Worldwide Friends: Fillin’ time

I’d intended to do a photographic post today.

Mackay is looking spectacularly gorgeous on this second day of summer, with all the flowering trees doing their stuff. But events conspired, jobs took twice their allocated time, and a visitor who should have been here 10 minutes stayed 45. So it will have to wait a few more days until the schedule permits.

Finally, I have some quiet time. The Husband is snoring gently in preparation for night shift, the solar panels are paying for the airconditioning to be on, and I don’t have to get to work in the kitchen for several hours yet.

Screen shot 2014-12-02 at 2.27.53 PMSo, obviously, I’m working on Worldwide Friends, and today I’m working on the fillers. You know what I mean, the hexies that sit between the flowers, giving the eye a rest from unrelieved dark indigo flowers. That’s not to say the fillers aren’t also indigo, they are, but they contain lighter areas to throw the flowers into contrast.Most of the ‘holes’ in the above layout are waiting for fillers. And I need loads of them.

Screen shot 2014-12-02 at 2.28.34 PM

Detail of the centrepiece, a delightful furoshiki or cloth gift wrap from Japan featuring gambolling hares. The lettering will be embroidered, the paper squares just show positioning.

I’ve put the cart well ahead of the horse with this project – the design wall is already in play. I have only about 10-15% of the hexie flowers I need, but I’ve been unable to resist starting a layout, instead of waiting till I had a respectable pile of flowers. Unlike other hexie projects I’ve worked on, this quilt has a centrepiece, and I need to ensure that the layout of the flowers works with the elements on the centrepiece, a lovely furoshiki brought back from Japan for me by Carla at Granny Maud’s Girl.  The layout shown here is only about 25″ (70cm) across. This is going to be a big quilt, and it’s clear I have a long way to go, but once the fiddly stuff in the middle is sorted out, I’ll just carry on adding chunks of hexie flowers.

To everyone who has already promised some indigo scraps: Thank you!  It adds so much to the interest and excitement of making this quilt to know that there will be little suprises arriving from time to time with bits of indigo fabric to add into the quilt.

Right, back to the needle and thread.

21 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: Fillin’ time

  1. I would love to send you some indigo too, I just have to wait for a week or two to go and get some.
    Esther

  2. tialys says:

    A few bits on their way, although I didn’t have much when I actually went scrap diving. Hopefully they will help fill in a couple of gaps and immortalize me in indigo 🙂
    I love those leaping hares (rabbits?) This is going to be one spectacular quilt.

    • katechiconi says:

      Often the best part, I find. Luckily I have the technical skills to realise my ideas this time; too often I think of something I want to do, only to realise that it would require endless foundation piecing or masses of needleturn applique. Hexies I can do with my eyes closed!

  3. This makes me think of the way my mind works – full of ideas and always jumping ahead of myself…love it!

    • katechiconi says:

      Great for inspiration, not so great as a process for finishing a project, eh? I’ve managed to turn out 50 filler hexies today, so I’m feeling a sense of accomplishment. I do love how hexies just eat up scraps and turn them into something lovely.

  4. Kirsten says:

    It’s not too late to join in the indigo donation is it? I tried to reply to the original post but for some reason it just wouldn’t let me! I am sure I have some indigo in my box that could be put to good use.

    • katechiconi says:

      Not too late at all. We’d love to have you join us! So far there are nine other participants who’ll be seeing their names added to the quilt, and if I carry on cranking out the hexies at the current rate, this quilt will not take me the same 11 months that the last big one did. Mind you, that included hand quilting too. This one will also be hand quilted but perhaps not quite so intensively.

  5. I hope to be able to post my contribution tomorrow….

  6. Nanette says:

    ………………and I have the Rajasthani piece to hand, and also unearthed a couple of Japanese pieces, they’re all in the same place now and will have to wait patiently until I head out to the post office. Hexies are looking good so far kate.

  7. Annett says:

    This is going to be a wonderful quilt!

    • katechiconi says:

      I think so too. It will be a better quilt than I originally planned because it will contain all sorts of different fabrics, ones I might not have chosen for myself, but which represent choices from friends all over the world. And because I’m getting so many fabric gifts, it will also be quite a large quilt! I haven’t even thought about the quilting part – it will have to be hand quilting so the whole thing is hand made.

  8. wombatquilts says:

    I started pulling fabric today…in my jetlagged haze. Will try and get them in the post asap.

    • katechiconi says:

      Take your time! I have such a long way to go still, I can wait till you’re adjusted and back up to speed. Are you glad to be home and sleeping in your own bed at last? When I got home, I slept so well after 2 weeks of the wrong bed.

      • wombatquilts says:

        Sleeping in my own bed is wonderful…when I actually get sleep that is. You would by now I would be use to the jet lag by now…
        Oh and the storm was spectacular to watch. Hot warm rain is high in my list of “things I miss about Australia”.

Leave a Reply

