AHQ: formation quilting

The quilting is finished.  

Screen shot 2014-11-01 at 4.56.53 PM Screen shot 2014-11-01 at 4.57.05 PM Screen shot 2014-11-01 at 4.57.46 PM Screen shot 2014-11-01 at 4.57.32 PMI decided not to just keep on making concentric squares – the quilting isn’t quite flying geese, but there is a sort of flight-y, arrow-y direction to it, which is appropriate: its intended recipient is a Leading Aircraftwoman.

Over the next few days, I’ll deal with all the loose threads, trim it out and attach the binding and label. And then it’s good to go, together with a number of goodies to fill out the mailing box and give her something else to smile about!

I’ve located the box containing Steampunk, so I’ll be cracking on with lots of hand sewn pieces for that over the next few weeks. It’s been ages since I’ve been able to do any work on it, so I’m looking forward to getting out all those fabulous reds, golds, rusts and bronzes for the next wheel…

Trouble is, I’ve also located lots of other project boxes too!

14 thoughts on “AHQ: formation quilting

  1. claire93 says:

    oooh I love all those turquoises, oranges, greens, reds . . .

  2. she’s going to be overjoyed !

  3. Kirsten says:

    I’d forgotten all about Steampunk! Looking forward to seeing it again.

  4. Great work!
    Oh dear. Are the UFOs coming out of the moving mayhem woodwork?

  5. Do you use batting in your quilts and how do you actually quilt them? I’ve been reading about machine quilting, long arm quilting, hand quilting – my mind is buzzing with ideas!

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I use batting, 100% natural cotton, usually, although I have used bamboo. A word of caution: avoid bamboo if your quilt is dark in colour as it ‘moults’ and leaves white fibres everywhere. I quilt either by machine on my Janome sewing machine, using a walking foot (that’s what I did the AHQ quilt with), or I quilt by hand (see my Amistad quilt). I love machine quilting for the speed, but hand quilting for the softness and ability to do any design – my free motion machine quilting is hopeless! Let me know if you have any other questions, I’m always happy to help. You can find my email address on the Contact Me page if you want to rabbit on a bit…

      • Some great tips here, thank you so much! I’m such a novice but learning loads from kind people like you. It’s my best pal’s birthday in December and I am thinking about making her a quilt but will do hers with the machine for speed (well, the quilt top at least). I have no idea how I’ll get on with the quilting by hand but have a feeling I’ll enjoy it as I love hand sewing.

      • katechiconi says:

        OK, for fun, easy quilt tops that come together quickly and have a lot of impact, take a look at Go the Pies and Broken Bottles. Don’t start hand quilting when you have time pressure, you need to ease into it, it takes time to learn a technique that’ll suit you. Buy yourself a walking foot for your sewing machine, it’s worth every penny. And don’t start machine quilting with an ambitious, complicated free motion quilting design. Keep it to straight or very gently curved lines for now. I love a simple diamond pattern of crossing diagonal lines, it’s my go-to for when I want the fabric to speak louder than the quilting.

Leave a Reply

