Indigo a go go

OK, on Monday, I jump on a plane and go 1200kms to get surgery.

I have a half day journey, lots of hanging around airports, hanging around the surgeon’s office, hanging around the patient accommodation the night before, hanging around waiting to go down to theatre. And as I’ve recently demonstrated to myself, keeping my hands busy is a great antidote to stress, worry, impatience and boredom. So I’ve brought forward a project I’ve been planning for a while. It should have been Steampunk, but there are too many tiny pieces to lose, and I need a table to lay things out on so I can keep track of where I am. Not a good travel project…

Screen shot 2014-11-13 at 10.56.30 PM

The hexies I’ve made so far from the fabrics in my scrap collection, and the new uncut ones on the left.

Screen shot 2014-11-13 at 10.56.56 PM

Furoshiki with carp

Screen shot 2014-11-13 at 10.57.16 PM

Furoshiki with gambolling hares and the moon

I adore indigo, that most intense and lavishly blue of dyes. I especially love batiks and Japanese fabrics, and have been accumulating them here and there over the past few years. And recently, the lovely and generous Carla of Granny Maud’s Girl brought me back some fabrics and two furoshiki from Japan. The furoshiki are traditional gift-wrapping cloths, and one of them will feature somewhere on the indigo quilt which is brewing in the back of my mind.

Now it’s time to take the rotary cutter to my fabrics. And it’s going to be an EPP hexie project because that’s portable, because I can crank them out at speed, and because I love the combination of indigo and red, so it’s indigo flowers with red hearts. I have no idea what it’s going to be, or how big, or how long it will take, but it’s going to keep my hands busy and my mind and heart peaceful before, during and after my hospital stay.

And best of, I can carry it around in my new travel sewing kit!

25 thoughts on “Indigo a go go

  1. these are lovely fabrics but are you going to make a quilt in hospital ???? I hope the surgery went well

    • katechiconi says:

      The surgery is not very serious, and it happens on Thursday next week. Between Monday and Thursday, I’ll need something to do, and also in the days after, before the Husband comes to collect me and drive me home. I don’t think I’ll manage to make a whole quilt, but I’m hoping to report some progress when I get back!

  2. I’m sure whatever it turns out to be it will look wonderful with those gorgeous colours.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s the most wonderful shade, isn’t it. I’m actually wondering if I need a pop of white here and there, but there’s plenty of time to work that out once I have a good quantity of hexie flowers…

  3. A wonderful colour combination. You’ve given me an idea for some fabrics I wondered what to do with. Thank you.

    Good luck at the hospital. And as well as sewing, take a good book, or Kindle. With long experience of hospitals and waiting, a variety of activities helps pass the time. I’ve done loads of crochet, and quilting, but when I don’t feel up to doing much, a book is the winner for me.

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, the Kindle is definitely coming too, as well as my camera and laptop. I won’t be in hospital the whole time but recuperating with family down there, so I’ll have time and peace to get better before making the long trip home.

  4. All the best to you for the hospital session, I was inspired by you the other day and took some sewing with me while Big Man had a treatment session. Gorgeous fabrics 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      My very favourite fabrics… I hope all is well at your end. Sewing is a good way to pass the time. It gives you something to do, you achieve a result, but it’s not so complicated that you can’t concentrate on it. Unless of course you decide to do some fiendishly difficult embroidery….

  5. ordinarygood says:

    The very best of wishes for your journey and surgery. I love your preparations and colour choices.

  6. I can see how Steampunk does not work well as a portable project. Have fun with indigo!
    I hope all goes well on Monday.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ll have a little piece of your trip to Japan in there, and Nanette has just promised me some indigo from her trip to Rajasthan – it’s going to be a well travelled quilt. Monday will be fine, just the flight and seeing the surgeon. The actual surgery’s Thursday. I’ll probably be posting right up to the night before, knowing me….

  7. EllaDee says:

    Indigo, blues attract me as well although I don’t have a collection of Japanese fabric as well my old boss brought me back 2 beautiful Japanese scarves (one with fish likes yours on a gold back ground, the other black with a subtle pattern that I had made into floor cushions (Eurpoean pillow size filled with bean bag beans) with silver backing. They are at TA now but I use them for meditation, and laying in front of the fire. You sound like you are organised and ready to go 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Well, the suitcase is out, and occasionally I walk past it and throw something in… But I expect most of it’ll get sorted on Sunday night. One thing that is packed is the sewing kit!

  8. rutigt says:

    You can always start on a La Passion quilt 🙂 Then you´ll have something to sew on your next journey and the next and the next…….
    Gun, Sweden

    • katechiconi says:

      I have one, it’s called Steampunk, but it’s too complicated and the bits are too small for a travel project – I’d lose parts and forget where I was, and, well, simple hexies are easier.

  9. pattisj says:

    Smart girl to plan ahead to have something to work on during all that waiting. Praying for safe travels and speedy recovery. I hope that MRI doesn’t zap all your personal magnetism! Godspeed.

  10. Kirsten says:

    How cute is that fabric with the gambolling hares!! Hope you travels and subsequent survey goes okay.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s lovely, isn’t it! For the rest, things are a bit topsy turvy right now. I’ve had to arrange to have an emergency MRI tomorrow instead of when I get back. Thursday’s surgery is going to put a bit of magnetic metal into me temporarily, and I can’t go through an MRI scanner with one of those inside. I also can’t do without the MRI, so there was a bit of a mad scramble to get one sorted out.

  11. […] taken almost exactly seven months (a few days under – I started it on 10th November last year). It began as a piece of busy-work to keep my hands occupied and my mind peaceful when I went into […]

Leave a Reply

