Worldwide Friends: another corner

I have not been entirely idle over Christmas.

Screen shot 2014-12-30 at 9.47.43 PM

The top left corner is now assembled and ready to add to the centrepiece. And another corner is ready to start piecing together. So now we can see just how wide this fun quilt is going to be. A massive 76″!  I have yet to determine how long it will be, but it’ll be a bit more than the width, simply because of the way the hexies fit together.

Screen shot 2014-12-30 at 9.48.04 PMScreen shot 2014-12-30 at 9.48.45 PMMy thinking about the back has changed a bit, too. Originally I was going to go for a plain red back. Then the fabrics started flocking in thick and fast, too many for the front alone, and the haiku and a tanka made their appearance. The back is going to feature these poems, plus many more hexies, and I’ve decided that the quilt will have a hexie border rather than a straight edge, so round the edge hexies will be pieced back to back, making a frame on the reverse too. That’s this week’s thinking, anyway. As always, it’s subject to change if I come up with a better idea!

The more I consider the quilting, the more drawn I am to a sashiko design. It’s in keeping with the origins of the fabrics, it’s simple and it would work on both sides of the quilt. I doubt if I’ll actually do it in white sashiko thread, since I don’t want it to stand  out so strongly against the dark background, and the thread is quite thick and hard to work with on these tightly woven quilting fabrics. Also, the scale will be fairly large, so I’ll finish the quilting some time this millennium!

The Husband wants me to submit this quilt to the Mackay Show in July. Should be ready by then, so long as I don’t change my mind too often! The only thing I had some concern about is how to hang the thing – I want it to be double sided, and a hanging pocket would spoil the look of the back. However, the Husband has come up with a truly brilliant idea for dealing with this, which is to embed a hanging pocket between the front and back layers of the quilt, inside the quilt itself. The channel would be held in place within the quilt by the quilting. The outer edges of the channel would be stitched to the edges of the outer hexies, and you’d just thread the pole through the edge of the quilt itself. Am I not fortunate in my Husband? Not only enthusiastic about my quilting, but also providing intelligent solutions when required!

Screen shot 2014-12-29 at 12.25.54 PMFinally, in the mail today I received more lovely fabric, this time from Kirsten, who blogs at The Pink Rose Bakery, and produces all kinds of gluten free fabulousness – go and take a look. It’s going to be great to have more red to increase the variety, and I can always use indigo to darken hexie flowers which would otherwise be a bit on the light side. I love the Christmas card, too!

What’s on your To Do list for 2015? 

20 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: another corner

  1. knettycraft says:

    Oh Kate, seems you are buzy sewing around the clock 🙂 … it looks wonderful with all the different blue fabrics!

    • katechiconi says:

      I actually don’t spend much time on it during the day, but I get quite a lot done in the evenings, as I have a very good work lamp which lets me see what I’m doing. I’m very happy with how it looks, and all the different prints work well together.

  2. tialys says:

    What a good idea from the Lord of Chiconia. No wonder you have immortalized him in thread 🙂

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    It really is starting to look excellent Kate. I feel as if I own it myself!

    • katechiconi says:

      Very kind! It’s going to have the widest range of ‘ingredients’ of any quilt I’ve made, and I’m a bit less than halfway through the front alone, so you’ll have to brace for quite a lot more posts on the subject…

  4. It’s going to be absolutely gorgeous. Your husband has had a good idea. Another way would be tabs: I hung my Mother’s hexie quilt with tabs inserted between the upper edges of hexies back to back, and pushed the pole through the tabs. This keeps the top of the quilt hanging properly instead of the pole pushing it out a bit. Of course a thin batten wouldn’t distort the hang, but it must be strong enough to take the weight. I love the idea of the pieced and poemed back. If not exactly sashiko quilting, you could still do slightly longer stitches than normal, which would be helpful for your deadline.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! Tabs were my original thought, but I don’t want them to be a permanent feature of the quilt, which is why I’m going with the hidden channel. I’ve given myself quite a task with the show submission date, but it gives me the perfect excuse to spend a lot of time on this! I think I’ll be doing a ‘big-stitch’ version of a much-enlarged sashiko design; as always, I don’t want the quilting to be too dense.

      • Good thinking. You can put it on a big double bed afterwards! I once showed a quilt with pinned on tabs – but it didn’t have to be judged, and the quilt was so huge nobody could see the pins – It’s on my bed with me at this minute.

  5. Carole says:

    It’s looking so lovely! I do like the idea for hanging it too. I’m looking forward to seeing what that looks like 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I love the idea that you can hang it invisibly except for the ends of the rod, and that the means of hanging can’t be seen externally. Now, I can’t decide whether to stitch together the new corner, or make some more hexie flowers. The latter is more mindless and easy, the former a bit more demanding and time consuming….

  6. Emmely says:

    This is great fun, I already managed to spot “my” fabrics! I’ll be interested to see how you construct the reversible sleeve.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think a few people have been playing scrap-spotting! I’m still working out in my mind how to secure the sleeve between the two layers of quilt, but I’ll do a post on it when the times comes. That will be some time yet! The front is only about 30% done, and I still have the whole back to work on.

  7. The husband’s soon-to-be-world-famous quilt hanging loop design sounds like a winner!

  8. Kirsten says:

    I got a bit confused with the talk of pockets – do you mean a kind of channel that a rod can go through in order to hang it up? So that it can be flipped over. It will definitely be worth entering it into the competition. What are you going to do with it afterwards, considering it is going to be so large??!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly! Mostly, quilts have a long channel sewn onto the back, called a rod pocket, which is used for hanging it up. I don’t want this visible, since the quilt is going to be double sided, effectively. So the channel is going to be contained between the quilt layers, with just an opening at either side seam. I suspect it’s going to get draped over the sofa long term, or perhaps on our bed in the winter to top up the quilt layer when it’s a bit cooler.

  9. […] in slight danger of becoming obsessive about Worldwide Friends. Some might say it was already too late…. But rather than press on and on, and then get a bit […]

Leave a Reply

