And now for something completely different…

It’s that cake time of year again.

I wish you could smell this! Rum, cinnamon, sugar, dried fruit - sooooo good!

Macerating the fruit in rum, sugar and spices. It needs to soak overnight, so I’ll be making the rest of the cake tomorrow.

Not that it’s not cake time all year round for me, but now I have the excuse to make my favourite kind. For some people, this is late in the day to be making Christmas cake. They make theirs weeks in advance. Thing is, mine’s gluten free, and doesn’t keep quite as well as a traditional one, despite the lavish quantities of alcohol used in its construction. So it has to be made nearer to Christmas.

I’ve posted the recipe before; you’ll find it here. It’s a pretty damn fine cake, even if it is GF. Make it with regular flour and I think you’d be pleased with the result. And I do have an ulterior motive. I get to eat most of it myself, since no one else around here is quite as big a fan of rich fruit cake! The Husband will, ahem, force himself to lick the bowl afterwards, but he’ll have had enough after a couple of slices. I will be a happy muncher until the last crumb.

So it’s probably just as well Christmas only comes once a year…

24 thoughts on “And now for something completely different…

  1. knettycraft says:

    That sounds extremely delicious to me! Just copied the recipe… I don’t know if I’ll manage it this year… but, if I do – suppose I also can eat it until Easter 🙂

  2. I too love rich fruit cake. Jock likes his cake much less rich, and I invented Jock Bun Cake based on a wartime recipe for rock buns. Because no family will be here this year, my Christmas cake is a Jock Bun Cake.

  3. tialys says:

    I used to make a Christmas Cake for my Dad every year. I’d start it early and feed it with brandy every week until the time to marzipan and ice it. Then he decided it wasn’t good for his cholesterol count and said he wasn’t going to eat it any more. We don’t really like it enough for me to bother but I do miss the ritual and, since he died last November, I probably won’t ever make one again. 😦

    • katechiconi says:

      If you like Christmas cake for yourself, then make it part of your own ritual. But if not, then view it as something you grew out of! Personally, Christmas isn’t complete for me without a cake. I can do without turkey and the trimmings, but not cake….

  4. Nanette says:

    If you were just a teensy bit closer Idl be along to help you eat your cake Kate 🙂 Rich fruit cake is the only type I can be bothered eating. Do we get to see a pic with your mouth full ?

  5. anne54 says:

    Enjoy every mouthful!

    • katechiconi says:

      Not much doubt about that… This is my one big excess; I’m surrounded by people who don’t go much for traditional Christmas foods, so I don’t get to do a pudding or fruit mince pies, or stuffing, etc, and I hold out for my one indulgence!

  6. rutigt says:

    No Christmas cake here, but today I baked cinnamon rolls. DH loves them 🙂
    Merry Christmas!!
    Gun, Sweden

  7. Absolutely gorgeous – can almost smell it!

  8. Kirsten says:

    Christmas isn’t Christmas without a good wedge of fruit cake on a daily basis. Especially if it is covered in a thick layer of marzipan and fondant icing!

    • katechiconi says:

      Except that I don’t get the marzipan or icing. The line is drawn at super rich and alcoholic fruit cake. I miss the trimmings, but if I added them the Husband wouldn’t eat it.

      • Kirsten says:

        My dad likes fruit cake but hates marzipan. He just picks it off. My sister loves marzipan and fondant icing, but hates fruit cake. They are a perfect Christmas cake team!

  9. Ooooh, you know it’s Christmas when the baking cake aromas are wafting around the house. I’m the only one who likes Christmas cake here too….and Christmas pudding as well. All the more for me 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Same! Except I don’t go to the trouble of making a gluten free Christmas pudding just for me. The Dowager will eat a slice or two of the cake, as will the Husband, so I have some reason to make that apart from my own pigginess!

  10. My favourite Christmas foods are fruit cake, mince pies and Christmas pudding. I normally do not bake during the year as I have too few mouths to feed, but the pudding is on the go!

  11. […] although it was actually too late… I couldn’t resist trying that Christmas cake recipe by Kate from talltalesfromchiconia… and suppose I can’t resist eating it all […]

  12. Jen Gardener says:

    Yummm-me! Did you put coins in it? If so I hope you got the Christmas Wish – that’s the best one 🙂

Leave a Reply

