Languid Lounging, part 2

I got stuck into this one straight away.

Screen shot 2014-11-09 at 10.43.03 PM

Using my favourite trick for sewing the HSTs takes all the guesswork and margin for error out of the process.

It’s going to be some squares, some half square triangles, finished block size 4″, 4 rows of 4 to give a 16″ square pillow. Mainly because that’s the size of pillow insert I’ve got… But I prefer a small, plump pillow to a big one. The larger ones are either too well stuffed and rather firm, or under stuffed and too floppy. I’m going to be spending a bit of quality time on the sofa, and I want it comfy…

Screen shot 2014-11-09 at 10.43.31 PM

Lining up the pattern was a total accident, for which I claim no credit!

I’ve had this fabric selection for some time; I love the combination of black, white, grey and acid lime, and I have remnants of the olive/lime shot cotton I used for the back of Broken Bottles for the backs of these pillows. I’m going to do a very simple back, no fancy hidden zippers or envelope backs. A zipper straight across the centre back, with a placket to cover the teeth. The only fancy bit is that the zipper is grey to match the front fabrics, instead of the olive/lime fabric. A bit silly, perhaps, considering it’s going to be hidden, but I like hidden details.

I’m going to quilt the fronts, which will help to give the pillow body. I think there’s going to be enough fabric for 3 or 4 of them, so each pillow is going to have a different front layout and quilting design.  They’re small, so I can get fancy on that bit. Machine quilting, though, I want to be using them very soon!

Any useful scraps will probably get turned into a set of matching mug coasters. Big bits will get returned to the stash. Did I say before how much I love these fabrics – especially the grey spot and the lime HST design?

It’s such a luxury having a cutting table that’s just for cutting…. No clearing away all the time.

15 thoughts on “Languid Lounging, part 2

  1. Kim says:

    Very, very pretty! And you’re right on trend as grey is the color of the year, it seems.

  2. Nanster says:

    I love the colors !! Can’t wait to see them all together , no pressure ..

  3. You haven’t wasted a moment!

    • katechiconi says:

      Desperately in need of distraction, so sewing like a fiend! I had to stop earlier as the Husband had to get his head down for pre-night shift sleep, and I immediately picked up my hexie kit. I may as well have something to show for all the waiting and tension…

  4. Nanette says:

    bet you’re finished one by now?? I can’t start any yet as I have a couple of things to finish by Thursday, so I can take them when I meet a friend at Bruns……….but the planning is happening in my head as I do a mental checklist of what fabrics I have. I’ll join the Cush-along as soon as my “must-dos” are done. Hope we see pics tomorrow of a finished Cush.

    • katechiconi says:

      Um, almost, I have to admit…! I think a Cushalong is a great idea, and I’m going to see if I can get any other participants when I post the finished Cush in the morning… Must come up with a fun name for it.

  5. tialys says:

    I’m glad you’ve found another use for that beautiful shot cotton you had – it will look beautiful on the back of those cushions, especially with the snazzy grey zip!

  6. rutigt says:

    I like your fabrics, they are great!!! Grey and lime looks so good together.
    Gun, Sweden

  7. Kirsten says:

    Lovely colours – I love grey and lime / lemon

    • katechiconi says:

      Grey Goose Vodka with a slice of lime and some ice…. Good grief, anyone would think I was a drinker! But it’s such a fresh and clean look, and grey’s my favourite neutral.

  8. EllaDee says:

    That combination is very clever, so much more interesting than my imagination did with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

