AHQ: dressing the line

That’s the bit when they shuffle to and fro in close formation marching in order to ensure the line is straight.

Screen shot 2014-10-30 at 5.09.42 PMThere’s been a fair bit of line dressing under my sewing machine needle today, but the results are pretty acceptable if I say so myself. This pretty, floral and, let’s be honest, downright girly quilt features some tidy straight lines! I’m about a third of the way through the quilting. For a miracle, I haven’t uttered a single curse, drawn blood or had to unpick anything (so far, anyway!). This quilt is going to go out to its new owner full of positive vibes…

I hope I can finish it tomorrow; today has been filled with getting plumbers to quote for the 5 or 6 jobs that need doing round the house. I also have some GF baking to do for one of my customers first thing, so it’ll just be a couple of hours in the afternoon, when the Husband has his pre-night shift sleep.

More soon.

20 thoughts on “AHQ: dressing the line

  1. Good luck with the plumbers… I really feel for you after recent experiences. Quilt looking good!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m longing for a couple of new loos! Both are distinctly the worse for wear, and the main one is badly stained with something that doesn’t respond to any substance I’ve been able to think of! It’ll be nice to have taps that don’t dribble, too!

  2. I do like your simple quilting which shows off the fabrics and doesn’t overwhelm the design. I also admire your ability to sew so many straight lines! Do you use a walking foot? Do you drop the dogs? The reason I mostly hand quilt is because I’ve not properly got to grips with either method, besides enjoying the calm, relaxed evenings spent hand stitching.

    • katechiconi says:

      I use a long quilting ruler and a very fine pointed pencil, draw a few lines and stitch them, using a walking foot with the feed dogs in the standard sewing position. I go at a slow to medium pace, and use a slightly longer than normal stitch length, which seems to even out at normal size on the quilt. Once I’ve drawn the first few lines, I draw some more and carry on. I’ve found that if I mark up the whole quilt, the faint pencil lines rub off. And they wash out quite nicely at the end!

  3. tialys says:

    Looking gorgeous!
    I do envy your nice straight stitching lines – they usually evade me, what with the struggle to keep the quilt under the needle. I must practice on a smaller piece. When I went to Libertys last year (might have been the year before) I bought a little pack of fabric strips to make a (very) mini quilt. That would be the perfect project to have a go with so, once I’ve cleared my work table of various other WIPs, I’ll dig that pack out of my stash, put a new needle in, change to the walking foot and set about it.
    What do you use to mark the lines on the quilt top?

    • katechiconi says:

      Ordinary pencil, sharpened to a needle point, and a long (2ft) patchwork cutting ruler with inches marked off across the width so you can line up on the line you drew before, and ensure the new line is a consistent distance away. If the fabric’s too dark, I use a pale blue quilt marking pencil, but I don’t like it so much because you can’t get a decent point on it.

  4. tialys says:

    Oops! I think Vivienne and I must have been separated at birth!

  5. rutigt says:

    So far it really looks great 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

  6. Carole says:

    The quilt is looking lovely.
    I may try your pencil method. I’ve been using one of those things that draws a crease in the fabric but I can’t see it half the time and then my line goes wonky 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, a Hera? I don’t like them much, as you say, you can’t see it half the time! I’ve tried the masking tape method too, but it’s very slow and I’ve sewn it down too often – it’s a b…. to pick tape out of the stitches?

      • Carole says:

        Hera. That’s it. I couldn’t think what it was called. It’s great on some colours of fabric, but as you’re sewing across different colours, the line disappears. I haven’t heard of the masking tape method, but I’m thinking I’ll avoid it.

      • katechiconi says:

        It works really well for some people, but the way I sew means I’m looking about a centimetre ahead of the needle all the time, and while I’m doing that, the pesky thing is wandering all over the tape… Besides, a pencil in my hand feels more natural and instinctive; I’ve been drawing all my life!

  7. Don’t jinx the quilting miracle! May the rest go as smoothly and be as free from curse words.

  8. pattisj says:

    I love the colors you’ve chosen. I remember the days of trying to be quiet while my dad slept for his night-shift job.

  9. katechiconi says:

    I fell in love with the colours a year ago, and since then the jelly roll has been sitting in the cupboard waiting for a suitable project. I’m fortunate to have a whole room to myself to sew in, and the Husband can sleep through the end of the world, so I don’t have to tiptoe too much!

Leave a Reply

