Worldwide Friends: In the Frame

The ‘frame’ around the centrepiece is done.

Screen shot 2014-12-13 at 7.05.41 AMA mere 320 pieces. Many, many more to go, but further progress will have to wait a while. I have an order for GF lemon meringue pie to fill for a lunch party on Sunday, and I simply have to do some stitching on my SAL project, as the next show and tell is due on Sunday. I haven’t touched it for about 6 weeks….

Screen shot 2014-12-13 at 7.06.09 AMThe next stage on Worldwide Friends will be to appliqué this frame to the furoshiki, a process which is going to be exceptionally long-winded. I will probably have to work with it laid out flat to ensure there’s no wrinkling at all. But once that’s done, the central piece will be consolidated, a substantial 35 x 38″ block. From then on, I can assemble further smaller blocks of hexies and add them bit by bit to break the job down into manageable portions. I’ve seen hexie quilts assembled where the maker has made a long row the finished length of the quilt, and has then added another long row to that, and another, and another. That sounds like torture to me. I’m a great believer in keeping the seams as short as possible, because hauling a large piece of quilt around to stitch together all those angles without busting all the teeny little hand stitches is quite difficult.

The rain has stopped and the sun is out 😦 but more is forecast 🙂

13 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: In the Frame

  1. It really is going to be amazing – so much love and long distance friendship in one stunning piece of work.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m loving how involved people are getting, wanting to join in with fabric, or haiku, or just commenting. It makes the quilt more alive, not just a piece of fabric, but a true expression of friendship.

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    This reminds me of my Mum making a rug, about 50 years ago. She would cut the wool and then darn each twist into the base. It took forever to complete one row. Mind you, it lasted for years and years.
    Keep at it.

    • katechiconi says:

      Ma never made quilts, this quirk is all my own, but she was a demon knitter. I never knew you could buy pullovers in shops till I was about 10. She’d sit there in the evenings lashing away with the needles, and I’d eye the thing growing inch by inch. She’d been through the war in Holland and never wasted a thing, so quite often we’d wear the same thing twice, having helped to unravel and rewind the wool once it was worn out or too small!

  3. It’s looking great. A true labour or love.

  4. EllaDee says:

    For a non-quilter like me, the photos are great. I can see where it’s heading… amazing. Fingers crossed for your weather… ho hum down here 🙂

  5. Kirsten says:

    Hoping to dig out your fabric asap!

Leave a Reply

