Rude plants

… Aha! I thought that would catch your attention.

Screen shot 2014-12-29 at 12.31.23 PM

About 30cm tall, or a foot high…

And I have to say, not just rude, but also unfeasibly large.  But then, this is the Elephant Ear Taro, (Alocasia macrorrhizos), and everything about it is unfeasibly large, not just its, um… flower.

Screen shot 2014-12-29 at 12.31.10 PM

That modest little spike of white flower buds is going to explode into a fluffy white parasol of blooms

Round the corner there’s a big spiky yucca which is also starting to flower (again, slightly rude), and the dracaena is also putting out buds. The little mandarin that was being strangled is now flowering tentatively again, the beans are flowering like it’s going out of fashion, and the mature mango trees down the back – which looked on their last legs – are sending out masses of new leaves. The yellow hibiscus, which still needs a good pruning, is flowering, and after last night’s short thunderstorm, everything looks freshly washed. Of course, today is hot, humid and cloudless again, but more rain is forecast, and best of all, there are circulating systems building up over the Solomon Islands and in the Coral Sea which bode well for a bit of a monsoon front.  Better late than never!

Better go and check there’s plenty of cold water in the fridge. It’s going to get bloody hot this afternoon: 40C/104ºF and around 80% humidity. How’s winter in the northern hemisphere treating you?

 

23 thoughts on “Rude plants

  1. pattisj says:

    40C/104F sounds pretty good, at least for a day. It’s really not so bad where I live, today was 3.8C/39F. It rained, making it cold and damp, which feels colder to me. I’ll turn the fan in your direction and send a cool breeze. 😉 You need it, with all those rude plants! LOL

    • katechiconi says:

      I wouldn’t mind a little of your refreshing cool 3.8C! And actually, if you’d just take our humidity, I could cope with the heat, but I hate it when my glasses steam up as soon as I step out of the door! And that’s nothing to do with the plants!

  2. It was below zero C all day yesterday, though sunny. I just looked out over the darkness to find the ground was all white with frost.

  3. You’re right, the title got me:-) Good luck with the humidity – that, much more than the higher temperatures, is what actually kills me. It’s why I never visit Durban. We don’t generally get too much of it in Cape Town…

  4. My favourite rude plant is the coco de mer… with an impressive male flower and a stunning nut!

  5. Carole says:

    That sounds just a little bit too hot and humid for me. I think the frost covering our garden sounds slightly more appealing. Just slightly.

  6. tialys says:

    Brrrr. Just put my car in the garage to have the winter tyres put on. It’s beautiful though with clear blue skies, snow on the peaks and frost on the ground – we’re keeping the log fires burning.
    When I used to work in an office somebody bought me an Amaryllis bulb in a pot and I kept it on my desk and marveled at the way it seemed to grow and swell inches overnight. I kept a tape measure by the side of it. It was very rude indeed. I had a much more ‘schoolboy’ sense of humour in those days 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      I have never grown out of mine, and it still affords me hours of enjoyment at small and silly jokes. It’s 11pm here, and the temperature outside is still 28C… We’re going to bed earlyish tonight, getting up early tomorrow to do something enjoyable before the real heat sets in… Have a fun New Year’s Eve and a fortunate New Year!

  7. We have 5C° and melting snow ! Brrr !!! Give me Summer any day !
    Keep cool ! Happy Happy 2015 !

  8. Nanette says:

    We got that big storm in the middle of the night too Kate, the cell was pretty big and stretched west as well. It did cool things down though. Same here, not that hot yet… only 30!….but the humidity’s around 90% hard when I have a cold and am generating my own humidity. My neighbours have a yucca which I look onto from my sewing room window, it’s already in flower and very impressive. My schoolboy sense of humour must be drowned in cold vapors, because I only see a pretty flower *wink*

  9. katechiconi says:

    … or perhaps your sense of humour’s just a bit more sophisticated! I thoroughly recommend doing a sinus flush or two with salt water to wash out some of those cold germs and unclog my head, it seems to do the trick when I have a disgusting head cold.

  10. Nanette says:

    been doing that using my trusty neti pot………..I agree, best thing.

  11. claire93 says:

    lol to you and your rude plants ^^
    weather in France is cold. We had snow earlier this week and with bitterly cold winds, temps were around -12°C at night, so black ice on the roads too. However, it seems to have wamred up again. Snow has melted and weather is dry – almost like autumn.

  12. Kirsten says:

    Winter was treating us well – lovely cold, crisp and frosty mornings – but it has warmed up a little bit now so everything is just grey and a bit bleurgh. Fingers crossed it cools off again soon. Winter is supposed to be cold!

    I don’t envy you those temperatures and humidity. I suffered through 40 Celsius and 90% humidity in Bangkok. I felt like the Wicked Witch of the West when Dorothy threw a bucket of water at her – “I’m melting, I’m melting . . . “

    • katechiconi says:

      Yesterday was the worst yet. I got through about 3 shirts, having had to spend time in our not very cool kitchen because of cooking for the family last night. It rained in the night, and is still overcast, so a little cooler this morning, but today’s the day for putting on the black, so it’s going to be another sweaty one….

  13. cecilia says:

    YUP.. downright chilly.. no cold water needed here.. hot mulled wine should do the trick! c

Leave a Reply

