Stitch Along: sitting this one out

I’m not joining all the other industrious stitchers this month.

Screen shot 2014-11-23 at 10.05.54 PM

Not the kind of needle I had in mind, nurse…

I’m just out of hospital, stiff and sore, easily tired and a very long way from home. I have my hexie travel sewing kit with me, but I didn’t pack my SAL project to work on; there’s no hurry, I have all the time in the world to finish it, and no need to push myself beyond what I’m able to do right now.

I’ll finally be home on Friday this week, and will be back online very soon after. I’ll be raring to go again in next month’s SAL.  The current project should be finished by then, and I’m beginning already to think about what to work on next.

Meanwhile, please do hop over and see what the others are working on, there’s lots to see:

Avis at http://sewingbesidethesea.wordpress.com

Claire at http://claire93.wordpress.com

Gun at http://rutigt.wordpress.com

Carole at http://aslightobsessionwithbooks.wordpress.com

Eleanor at http://sunandcake.wordpress.com 

Alison at http://minervahandmade.wordpress.com

Jule at http://fromtheboudoir.wordpress.com

Elizabeth at http://stitch4therapy.wordpress.com

Wendy at http://thecraftersapprentice.blogspot.co.uk

29 thoughts on “Stitch Along: sitting this one out

  1. I have been thinking of you a lot over the past few days and hoping that all went well. I also hope that the trip back is not too arduous… take it easy! My love to you and husband of Chiconia x

    • katechiconi says:

      It did go well, although parts of my person are trying to convince me otherwise! The final outcome will be in about 6 months, and I think I’m going to be very happy with the result. I still have to see the orthopod when I get back, and that’s a whole new ballgame, but it’s going to be such a joy to be home at last!

  2. Wishing you all the best for a quick and positive recovery. Don’t try to run before you can walk! I have lots of friends who’ve been through this, and the ones who obeyed the orthopod, followed up the physio exercises etc have had the most successful outcomes.
    Love,
    ViV

    • katechiconi says:

      I promise to be an obedient and patient patient. The walking stick is pretty much permanently at my side these days, and days of enforced idleness both in hospital and convalescing at my sister’s have improved pain levels considerably. I just have to exercise my patience for another 10 days until I get the prognosis on my hip: steroid shots, arthroscopy or a full hip replacement. Meanwhile, it’s very enjoyable to keep my hands busy and watch the indigo project grow!

  3. I’m glad to hear from you again ! Hospital stays are never fun, personally I hate it ! but ofcourse we sometimes need it to get better. I really hope you’ll get better soon !! so your life can get ack to normal !

  4. One step at a time. Take it easy. Hugs from the other side of the world 🙂 Avis x

  5. Carole says:

    Hope you’re feeling better soon 🙂

  6. EllaDee says:

    At least the weather is supposed to be cooling off during the week, better for traveling. Enjoy as much as you can your visit, and safe journey north.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s been soooo hot up here – for Dorrigo, anyway. Lots of big black clouds passing, none of them dropping anything :-(. Lovely to be here for the Show, even if I wasn’t up to spending much time there, but I’m glad to be heading home.

  7. Gail says:

    Lovely to hear your blogging voice. I’ve been thinking about you and sending you healing vibes. Hope your post-op recovery continues well.

    • katechiconi says:

      All the good thoughts must be working! I’m doing amazingly well for such a short time. I would have posted sooner, but forgot to bring the download cable for my camera, and I just can’t post without images! The Husband will be bringing mine when he arrives this evening, and I have two posts ready and waiting to go!

  8. ordinarygood says:

    Wow great news from you! I had been sending you healing vibes. Measuring both your steps and stitching at this point in time is very wise. Two posts in the wings is totally impressive!!! A treat for us all soon:-)

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve had very little to do over the past few days apart from think, write, stitch and get well. I thought I’d use the time to get ahead with writing about the things around me and what I’m doing. Clearly all the positive thoughts, prayers and healing vibes from every side have been doing their job, as all agree I’m getting better at a very rapid rate!

  9. Good to hear that you are on the mend, if somewhat stiff and sore. I’ve never had surgery, so the idea frightens the whoopsies out of me. I hope all is well. Hugs!

    • katechiconi says:

      Since I was fast asleep, the surgery wasn’t at all scary. The boredom of waiting around and thirst because you can’t drink are the worst bits. Also a bit zonked from residual anaesthetic, but really, not much to complain about. I’ve spent my time fruitfully while I was offline. Brace yourself for an onslaught of posts!

  10. tialys says:

    I’ve been away with limited access for a week or so but I have been thinking about you. I’m so pleased your hospital stay went well and it sounds as if you are improving every day.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m improving by leaps and bounds, and would be even better if it wasn’t so hot here; it makes stitches a bit uncomfortable. Never mind, we’re on our way home the day after tomorrow, and all is well now that the Husband is here….

  11. wendy says:

    I hope you feel better soon

  12. Take good care of yourself – have been thinking about you as am just starting the hand quilting (eeek…not so good 😦 ). Sounds like you are doing all the right things.

  13. pattisj says:

    Glad to hear you’ll be back home soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

