Stitch Along 7

In the home stretch now…

Screen shot 2014-10-12 at 7.52.13 PM

Before

Screen shot 2014-10-29 at 5.34.38 PM

After.

Just the bottom right corner to fill with black. I’m debating whether to fill all the white areas with stitching or just to leave the white Aida fabric showing. What do you think?

I was hoping to show you this project completed and the start of a new one at the next SAL post on 23 November, but there’s been a slight change of plan. I will be either just out of hospital, or on the point of being discharged. It’s all good, it’s something I’ve been waiting 2 years for, but it will get in the way of posting, so unless I finish earlier and can prepare the post before 17 November, I won’t be joining my other colleagues below.

Do hop over and see what the other ladies are working on:

Avis at http://sewingbesidethesea.wordpress.com

Claire at http://claire93.wordpress.com

Gun at http://rutigt.wordpress.com

Carole at http://aslightobsessionwithbooks.wordpress.com

Eleanor at http://sunandcake.wordpress.com 

Alison at http://minervahandmade.wordpress.com

Jule at http://fromtheboudoir.wordpress.com

Elizabeth at http://stitch4therapy.wordpress.com

Wendy at http://thecraftersapprentice.blogspot.co.uk

29 thoughts on “Stitch Along 7

  1. What a lovely idea blogging together as stitchers. We used to gather in my home to quilt, embroider, knit or crochet, and it was so companionable.Now many of the stitchers have moved away. My husband embroiders portraits, but not in cross stitch – he uses only long and short stitch, achievig some magical likenesses.

    I hope you have a trouble-free time in hospital.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve had a look at some of your husband’s work, and he’s extremely talented! Thank you for your good wishes, it should be a straightforward procedure, but one I’ve been waiting 2 years for!

  2. Kim says:

    Good luck in hospital. Your project is really looking good. I don’t know about filling in. If you leave them without stitching, there will be a nice bit of texture there, but if you fill it in, it will be very white. That is a conundrum. Try a few stitches and see what you think? How are the teeny tiny frogs fairing in their new fountain area?

    • katechiconi says:

      If I do fill in, it’ll be in a warm off white, as I don’t want a glaring white finish. Being on the lazy side, however, I’m veering towards no fill! The froglets are happy and appear to be multiplying. We’re expecting rain in the next few days, and the noise those tiny creatures make to announce the weather has to be heard to be believed!

  3. claire93 says:

    I agree with Kim, that it’ll give a nice texture if you leave the white unstitched.
    Good luck with hospital

  4. So glad that you’ve finally got a date for your hospital visit. Fingers crossed it all goes well.

  5. Kirsten says:

    I would fill it in, just because I think it would look more finished.

    Hope all goes well at the hopstical . . .

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve had a look at a fellow SAL’s work, who’s filling in white on her birds. It looks very dense, and I think I prefer seeing the fabric on this one. If I do end up filling in, I’d use very pale grey or off white.

  6. minerva says:

    Looking good! I think I’d leave it too so that it adds a different texture….
    Alison

  7. I’d leave the white unstitched to add depth to the design but whatever you decide to do will be brilliant! I hope you are well after your hospital visit 🙂

  8. tialys says:

    I’m not an expert on this craft like some of your other readers so I can’t tell whether it would look better filled in or not – it looks amazing to me already!
    How long will you be in the hospital for? Some enforced rest after your recent flurry of activity might recharge your batteries. Can you smuggle in some of your lovely cakes or must you eat hospital food?

  9. Carole says:

    You’ve got loads done since the last update and it’s looking great. I love it when you get to the stage of being almost finished so the end is in sight.
    I’d leave the white unstitched, just because I see no need to make extra work 😛

    Hope all goes well for you in the hospital 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Well, with very few exceptions you’re all facilitating my laziness – thank you so much! Just lots and lots of black stitching to go and he’s done. Maybe it’s something to do with my hands in hospital – another excuse to put off working on it!

  10. EllaDee says:

    I like it the way it is 🙂 All the best for the op and trip.

  11. wendy says:

    wow, it’s really coming along quickly, looking fantastic! Good luck for your hospital visit.

  12. rutigt says:

    I think I´d fill in the white! It´ll makes the picture more whole, if you see what I mean 🙂 Extra work, yes, but I think it´s worth it! Good luck at the hospital!!
    Gun, Sweden

  13. Hospital!? I hope it is as good as the one I have been in and out of the last fortnight with my dad. Stay well.
    I am not sure about the border. To stitch or not to stitch – that is the question!

Leave a Reply

