Worldwide Friends: in the corner

Another batch of hexies and fillers completed.

Screen shot 2014-12-22 at 10.24.49 AMNow that these are done and pinned in position, I begin to have an idea of just how large this quilt is going to be. On the basis of what is here, it’s going to be 75″ wide and probably 81″ long (190 x 205cm). That’s before any border or binding.

Screen shot 2014-12-22 at 10.57.17 AMSo I think I can safely say that some of these beautiful fabrics are going to get used on the back too. Normally, I’m a fan of plain backs, just because it’s easier, but with so much extra fabric and the haiku too, a picture is beginning to form in my mind of what it might look like. Nearly as interesting as the front! A double sided quilt. Of course, this means the quilting will have to work on both sides, so I will have to be super-careful and missed stitches will show. I think it will  have to be a hand quilted job, after spending so much time hand stitching all the hexies. Rather than do some sort of complicated pattern which will fight with all the different fabrics, I’m going to go for an overall repeat design, like I have on my heirloom quilt. That one has clamshells. I’ll have to ask this quilt what it wants a bit closer to the time. It can’t be anything that follows the hexie shapes, since I can’t absolutely guarantee that things will line up between front and back. Maybe a gentle wavy line on the diagonal, or something similar.

Screen shot 2014-12-22 at 10.24.11 AMI’ve also had another nice squishy envelope arrive, this one from Nanette, who blogs at Stitch and Sow. She’s sent me some really lovely prints which will enhance the beauty and variety of this quilt.

My Christmas handwork is all sorted. Putting this lot together… (and, as the Husband points out, eating lots of Christmas cake. I suppose that counts as handwork!)

16 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: in the corner

  1. pattisj says:

    Christmas cake (and cookies and candy) all manage to get eaten, don’t they? Your quilt is progressing!

  2. Nanette says:

    Glad you’re happy with the fabrics Kate and that with extra fabric to make more hexies, I’m helping to keep your hands out of the cake.

  3. this is going to be wonderful !!!

  4. It’s going to be spectacular. You mentioned a haiku. How about a tanka:

    Faultless hand sewn quilts
    are impossible to find –
    an uneven stitch
    identifies the maker
    as a fallible human

  5. Kirsten says:

    It’s going to be a whopper. Is the sewing room big enough for it?!

  6. It’s beautiful. What a treasure and a labour of love too! Happy Christmas Kate 🙂 Avis x

  7. I am sure you have been looking at sashiko designs for quilting inspiration, but you have lots of time hand sewing hexies between now and then – even at your superhuman speed!
    I never count Christmas cake as unhealthy so I can eat as much as I like. It is fruit; therefore, it is healthy! 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I cannot fault your logic! I find it entirely possible to ignore the sugar and butter if I keep repeating “it’s mostly fruit, it’s mostly fruit….”
      I shall indeed be looking at sashiko for the quilting, it’s exactly the sort of tidy overall patterning I need.

  8. […] to hexies. I’m slowly assembling the square block I showed in my last Worldwide Friends post. Once that’s done, I shall make the equivalent square for the other side.  It’s going […]

Leave a Reply

