Languid Lounging, part 1

Yes, OK, I don’t do languid much, being a person more on my feet than off them, on the whole.

But I like alliteration, and my sofa, or lounge, is the subject of this post. It’s 10 years old. It’s seen a lot of life and a lot of change. It’s held up nicely, and the cushions come up beautifully every time I wash them. Thank you, Ikea.  But the pillows that came with this lovely thing are now, well, tragic is too strong, but they’re sad, floppy, shapeless and incapable of doing a job of supporting one’s back. Which is the point of pillows, isn’t it?

Screen shot 2014-11-09 at 1.51.18 PM

They look like those Shar Pei dogs with the big wrinkles all over their faces

Screen shot 2014-11-09 at 1.51.50 PMI’m currently groping around for distracting activities. Sewing is high on the list as it doesn’t involve much hobbling on my painful hip. And I’m fed up with those flabby pillows. So it’s time to act!

I have everything I need: fabrics, batting, lining, backing, zips.  Away we go.

23 thoughts on “Languid Lounging, part 1

  1. EllaDee says:

    I love the colours and patterns of the fabric, wonderful with the neutral lounge fabric. Our lounge has lots of pillows and cushions of all sizes, they didn’t come with it, I’ve added them for the comfort of our backs which have seen better days. You’ll have a bespoke Ikea lounge to come home to after your travels 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Nothing like new cushions to give you good support. I’m going to need the lounge for a day or so after I get back, and then I’ll be back up and at ’em, whatever the outcome of the next few days. I’m just madly in love with those greys….

  2. tialys says:

    This is something I need to do. Our sofa is coming up for 10 years old soon and came with base cushions and lots of smaller ones which all match. The actual sofa itself is dark brown leather. After two adults and two kids/then teens and various dogs and cats languidly lounging on it some of the little cushions have split and a couple of the base cushions have lost the strap underneath which hold them onto the base of the sofa. If it were just the small cushions, I would make new covers but those big base cushions, with the piping all round, are quite a big project and I keep putting it off. Can I see that you have base cushions on your sofa too? Will you be doing those also or just the little ones? I love your choice of fabrics.

    • katechiconi says:

      I do have big base cushions, but the sofa has spent most of its life free of the wear and tear inflicted by family life, and they’re in pretty good nick. They don’t have piping, just flat topstitched seams, so replicating them wouldn’t be too hard in any case. There’s no rule to say you have to have piping, so if you left it off, the job might seem more approachable…

  3. Love the fabrics and the olive green will give it all a bit of zing. Cushion covers are probably my favourite small project: they make great gifts. I can’t have loads of cushions – Juck just throws them on the floor – but I like one firmish supportive cushion on my chair and a couple on the sofa..

    How are you going to firm up your cushions? add more stuffing? or make the cover smaller than the old one?

    Good luck with the hip. We have a great rehab centre near here where orthopaedic patients are sent for physio, thalassa and what the French call re-education. A passionate gardener friend has been a resident there several times due to various ops, and last time she told us “I’m fed up with just looking out at the sea (spectacular views to every room). I want to look at flowers.”

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m going to use the original stuffing, make the cushions slightly smaller, and thickly pad the cover with batting to make the quilting pop. Hopefully that’ll do the trick. Mostly I sit in a chair with my feet up on an ottoman, but I do like the occasional hogging of the sofa when the Husband isn’t around, so a few plump cushions are nice…

  4. I’ve recovered a couple of sofas and chairs over the years. Really enjoyed doing it and once it’s doen you feel like you have a whole new sofa! Good luck with the project 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I think a couple of fresh new cushions will do the trick. The rest of it is actually pretty good; I’ve lived a pet, child and till a couple of years ago, husband free life and it’s not showing much wear! At some future date I might replace the wadding on top of the foam on the seat cushions, as it’s getting a bit thin, but there’s no hurry…

  5. what have you done with your hip ? hope you get well soon ! but it does give you a good excuse to do some sewing ofcourse ! 😀 those are lovely fabriques you showed in these pictures !

    • katechiconi says:

      Not sure what’s wrong with my hip, I’m waiting for results from the bone scan I had on Friday, and for an MRI appointment to look at what the bone scan doesn’t show. It’s painful, it’s been going on for a while, and I’m getting tired of walking with a stick! I’m glad you like the fabrics, they should make nice cushions!

      • maybe one of your leggs is a bit shorter than the other, a few millimeter are enough to get pain and then you simply have to make one shoe a bit higher inside or outside, I used to be a podologe and some of my clients had this problem, when you need a new hip you don’t have pain in your hip but in your legg, good luck !

  6. Kim says:

    Great project to keep you busy and have some new cushions while you are a little hobbled and waiting for results. Sending good thoughts your way. Our couches have back cushions that are attached, what a mistake. Those back cushions are getting sad looking and every once in a while, I feel the urge to cut them off and make slipcovers and loose cushions. Haven’t done it yet tho.

  7. Nanette says:

    A great project while you’re lounging Kate, love the colours you’ve chosen, and thanks for filling Viv in on the ‘how to’, I was wondering the same thing. I’m getting ready to make new small cushion covers, light and bright for summer, and get rid of the dark and wintery ones. We shall be having a “cushion-along” 🙂 I hope there’s news today. xx

  8. Carole says:

    I love homemade cushions. Easy to make and a feeling of satisfaction every time you sit down 🙂
    Love the fabric colours you’re going to use!

    • katechiconi says:

      The other great thing (although I hope this doesn’t happen for a while) is that when you’re fed up with them, you don’t feel as bad about getting rid of them as ones you’ve paid lots of money for!

  9. I think you are going to have new sofa cushions before I do… although today I did commission the buttons to be made for mine.

  10. Kirsten says:

    New house – new make-over!

Leave a Reply

