Back in the groove

It’s definitely a groove, and not a rut; my work is running smoothly and harmoniously.

The electrician came today, and we are now blessed with working air conditioning, more power sockets than we know what to do with, and the power supply to install a garage door lifter. I’m grateful I won’t be jumping out of the car to lift that heavy thing much longer. What I’ve also been able to do is get my workspace up and, well, working! It’s pressing time up there right now, 35 WOF strips to press the creases out of so I can start stitching them together.

Screen shot 2014-10-17 at 1.42.22 PMThe bare wall at the left of this image will contain floor to ceiling book cases, and the wall above the cutting table on the right will have pictures, a pinboard, a mirror and hooks for rulers and tools. I desperately need to do something about those dreadful curtains, too, a legacy of the previous owners…

Outside, things are progressing too. My beans have germinated and are sprouting, less than a week after I put them in the ground. There are tiny lemons on the tiny lemon tree, flowers on the tomatoes and capsicums, and the sweet potato vine is twice the length it was a week ago. Summer’s on its way; it’s hot again, and I’m happy we’ll be able to cool the house down efficiently.

Screen shot 2014-10-17 at 1.42.41 PMWe got bookshelves up, a dresser constructed, our desks organised and the flyscreens installed in the bedroom windows. I’ve unpacked 7 or 8 boxes of books, and the living room is finally starting to look dressed.Of course, we haven’t even started with hanging pictures or unrolling rugs, but that will all come. I have a mountain of cardboard boxes to deconstruct, many of which will be coming in useful out in the garden as mulch under raised beds, but most of them will just have to be slowly recycled on yellow bin day (green bins for general waste, yellow bins for recyclables). Meanwhile, they can go into the shed, out of sight, and out of the way.

Back to work.

 

18 thoughts on “Back in the groove

  1. tialys says:

    Your sewing room looks lovely and light, I foresee great things emerging from there.
    Cardboard boxes as mulch eh?? I use lots of boxes for packing and sending out stuff but some aren’t suitable and usually go to the tip so I must mention to the gardener (aka Mr. Tialys) about this.

    • katechiconi says:

      Warning: gardening content! I slice open the bottoms of the boxes, and lay the flattened box directly on the ground. It suppresses weeds and grass. I then build a bed on top of it, and it gradually rots down and contributes carbon to the soil. The other way you can use them is around the base of plants and under something a bit more aesthetically pleasing, like straw. They keep the water in really well, but you’d need to use more fertiliser, as they tend to rob nitrogen out of the soil as they decompose.

  2. Your work room looks lovely. The only time mine is tidy enough to take a picture is when we’ve just moved house! I’m sure yours will stay tidy,
    you are so organised.

    • katechiconi says:

      Believe me, it will accumulate a fine mulch of stuff on virtually every surface, but I do try to keep the stuff under control and hopefully relevant to the project in hand!

  3. Looking good. We use cardboard boxes to make ‘grass lasagne’ compost as well as for mulch… in fact much of our garden is the product of this approach.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m not organised enough in the garden yet to have a compost heap, but I do need to establish a couple of long narrow raised vegie beds between the house and the shed, so a lot of the cardboard will come in handy there. I have a friend who’s brought me a feed sack full of chemical free alpaca poo, so that’ll become part of the lasagne too.

  4. claire93 says:

    yoohoo to your sewing room ^^

  5. Previous owners tend to leave hideous curtains. I love my curtains, but I know the next owner will find them ghastly.
    Look at all that space in the sewing room!

    • katechiconi says:

      At least these are slightly less disgusting than the brown, dirty, faded, dusty ones from the bedroom, with rusty huge eyelets in the top and faded and threadbare hems…
      The sewing room is quite, quite fabulous, and once I’ve retrieved all the boxes that belong in there, put up and filled all the shelves, and hung my ‘design wall’ up, I’ll be extremely happy. The thing I’m loving most at the moment is that if I drop a pin, it doesn’t get lost in beige carpet, but falls audibly and retrievably onto the wooden floor!

  6. EllaDee says:

    I’m mentally assimilating that wonderful combination of Zen and organization that emanates from your posts, in the hope of channeling it when the time for our big move comes. Practically, I have designated the prior building of a shed as Necessary, to absorb the overflow.
    I love your workspace. I have a similar table currently in the kitchen but ultimately designated as my writing desk, similarly positioned to yours.
    And, the cardboard boxes as mulch info is excellent 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Two things about cardboard boxes as mulch: if you can be bothered, it’s useful to remove the sticky tape first. It’s not necessary, but saves you discovering bits of it in the soil and having to pick it out later! And secondly, with cardboard, use lots and lots of poo. Chicken, sheep, cow, rabbit, it doesn’t matter, but you must have the nitrogen, otherwise the cardboard will rob it out of the soil to facilitate its own decomposition. Azolla waterweed will do it too, as will leguminous green mulch. And thank you so much for saying such nice things about my blog! I’m enjoying reading yours, and thought it was time to Follow you properly instead of just dipping in and out.

      • EllaDee says:

        I love dipping in and out of your blog, and encountering you amongst The Fellowship Commenters – we have an interesting mix of diverse and common interests 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Every night! But I find it hard to live in total disorder, so if I don’t do stuff not only do I feel guilty, I also get stressed. And I just love seeing things come together and getting finished.

  7. That’s a lovely sewing space you have there! I hope you get lots of time to play 🙂

Leave a Reply

