Indigo renamed

This quilt seems to have caught the imagination of a lot of people.

Screen shot 2014-11-30 at 7.04.19 PMThere’s a sort of universal appeal about indigo. I don’t know what it is: the richness and depth of the colour, the fact that it’s a natural dye, or the length of tradition behind its use. Whatever the reason, indigo is used all over the world, it seems.

So far, I have fabrics from Bali, Japan, England and Indonesia. I have been offered some from Rajasthan in India, and some African indigo prints, possibly Adire from Nigeria. They’re all very different, but somehow, they just work together.

Because the first fabric gift came from Japan, I’m renaming this quilt with a Japanese name. This is what it looks like:

Screen shot 2014-11-30 at 4.19.45 PM

It means Worldwide Friends.

I’m going to embroider the name in the Japanese font shown onto the quilt, and also the name of the givers onto the fabrics which were gifts, as a commemoration of the worldwide circle of friendship that is quilting.

If you’d like to join in and offer some indigo scraps, email me (see the Contact Me page on this blog), and I’ll send you my mailing address. All that is needed is a piece of cotton fabric 2½” square, which is enough for me to make one hexie, or one petal of a hexie flower. Your name will be added to the others on the quilt. The embroidery’s going to be in red or white, so this could end up quite a colourful effort! It doesn’t matter if there’s also a lot of white in your fabric, or the overall effect is a bit pale, because that is also part of the design plan. If you have no indigo, but would still like to join in, then a piece of a deep red would also work.

When the quilt is finished, I’ll do a post which gives links to the blogs of everyone who participated, if you would like people to visit. If not, let me know and I won’t add the link.

So, what do you think? Would you like to join in?

23 thoughts on “Indigo renamed

  1. I would love to help, but have no true indigo in my stash. Have you tried asking on BQL (The British Quilt List)? I’ve never had a question go unanswered or a request unfulfilled. You can find them at: https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/BQL/info

  2. by indigo do you mean the dark blue of the fabric you are showing above ? and have you any idea what 2 and a half is in cm ? can you let me know ? I’d love to sent you some !

  3. Great idea… I will visit my stash…

  4. Great idea. But I’ll just have to watch from the peanut gallery – not being a quilter and all ! 🙂

  5. I am in already, right? 🙂

  6. tialys says:

    I have a friend who deals in Japanese fabrics which I have used for projects in the past and I am sure I kept some lovely indigos in my stash. I think you have my email so just let me have your address and I’ll send you what I can find. What a great idea!

  7. What a very wonderful idea 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m going to enjoy using the quilt so much knowing that friends everywhere have put something into it, not just the quilters. The idea has really taken hold of me, and I’ve started assembling it on my design wall long, long before I have anywhere near enough hexies! Now I have to stitch fast so my hands catch up with my imagination….

  8. rutigt says:

    Of course I´m in 🙂 Just heading down to my sewingroom to check the blue fabric pile. There must be an indigo coloured piece somewhere!
    Gun, Sweden

    • katechiconi says:

      If not indigo, then a warm dark red, to make the heart of a hexie flower. Oh, Gun, it will be lovely to have a little piece of something from you in it! If you find something, send me an email, and I’ll reply with my mailing address. This project is getting so exciting!

  9. […] obviously, I’m working on Worldwide Friends, and today I’m working on the fillers. You know what I mean, the hexies that sit between the […]

Leave a Reply

