Friendship Fabrics

The post lady and I are becoming well acquainted!

Screen shot 2014-12-17 at 11.58.37 AMIn addition to the usual Christmas cards, bills and junk mail of the season, boxes and envelopes have started arriving from all sorts of interesting places.  Today, we’re featuring fabrics from Rita of Gwennie’s Garden in Belgium and Jan of The Snail of Happiness in Wales. Rita’s are the blue and yellow fabrics, in very generous quantities, and Jan’s is the deep red with white spots, some leftover Fair Trade organic cotton from one of her own projects. Thank you both very much, ladies! I think the blue and red will both be used on the front, the yellow will find a place on the back.

The finished centre is now back on the design wall where I can add to it piece by piece.  One day soon, too, I’ll have to do something about embroidering the quilt’s name above the lower rabbit, before it gets too large to move around easily.

I’ve taken out all the papers except the ones on the very edge, so I’ve now got plenty to work with, especially as I bought 200 more yesterday.

The scrap basket is calling me… 

12 thoughts on “Friendship Fabrics

  1. EllaDee says:

    Christmas is about the only time I really enjoy opening the mailbox, as the Christmas card tradition lingers for at least some of my family and friends. But for you, what a bonus – lovely colourful fabrics from around the globe 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I know, such fun! And especially nice since we are not exchanging gifts this year but making a major donation to charity, so I wouldn’t be getting any parcels otherwise!

  2. I feel ashamed that the pieces I sent were so tiny, but the last two or three years I have made loads and loads of scrap quilts, simply to reduce the shambles in the work room. I am incapable of throwing away fabric scraps bigger than an inch!

    • katechiconi says:

      Viv, it’s not the size that matters, it’s the taking part. I have put in several very small scrappy pieces that would only make one hexie. I still put them in. Like you, I dislike waste and want to make the best use of everything. I hope that if you ever need anything for a scrap quilt you’re making, you’ll call on me for assistance. It’s what the quilting community is for!

  3. tialys says:

    I’m with you and Viv here. Saving all the scraps is a habit I learnt when I used to go to a patchworking ‘class’ back in the U.K. I’ve never actually made a scrap quilt but, maybe one day. I should be more disciplined and cut the scraps into squares or strips before storage which would save space and make the eventual production of a scrap quilt far more likely. Perhaps I’ll make it one of my resolutions for the New Year. In the meantime, count me in for any scrap requests you may have in future.

    • katechiconi says:

      I always feel terribly virtuous when I’ve ‘organised’ some scraps, even when I do nothing with the results. But it does mean that if you need to make something urgently, or inspiration strikes, there’s lots of material ready at hand. Likewise, if you ever need anything in a particular colour scheme, ask, and if I have it, so shall you!

  4. Lovely to see my spotty fabric all the way round the other side of the globe… I wish I’d posted myself too!!

    • katechiconi says:

      So do we, it would be wonderful! Visualise Christmas spent in hot sunshine, wearing summer clothes, doors and windows open (except when the aircon is on…). Maybe one day. I have only one question, though… Where would you stick the stamps?!

  5. kymlucas says:

    I only just realized I have not been following your blog! Have remedied that situation just now. I apologize for the oversight.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s ok, I just discovered today that as part of the general mucking about that WordPress is doing right now, it’s booted me off your follower list, so I’ll have to re-follow you as well!

  6. claire93 says:

    what generous followers you have

Leave a Reply

