.

Happy, happy! I love this quilt so much!

Outside, and my favourite button finally finds a home

Isfahan, complete with scrappy binding

The finished quilt. I'm really pleased with it

Three 'flying quilts' for my nephew's triplet baby daughters. Left is Komeet (Comet), centre is Vlucht (Flight) and right is Wervelwind (Whirlwind)


Visualise this with a wide brimmed pink hat and pink pants...

The nightie, posing artfully in front of my fabric cupboard

The blue one. I can't decide which one I prefer.

Screen shot 2014-05-25 at 10.07.59 PM Screen shot 2014-05-30 at 4.32.32 PM Screen shot 2014-06-03 at 10.49.16 PM Screen shot 2014-06-06 at 11.03.47 PM Screen shot 2014-06-28 at 4.49.19 PM Screen shot 2014-07-20 at 3.44.55 PM Screen shot 2014-07-23 at 1.40.37 PM Screen shot 2014-08-01 at 12.37.50 PM

Navy and white stripes, navy with a tiny white spot, and a spiffy bow tie.

Red basket, completed and already put to good use

Side 2 standing up


Screen shot 2014-08-21 at 1.56.51 PM Screen shot 2014-09-10 at 3.54.08 PM Screen shot 2014-09-11 at 4.41.45 PM Screen shot 2014-09-15 at 1.10.02 PM Screen shot 2014-11-03 at 10.21.28 AM Screen shot 2014-11-06 at 11.26.09 AM Screen shot 2014-11-13 at 10.21.04 AM

Screen shot 2014-12-14 at 3.32.31 PM Screen shot 2014-12-24 at 11.31.10 AM

 

 

 

Screen shot 2014-06-03 at 12.56.05 PM

 

40 thoughts on “The rogue’s gallery

  1. knettycraft says:

    That is a enormous amount of finishings…. and in the middle of all that buzy sewing and quilting you moved.

  2. Not just an enormous amount of projects, but beautifully done! Very impressive, you have reason to be proud! It will be fun to see what you do in this new year!

  3. Carole says:

    Wow, that is an impressive lot of finishes. All lovely too 🙂

  4. Wonderful! I especially love the flying quilts — so fresh and innovative. Thanks for sharing your year with us.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you. The flying quilts were a real rush job; I was expecting to make only one, and when we found it was triplets, the pressure was really on… Which is really why their design is so minimal, and perhaps why flight was on my mind!

  5. That’s a lot of great projects–you have a right to be proud!

  6. kymlucas says:

    Gorgeous! Also, I’m so glad to learn I’m not the only one who has issues posting pictures on WP!

    • katechiconi says:

      By no means the only one! I don’t know why it has to be so hard, but the dratted thing just plonks them in willy nilly and it’s virtually impossible to tidy them up without images disappearing altogether. This, I assure you, was the best I could achieve after an hour of fiddling about. And thank you so much for the kind words.

  7. Wow! Kate, you have every reason to be proud. This is bordering on prolific LOL. What a fabulous collection 🙂

  8. tialys says:

    …don’t forget all the gardening and the baking and the visiting and the moving house and the nipping to the hospital and the blogging. I hope you have some Wonder Woman pants.

  9. So you didn’t know you were such a busy bee ? I did ! I just don’t know how you do it all; the sewing, the baking, the gardening……

  10. claire93 says:

    I’m glad to see you did a review of 2014 – some beautiful handicrafts – well done!

  11. Not to mention… the snail of scrappiness, lots of hankies and my knitting/crochet tool roll. Thank you for your generosity over the past year 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I didn’t post about ‘private’ projects – I suppose there was quite a bit more if you include those; like making the bag for the Dowager, and a stack of hexies for Wombat Quilts and one or two other things…. And I love to make things for other people, so you’re most welcome! I seem to recall a thing or two coming the other way too!

  12. Kirsten says:

    See, you did more than you thought!

    RE – Gallery thing – if you go to ‘insert media’ and then select ‘create gallery’ from the left hand side, you can select all the photos you want to include and then on the right select how you want them to be displayed. This is something that is standard and doesn’t vary from theme to theme 🙂

  13. Seriouly impressive – and all veyr beautiful!

  14. pattisj says:

    That’s a pretty impressive portfolio! Nice work!

  15. That’s a very productive year!
    (Hint: put the images in a table and they stay put.)

  16. Wow, you’re almost a shop! I’d be hard pressed to pick my favourite! I love the nighties and the bags. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I love the nighties too, and wear them constantly (at night, that is!), and they make me want to do a bit more dressmaking. And the bags are heaps of fun. But quilts will always be my thing first and foremost.

  17. rutigt says:

    So many great projects and I still think the embroidery “Husband Portrait” is one of the finest!!
    Gun, Sweden

Leave a Reply

