You’ve got mail!

The postlady brought me two exciting bits of mail yesterday.

Screen shot 2014-12-10 at 2.58.07 PM

Aren’t they gorgeous? That waterlily one is densely pleated, like Fortuny fabric. And accompanied by a lovely card she designed herself.

The first is a contribution to Worldwide Friends from the extremely kind Lynn at Tialys, some beautiful cottons in indigo and white and a piece of silk “which asked to go in the envelope with the rest”. Such lovely fabrics, and I shall definitely be able to use them, as well as the haiku she wrote for me to go on the back (see the comments on Worldwide Friends).

Screen shot 2014-12-10 at 1.37.24 PM

The smiling Miss Sheila

Screen shot 2014-12-10 at 1.37.47 PM

… and she certainly is BIG

The second exciting piece of mail is my “I love Sheila, my Big Fat Pig” T-shirt. These T-shirts are fund raisers, created by Cecilia at The Kitchens Garden to raise money to buy healthy feed for her heritage breed Hereford sow, the lovely Sheila, a porcine goddess of epic size, personality and charm. I am honoured to wear her photo on my chest…. If you get a chance, hop over and look at Celi’s blog, which is crammed with beautiful photography, recipes, wisdom and tales of life on a small farm. Sheila is only one of a whole array of wonderful furred, hooved and feathered beasts who live useful, contented and well-cared-for lives under Celi’s care.

I’m making good progress with assembling the frame and centrepiece for Worldwide Friends, but too many photos of the same thing is boring, so you’ll just have to wait a bit until the frame is finished and I’m ready to appliqué it down onto the rabbit furoshiki.

Right, back to the needle.

19 thoughts on “You’ve got mail!

  1. dayphoto says:

    I wonder if Shelia’s feelings are hurt when she reads that? NA!!! I think she just woofs out-loud and agrees!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/?s=The+Adventures+of+Fuzzy+and+Boomer&submit=Search
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  2. What lovely fabrics. I hope you’re not disappointed with mine, which should arrive soon. My piggy T-shirt arrived yesterday – what fun.

    • katechiconi says:

      I can’t see being disappointed with anything that’s so kindly sent. Perhaps a post with the Sheila Fan Club line-up, all wearing their T-shirts, just so the great lady can see how many people love her!

  3. pattisj says:

    Love your tee! Thanks for helping support our friend Sheila.

  4. I am very excited about the end result !

  5. EllaDee says:

    “Porcine goddess” – Sheila certainly is that. My Sheila t-shirt arrived too and I delight in wearing it as an introduction for our festive season houseguests to “Our Big Fat Pig” and The Farmy. I hope my calender arrives before I depart for holidays as I have a spot in the kitchen for it. I love getting mail and deliveries on my desk, one of the redeeming features of the silly season 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s funny how something nice in the mail is still such a treat. For convenience, you can’t beat an email, but for sheer pleasure a nice parcel with a foreign postmark or stamps is the business. Perhaps we should spearhead a Slow Mail movement, reintroducing the art of letter writing. I still have all the letters my future husband wrote me while we were, to use an old fashioned term, courting. They’re lovely. And he has beautiful handwriting.

  6. ordinarygood says:

    I love your Slow Mail movement idea. A real letter is such a treat. Those fabrics are gorgeous.

    • katechiconi says:

      Even a short note can be beautifully composed and appealing. Handwriting is a dying art, I’m afraid, but so long as it’s legible, I’m happy! I’m still working my way through all the fabrics I received earlier, it’s going to be ages before I get to the new ones. I’m thinking I should mix things up a bit more and scatter them around. Time to buy more hexie papers…

  7. Kirsten says:

    Such pretty fabrics! And that card is amazing.

  8. rutigt says:

    I´ve sent my fabrics to you now. Hope you will recieve them before Christmas 🙂 They have a long way to travel!
    Gun, Sweden

  9. tialys says:

    Oooh! I don’t know how I missed this post . What a lovely photo you’ve taken of the fabrics. You are very welcome to them – I know they are in capable and skillful hands 🙂

Leave a Reply

