Close encounter with a Wombat

No, not the endearing but ponderous Australian animal.

The Wombat I mean is a talented and lightning-fast stitcher of wonderful quilts, and she blogs under the name Wombat Quilts. True, she’s Australian originally. Or still, if you listen to the accent. But now she lives on the far side of the world in Portland, Oregon with the lovely Mr Wombat. And wonder of wonders, she’s in Brisbane on a visit to her family at the same time as I’m passing through on my way home from hospital. A visit had to be arranged. I admire her work enormously. Her paper piecing is legendary and her blog features a whole library of free paper pieced block patterns, in case anyone wants to investigate. Most of the quilts she makes are given away for charity, to Project Linus among others.

Screen shot 2014-11-27 at 6.26.02 PM

On the right, the talented Wombat, aka Cath Hall, in front of the quilt she made for her mother; and me in front of my quilt Amistad. Clearly, big glasses are compulsory quilter wear….

Screen shot 2014-11-27 at 6.28.09 PM

Left: Mr Wombat and right: the Husband of Chiconia, admiring the finer points of my hand quilting on Amistad…

We spent two and a half hours talking hard about quilting, fabrics, blogging, more quilting, travel, family, quilting and a bit of catching up about what’s going on in our lives. It was a wonderful morning. Bickies were eaten, coffee was drunk, photos were taken, quilts were admired, and Mr Wombat and the Husband of Chiconia found common ground in their experiences of living with mad quilters.

Screen shot 2014-11-27 at 5.58.21 AM We’re both makers of EPP hexagons, too. Among many other projects, she’s working on a hexie quilt for Mr Wombat and occasionally we see a blog about its progress. So I thought, what better small memento of our encounter could I offer than a few hexie flowers to add to the mix, from a scrap collection which is completely different from hers, on the other side of the globe? And I simply couldn’t resist passing on my copy of Jackie French’s wonderful and award-winning children’s book Diary of a Wombat, with a suitable inscription.

Screen shot 2014-11-27 at 5.58.47 AM

Screen shot 2014-11-27 at 6.29.00 PM

No guesses where those indigo prints are going to end up…

She’d brought me a gift too, a pack of beautiful 5″ squares of batiks in wonderful shades, including some perfect indigoes…. I love how blogging brings together people with common interests who would never otherwise meet or know about each other. Meeting a quilter I hold in such respect has been a highlight of my creative year. We have tentative plans for joint quilting projects and fabric swaps, and firm plans to Skype frequently to stay in touch long term.

Go and take a look at her wonderful blog. 

29 thoughts on “Close encounter with a Wombat

  1. tialys says:

    I will definitely take a look.
    What a brilliant meeting to give you a lift after your recent trials and tribulations which, I must say, are not at all evident in your appearance as you look absolutely radiant in that photo.

  2. I’m glad you had such a happy visit – you deserve it!

    You’ve got me at EPP now: I’ve just made a pentagon ball for a Christmas present for the baby I recently made a quilt for When I’ve sewn up the last gap I’ll take a pic for my blog. It’s donkey’s years since I last did hexies and I enjoyed it.

  3. What a lovely post. And how happy and healthy you look – must be all that quilty love 🙂

  4. Fantastic… what a lovely connection to have made. And glad too see you looking well.

  5. Two of my favourite bloggers in the same room! How I wish I were there! (I love that book too. We should all sleep more, eat carrots and be wary of doormats!)

  6. How wonderful for you both! I’ve met a few fellow bloggers too and it’s a wonderful experience. PS. I’ve got similar specs too so it bodes well for me 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d think it was a guarantee of success! Now, all you have to do is arrange to be in Australia next time she comes over, and we can start our own biennial convention! Husbands are welcome, particularly if they bring biscuits.

  7. claire93 says:

    it’s always great to meet up with other crafters – and so glad the husbands found things to chat about ^^
    almost back on-line. House signing tomorrow, moving on Monday – can’t wait

  8. rutigt says:

    Thanks for the link!!! I liked what I saw, when I visit her blog 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

  9. What a lovely meet up – you two look so radiant together. Yay for quilty friends and great gifts of time, friendship… and fabric! 🙂

  10. What a great way to spend a day 🙂 Im a big fan of Wombat Quilts, perfect pick me up on your recovery 🙂

  11. EllaDee says:

    It’s so good the upside of your medical trip was a stay at Dorrigo and blogger catch ups. And I agree you look well, you both do 🙂 Wombat Quilts blog site even to a non-quilter like me, is a wonderful browse of colours and beautiful creative work.

  12. knettycraft says:

    What a great and happy possibility to meet each other…. short time afterI started my blog 6 month ago I discovered the wombatquiltsblog and love what Cath is showing there – especially I love her absolutely congenious colour-feeling! Your blog I discovered a lot later and now I visit it every week loving the inspiration you give me and your personal view you are sharing here. Kind regards out of grey, cold & rainy German November & thanks for your warming blog. Annett

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m so happy you’re enjoying your visits to Chiconia. It means a great deal to hear someone say they like and enjoy what I write. The visit with Cath was such fun I had to share it with readers who either already follow her, or who might be interested to start. With best wishes from hot and dry Chiconia!

  13. Kirsten says:

    Obviously this is where I am going wrong, I need bigger glasses!

Leave a Reply

