Weather for ducks

True in both senses of the word.

Screen shot 2014-12-10 at 2.59.03 PMThis little flock has got into the habit of arriving beside my back door each morning, hoping for scraps of bread, oatmeal and apple peelings. They are rarely disappointed; I find them impossible to resist. They’re Plumed Whistling Ducks, an Australian native breed rarely seen south of northern NSW but everywhere in the tropics.  Unlike most, they’re quiet apart from the gentle whistling sound that gave them their name, and another call which alerts every duck in the neighbourhood that there’s food available.

Screen shot 2014-12-12 at 6.21.18 AM

Image courtesy of Accuweather.com

And now for the weather forecast. It’s going to be hot and dry all morning, hot and thundery this afternoon, and hot with strong storms tonight. I am glad the Husband is not on night shift right now, I shudder at the idea of 51,000 litres of diesel in a metal tanker being driven through a raging thunder storm with plenty of random lightning. If we get a big storm it’s highly likely we shall lose power. With the heat and humidity, I’m praying it’s not so, since it will make sleeping impossible without the air conditioning, especially with the windows closed up against the rain. Don’t get me wrong; I’m delighted we’re getting rain. But it’s hard to sleep in 27°C/80°F heat with all the windows closed and no aircon.

Poor Husband. If we get this rain, he’ll have to get out there on the mower and take care of the knee high grass which will ensue. It’ll be green overnight, and ankle height by the day after tomorrow. A slight exaggeration perhaps, but once it’s had a drink the garden will really take off.

I shall be spending most of my day sewing. I have a Stitch Along to get ready for on Sunday, and Worldwide Friends to progress. I had a good day of working on the house yesterday, putting up curtain rails, assembling furniture and getting the spare room ready to receive visitors in case we need it over Christmas, but I’m paying the price of climbing up and down step ladders today. The hip is telling me it’s time to rest up a little.

More tomorrow.

16 thoughts on “Weather for ducks

  1. You are a real go-er: nobody would know you’d had surgery so recently. Take it steady, and ration the climbing on ladders!

  2. EllaDee says:

    I bet those ducks were extremely happy when you moved into their locality, generous neighbour that you are. I hope they repay you by eating snails and bugs as well as your offerings.
    I hope you get rain, just enough, without the complications 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      They’re field grazers rather than aquatic feeders, and tend to eat grass and greens more than bugs and weeds, but I get enormous pleasure from watching the silly things. We’ve just had 3 hours of moderate rain, now easing off. Thunderstorms still on the cards for this evening and tonight, though. So far, complication free!

  3. I bet the ducks would have loved the big fat caterpillar!
    Take care of your hip!!

  4. tialys says:

    You must listen to your body! It’s not as if you are idle when sitting down so you won’t need to feel as if you aren’t getting things done. Good luck with whatever the weather throws at the Kingdom of Chiconia.

    • katechiconi says:

      You’re right. The hip was shouting at me quite loudly until I went for a nap at 2pm; I had a very bad night because I was in pain. Now it’s just muttering under its breath at me… First wave of thunderstorms has passed, another due tonight, hurray!

  5. pattisj says:

    Up and down ladders already? Do I have to come over there?!
    That is funny about birds, they do know how to alert all the others when the food appears. My husband thinks it’s the “scout” pigeon who hangs out on the roof.

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Ha – Your weather forecast looks similar to mine, until I realized your temps are C and mine are F !!! We have 32F and snow in the Northeast US. No humidity or lightning, tho!

  7. claire93 says:

    any chance of finding some duck eggs near by?

    • katechiconi says:

      I doubt it; they nest in wetlands, and the nearest we have to that is the mangroves down at the shoreline, and the lake at the golf course over the road! They have learned that food appears here, so I can expect to see them regularly, though.

  8. Emmely says:

    Those ducks are much prettier than the ones we have here!

    • katechiconi says:

      The same is true for so many Australian birds, I find. Perhaps it’s some kind of compensation for the harshness of the climate. We have birds in every shade of the rainbow, tiny ones in iridescent shades, huge ones in flamboyant bright colours. It’s one of my chief joys of living here!

Leave a Reply

