Morning tea in Paradise

We treated ourselves to the morning off.

By which I mean, we zoomed through the chores and deliveries, and then jumped on Miss Scarlett for a spot of therapeutic roaring around the countryside in the sunshine and fresh air. Our mission today was not only to get out of the house and away from all the jobs screaming for our attention, but also to rediscover a fabulous place for morning tea which we’d found when on an outing with friends from the British Vintage Motorcycle Club.

And find it we did. The Old Station Teahouse is a converted old wooden railway station building which has been set down in lush tropical surroundings, complete with huge trees, creepers, birds, flowers and shady verandahs. The lovely Michele very kindly agreed to share with me the recipe for one of the nicest cakes I’d had for a long time: Chocolate, Date & Almond Torte: exceptional and gluten free. The Husband of Chiconia wolfed down home made scones with fresh raspberry conserve and cream, and we also wolfed down some really good iced coffee. Oh, it was dreadful, and our suffering was extreme…. It’s a fabulous place, and I particularly wanted to find it again so that we can take future visitors there.  So any friends out there reading this: get your skates on and pay us a visit. I promise you won’t be sorry….

Screen shot 2014-10-23 at 1.56.11 PM

And you have this just down the road at Cape Hillsborough. Copyright http://www.queenslandforeveryone.com.

I’ll be experimenting with the recipe soon, and when I’m done, I’ll post it. I want to play around with the texture and quantities a little first…

 

24 thoughts on “Morning tea in Paradise

  1. mihrank says:

    Just Beautiful and amazing blog!

  2. tialys says:

    It sounds delightful – though not one cup of tea was mentioned(!)

    I’m looking forward to your version of the cake. I need to make a birthday cake for Mr. T. – I know, I know, I live in France and we have all the patisseries here but they don’t really do ‘cakes’ as we know them but very expensive ‘moussey’ confections which are nice enough but not what a man’s birthday cake calls for. Got any suggestions? I’ve got a few favourite cake recipes but I’ve made those several times and I’m looking for something new and different

    If I ever get up the courage to take a plane trip long enough to get me to Australia, I’m definitely counting on you taking me to see those Kangaroos frolicking by the waters edge!!

    • katechiconi says:

      What flavours does he enjoy? I know chocolate and orange combined are not on from the earlier post. Coffee? Sticky date? Lemon? Rich boozy fruit cake? Give me some clues and I’ll give you a recipe.

      And should you ever decide to visit Australia, and make it as far north as Mackay, you’ll be seeing a whole lot more than just the roos at Cape Hillsborough!

      • tialys says:

        You tempt me! I used to have no problem with flying – I used to work for an airline so I was everywhere like a rash – then, after my daughters were born, I started to get nervous about it and also find it incredibly boring. I find the 1.5 hours over to the U.K. about as much as I can put up with these days. Maybe I should try hypnosis.
        I would say ginger and chocolate (not necessarily together) would be up there with his favourites. ‘Rich Boozy Fruit Cake’ sounds more like a description of quite a few people I’ve met.

      • katechiconi says:

        Getting to Australia IS fairly tedious. The best route for me is London – Dubai – Singapore – Sydney or Brisbane, offering serious retail opportunities in the two middle stops… And I manage trip boredom by loading several new books onto my Kindle, planning my movie watching at the start of the trip to occupy maximum time, and taking some embroidery, which is allowed so long as you don’t take pointy scissors.
        I shall look out some suitable recipes that don’t require any esoteric ingredients, and email them to you. And by the way, we were both hot and wanted a cool drink, hence the iced coffee rather than tea!

  3. The Tea House looks beautiful…. and I love the picture of the paddling marsupials!

  4. EllaDee says:

    Even I, a born and bred Aussie would love to see the skips on the beach at Cape Hillsborough… and I suppose I could manage some delicious cake and/or scones (with raspberry conserve – oh joy rather than strawberry – yuck!) at The Old Station Teahouse 🙂

  5. The teahouse looks amazing and the foody treats sound delicious. So Miss Scarlett is a motorcycle, eh?? OH is looking at sidecar outfits at the moment. I’d much rather have another bike. What do you have?

  6. I have never even seen kangourous on the beach !!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Most people think they only live in the bush, but they’re very adaptable animals. They are a feature of Cape Hillsborough, and people go there specially to see them.

  7. you have just sparked a brilliant idea – !!! … thank you 🙂

  8. Kirsten says:

    Looking forward to the recipe! And ‘roos on the beach – so cute.

  9. pattisj says:

    Love your photo. I never thought of kangaroos liking the water.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m afraid I can’t take credit for the photo, as it’s from a Tourism Queensland website, but kangaroos can be seen daily on the beach there, so there must be something there they like or need.

Leave a Reply

