Properly dressed…

… which is what my Christmas table wasn’t.

I have a very long table. It’s 3.1m/10’2″ long, made for my by my BIL from timber grown, felled and seasoned on my land when I lived in northern NSW. The timber is Cryptomeria japonica, or Japanese cedar, known in Japan as sugi. I wanted a big table. I wanted to seat as many friends and family as I pleased without squashing. That part, indeed, the table fulfils. It’s seen action both in and outside the house, it’s been my sewing table when I was hand quilting a queensize quilt, it’s one of my favourite pieces of furniture. But….

Screen shot 2014-12-24 at 11.31.10 AMHave you ever tried to buy a tablecloth longer than 3m? It’s not easy. So these days, I tend to use a couple of starched vintage white damask tablecloths handed down to me by my mother, and I conceal the fact that there are two with nice place settings. Only, of course, you can’t buy a set of 12 or 14 place mats either. And I was really stunned at the price of the nice individual mats. So I made my own, of course. I bought one large (but not large enough, grrr!) tablecloth in red and white stripes. I cut it up into place mat sized pieces, dug out all my scrap batting and some white fabric, and away we went. White napkins, red tealights, and some red flowers, and my Christmas table will now be properly dressed.

Screen shot 2014-12-23 at 10.40.47 AMYesterday, I got another envelope of fabric loot for Worldwide Friends from Carole in the UK, who blogs at A Slight Obsession with Books. She’s sent me two pieces of batik and they’re very appropriate for the season! The brighter blue has flowers that resemble snowflakes, and the dark one has what look just like Christmas trees on it.

Screen shot 2014-12-24 at 8.06.47 AMToday, there was another from Jule in Germany, who blogs at From the Boudoir and also at The UFO Garage. Both blogs are wonderful and a great showcase of her amazing work. She’s sent me some beautiful pieces of indigo, mainly Japanese prints which will feel right at home.

I’m giving you a break from interminable photos of indigo hexagons, so I won’t show you further progress, for that you’ll have to wait till after Christmas.

Back to trying to work out who’ll sit where….

 

15 thoughts on “Properly dressed…

  1. Even when I buy a tablecloth, I find myself rehemming it to make it square! (Quality ain’t what it used to be!)
    I love the fabrics from Julie. They will look right at home!

  2. I have a very long dining table, made by Jock and none of myinherited/wedding present cloths fit, so I bought yardage, a bright Paisley printed cotton, intended, I think for sheets, so too wide for the table. The strip I cut off made 12 napkins and lined a wall hanging!

    Those fabrics from far and wide look fabulous – I love Japanese prints.

    • katechiconi says:

      What a good solution. I had a look at the sheeting but it was all rather nasty polyester cotton and thin. Perhaps I should be looking at quilting widebacks… The dragonfly print is my favourite from this contribution – you may be able to tell I love them, since this is the third fabric featuring dragonflies on the quilt!

  3. tialys says:

    I use a white linen sheet for my table – although it isn’t as long as your one but I do find long tablecloths difficult to get crease free. Even once you’ve ironed them they have to be folded for storage and then they’ve got fold creases in. Why must life be so difficult? 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      My solution is to wash and line dry them, then put them away unironed but fresh. Then when I want to use them, I spray them with lavender or melissa water, steam press them with a hot iron, and put them straight on the table. No creases!

  4. tialys says:

    I knew you’d know 😉

  5. claire93 says:

    I don’t like table cloths. Much prefer place mats, so that you can then see the wood of the table ^^

  6. Carole says:

    Your table looks lovely with all the red and white.

    Glad my fabric contribution reached you ok and those prints from Jule are lovely. What a smashing assortment of prints you’ll have in that quilt 🙂

  7. Your table looks lovely ! May you and your loved ones have a wonderful Christmas !!!

Leave a Reply

