Friendship Fabrics: Merci, Viv; Tack, Gun

More fabric excitement this morning!

Screen shot 2014-12-19 at 9.52.46 AM

Viv’s contribution – I adore that Javanese print at the bottom. Merci beaucoup!

Screen shot 2014-12-19 at 9.53.18 AM

The squares from Gun. Don’t you like the way the blue in the fabric on the right matches the Swedish flag on her postcard? Tack så mycket!

Fabrics from France and Sweden today – and Gun was even kind enough to cut hers into squares for me already! I’m working on the next corner square, three flowers wide.  I don’t have a finished size in mind, but when it starts to get too large for my design wall, I shall have to decide whether it gets any bigger, or if I have to start piecing a back as well…. Viv blogs at VivinFrance’s Blog: a lot of poetry, a bit of quilting, and Gun blogs at Rutigt: wonderful quilts and bags – go and take a look!

Hot, heavy, humid and overcast today. A 50/50 chance of thunderstorms. Knowing our luck, we’ll be the 50% without rain… The poor Husband is labouring out there with the whippersnipper and ride on mower because the last lot of rain has made the grass grow incredibly fast.  He keeps coming in to get a cold drink and cool down, especially since both activities require a hat, long sleeves, eye protection and long pants and boots and the temperature is hovering around 34ºC (93ºF), with humidity at around 70%.

Back to work. Much to do in kitchen and laundry today, but at least I have the air conditioning! 🙂

 

19 thoughts on “Friendship Fabrics: Merci, Viv; Tack, Gun

  1. EllaDee says:

    Dull but warm weather here too, although nowhere near as warm as up north. But gorgeous fabrics to brighten things up, and even better gifts from friends 🙂 The G.O. has finished for the year, and I’ve only got a couple of hopefully quiet hours to go. See you in 2015.

  2. tialys says:

    More lovely fabrics. I’m so jealous of all these little parcels you are getting – all of mine are from Amazon at the moment and mostly for other people!!
    I don’t envy your weather at the moment – although it has been a bit uncharacteristically drizzly here this past week or so and I hope it gets a little more ‘cold and crisp’ soon as befits the season.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s such fun, I whizz out to the mailbox as soon as the post has been delivered, and get quite disappointed when it’s just another bill or bank statement. The basket of fabrics for this project is getting pretty full, I must apply myself to producing lots more hexies… Our forecast for Christmas day is for 32C, mostly sunny, 50% chance of a shower. Crossing my fingers for some of that drizzle you’re not happy about!

  3. I know that lovely feeling of parcels from around the world… let’s see how many other people we can share it with!

  4. I’m glad you liked them. The Javanese fabric came from a Dutch friend of mine who had lived in Indonesia, following 5 years in a Japanese prison camp during the war. She is no longer with us, but I have her photo smiling at me on my bedroom wall, and I often come across scraps of her fabrics in my stash, and in my finished quilts.

  5. rutigt says:

    I´m glad to see my fabrics have arrived 🙂 Now I can concentrate on reading about all the other fabrics you recieved for your quilt! So many and so beautiful. This is gonna be a great quilt!!!!
    Gun, Sweden

  6. I think you need to start a world map with pins in it to mark the origins of all these exotic fabrics!

  7. Sounds like a wonderful project! Are you still seeking fabric or do you have more than enough?

    • katechiconi says:

      I have plenty, but if you’d like to contribute, I’ll make sure your fabric gets in! I have a secret plan for any surplus, and I make quilts to donate to our service people too, so nothing will go to waste if you do send something. Send me an email (Contact Me page), and I’ll mail you back with my address.

  8. Kirsten says:

    Must be like working in a sauna with all those layers!! Completely understand why they are necessary though.

Leave a Reply

