Worth every moment

I just wanted to share this with you.

A while back, I made my first quilt for AHQ (Aussie Hero Quilts). We make and send quilts and laundry bags to the men and women of the Australian Defence Force without expectation of a response; they are, after all, on active duty and they have one or two other calls on their time. Sometimes, though, you either strike a chord with what you’ve done, or you strike it lucky.

Screen shot 2014-10-23 at 5.09.41 PMThis quilt did both. Just look at that smile!

At times like these, I truly understand how much they enjoy knowing that someone other than their nearest and dearest is thinking of them. And it makes it all worthwhile.

Right, back to pinning together the latest one.

34 thoughts on “Worth every moment

  1. EllaDee says:

    Well done! What a happy start to Friday 🙂

  2. Cicely says:

    Hi Kate, I don’t blog but found you via Celi and The Farmy, and very much enjoy your posts. I’m in awe of your quiliting – one of the many things on my list of ‘want to do’. How lovely for you to get this pic and kudos to you and all your fellow quilt makers for putting in the effort for these guys (and gals) – it’s obviously appreciated. I garden in Scotland, so it’s fun to see how and what you’re growing. I am envious of your wee frogs. I come across the occasional (much larger) frog in my garden – love ’em.

    • katechiconi says:

      Hello, and welome to Chiconia! Celi is responsible for all sorts of people getting to know each other, and I love knowing she’s not so very far away at the moment, even if it’s only for a day or so more. It’s a novelty getting her posts in the same (roughly) time zone as we are… I do adore making quilts, so having a really excellent reason to do so justifies the quite unreasonable amount of time I spend on it. I don’t envy your gardening climate, although I wish I could see the northern hemisphere spring flowers again. Here, we’re coming into spring, and already it’s quite hot. I keep the froglets’ environment well watered to make sure they stay happy and it seems to be working; I counted 7 of them the other evening. Do visit Chiconia again, I love getting comments, and a blog brings distant friends closer together…

  3. claire93 says:

    what a lovely “masculine” quilt. And yes, I can understand how rewarding it must be when you receive a photo like that. Makes your work all Worth while, and nice to be able to see who will be snuggling up Under your handiwork ^^

  4. anne54 says:

    That is fantastic!! You must a grin almost as big as his is!

  5. That looks like a win-win situation to me, plus he’s going to look particularly cute cuddled up under that quilt 🙂 heh

  6. What a smile; what a lovely way to say thank you.

  7. tialys says:

    Bless his little face! It looks like his quilt made his day and I bet that smile made yours.

  8. you are such a good person !!!

  9. mihrank says:

    I hope you are receiving my comments and like for your post. I haven’t heard from you, I wanted to drop this note. I hope you will appreciate my blog!

    • katechiconi says:

      I do receive your likes and comments. But I sometimes wonder why you are following my blog, since I don’t seem to have many interests in common with you, and often your comments seem very generic and without reference to the subject of my post. Also, early on, you reposted some of my posts without checking if it was OK with me, which I found a little surprising. Do continue to follow if you truly find my content interesting, otherwise, I shall completely understand if you would prefer to concentrate your energies elsewhere…

      • mihrank says:

        Thank you very much for responding back to my message, I appreciate it. I totally understand your post, I am always interested to explore and learn more. This is one of the most important key elements why bloggers read or follow each other. Typically having a generic comments means I have read more and understand the meaning of your blog. I l look forward always to support you and hear from you.

  10. Kirsten says:

    Also a mighty impressive beard!

  11. What a fantastic gift. Everybody appreciates a quilt 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      He certainly seemed to! I think the nights get a bit chilly in the Persian Gulf, and regulation issue blankets have a tendency of ‘disappearing’ when it’s cold. This is unique, and therefore unlikely to walk!

  12. wombatquilts says:

    You are really making a difference m’dear. Keep up the good work.

  13. […] is HMAS Toowoomba, and the big bearded smiling face I showed in an earlier post is there, proudly holding his […]

Leave a Reply

