AHQ: stolen hours

Here and there over the last two days I’ve snuck an hour or two of stealthy sewing.

Generally it’s been a guilty pleasure, since I’ve known very well that there’s a long list of other, more constructive, things I should be doing. But bother the list. This is what I love to do, and if I could only find one or two bits of important equipment (the stitch ripper for example!), my pleasure would be complete.  I finally gave in and bought a reel of thread, since I couldn’t find the box that had the threads in it.

So here’s the almost complete top of the AHQ Scrumptious quilt. All the strips are now pieced together and the edges are trimmed. I have to measure it again, and add either white sashing round the outside too, or perhaps just the binding will be enough once it’s quilted. I reckon a couple more hours of solid work will see the top finished.

Screen shot 2014-10-20 at 6.51.27 PMThe poor Husband of Chiconia is part way through 16 straight days of night shift, covering for a colleague who’s away. While he’s home and also awake, I’m trying to spend the time with him, since we have no off days together for a couple of weeks. This means not retreating upstairs to the sewing machine unless he’s engrossed in something else, and sadly the chores have made it clear they will not do themselves, so I’m not progressing as fast as usual with this quilt. On the upside, we have from time to time thrown responsibility to the winds and have taken off on Miss Scarlett, our Big Bike, for a little outing and adrenaline rush… All unpacking and no fun makes Kate a dull blogger.

On a completely different subject, we had a Willy Wagtail making free with the trickling water in Frogtopia. He had quite an extensive bath, shook off, had a bit of a shout about it, took another bath, and while this was going on, a Sunbird came to inspect proceedings as well. Both of the little darlings are helping to keep the place clear of insects, so are welcome. The froglets, of course, headed for cover while all this went on, knowing full well that the birds’ larger cousins are not averse to a spot of frog protein in their diet…

Right, back to the evening handwork, which is fast turning into quite a large number of EPP hexies in mostly black. I have no idea what it’s going to become, but until I locate the box that contains Steampunk, it passes the time.

More soon.

 

 

22 thoughts on “AHQ: stolen hours

  1. Oh those elusive stitch rippers and crowded minutes! You’re doing a grand job.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks, Viv. I’m going to be very happy when my time is bit less rationed and I can find all my equipment. But the house is slowly getting in shape, which is also very satisfying.

  2. tialys says:

    That quilt will certainly cheer somebody up – the colours are glorious. No stitch ripper! I couldn’t possibly survive. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Well, quite! I’ve been stitching very, very carefully, and keeping a tiny pair of embroidery scissors beside me in case of disasters. So far, they haven’t been needed. It’s a fun, happy quilt top, isn’t it?

  3. claire93 says:

    what a great way to use Jelly rolls !

    • katechiconi says:

      Isn’t it! Very easy, very quick and really pretty results. And the best bit of all is that all sewn together, the strips make exactly the right size for the AHQ quilt specifications!

  4. What a beautiful girly quilt that will be. Wonderful flower-garden colours. Of course if you buy a new stitch-ripper, your old one will immediately turn up… I’m surprised the box of thread wasn’t just sitting by your machine as soon as you walked in with your new spool!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m definitely not buying another stitch ripper; I already have two perfectly good ones. But I can always use another reel of white thread…. I suspect the other threads are in a fairly large box of sewing things still in the storage unit, which was just too large to fit in the trailer on our last trip there. I may have to make a special trip there.

  5. Carole says:

    That’s a great way to use a jelly roll. Those colours are so cheerful too 🙂

  6. Lovely work!
    We have wagtails (Will, Wilma, Wilhelmina, etc.) nesting in our garden most years. I should start looking as they are hours of entertainment, and I need to know where the nest is so I can lock the pets in at critical baby wagtail times. Last year they made it easy – I watched them build their nest barely a foot away from the kitchen window, near the kettle.

    • katechiconi says:

      I just love the bum wag – they put such energy into it! I got a couple of photos, but couldn’t get really close or he’d have flown away, and you can’t really see him against the dark background…

  7. dayphoto says:

    I need some ‘me time’ hours…your stitches are looking good. Lucky you for some time to do your own stuff.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/?s=The+Adventures+of+Fuzzy+and+Boomer&submit=Search
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  8. rutigt says:

    So I can see you´ve been busy, since I last visit your blog 🙂 Sorry for not showing up so often, but the PC has been occupied (DH is hardworking, don´t know with what!).
    Gun, Sweden

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m happy to see you again, it doesn’t matter how often you visit! I’ve been busy on so many things I can’t show – I have a mountain of empty boxes and the house is now looking a bit more ‘dressed’ with books on the shelves and a rug on the floor…

  9. the quilt is lovely ! t looks merry

  10. Kirsten says:

    I find that doing a little bit of what you want makes you resent the things you have to do less. It’s kind of like a reward.

    • katechiconi says:

      Today was a perfect illustration of exactly that point. I got rather grumpy when I couldn’t go and sew after hauling and unpacking boxes all morning. I had to go and make gluten free stuff for one of my customers instead… Ah well, at least I’m getting paid for it!

Leave a Reply

