Treasures unearthed

I have been pining for my sewing machine and fabrics.

Finally, we have reached a point where it was possible to spend an hour or two on getting my sewing room a little more organised. I’m not ready to get to work just yet – somewhere out there is a box with all my thread – but I’ve been getting reacquainted with my fabrics, reminding myself what I have and what I’d planned to do with all of it. Some of you (the non-quilters) will be wondering what all the fuss is about. I’ll try to explain.

It’s nearly a month since I packed up my work room, and I’ve been missing my daily dose of creativity, of association with colour and texture and a sense of peaceful purpose. It’s hard to look around and on all sides see unfinished tasks shouting to be done, with no opportunity to sit and quietly achieve goals and make something useful and beautiful.

Screen shot 2014-10-15 at 3.13.20 PMMy fabulous oak Cupboard of All Colours has been reassembled and almost filled again. My sewing machine has its own table under the window for the best working light, and I have a separate cutting table. There is a wall dedicated to my design space (or queensize beige flannelette sheet, if you want to be picky), another for my bookshelves. There will be space to leave the ironing board up all the time, somewhere to put rolls of batting, interfacing and fusibles, and best of all, lots and lots of light. I know there are three large boxes of fabric and at least a dozen of books waiting to be collected from the storage unit, not to mention the wall track, brackets and shelves for my books, but it’s a start. I have somewhere to put my embroidery project where it won’t accidentally have a hot drink set down on it, and where the needle won’t disappear into a crack in the floorboards!

I’m a happy quilter again. Next week, I should be able to start another AHQ quilt. I could actually start tomorrow if I went out and bought some fabric and thread, but having spent a couple of hours arranging my sewing room, I now have to get on with more urgent jobs, like emptying more cardboard boxes, doing laundry and loading the dishwasher.

…In a minute. For just a little longer I shall sit in my room and dream…

13 thoughts on “Treasures unearthed

  1. mihrank says:

    LOL – A great method of sending your message!

  2. Carole says:

    I bet that feels better just knowing that you could go in there and create something. Just as soon as you get time 🙂

    It sounds like it’s going to be a beautiful space. I hope there’ll be photos of it once you have it how you want it.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have already gone in and just sat there, I got a jelly roll out for a possible AHQ quilt, and I’ve already rearranged a few things. Yes, I’d say it does feel a lot better! I don’t know if it’s going to be beautiful, but it will be practical, everything will be handy, and it’s all MINE! 🙂

  3. After 8 months of enforced bed rest following our move, I can empathise absolutely with your sense of deprivation. My workroom hasn’t really recovered because I prefer creating to tidying!

  4. Kirsten says:

    Nearly there . . . it always makes me feel more relaxed when I have something like this almost sorted. I may not have time to use it, but just knowing that it is there ready and waiting is reassuring.

  5. Glad to see the cupboard restored… now, I wonder what happened to the thread…?

    • katechiconi says:

      There are still two large cartons of sewing room stuff at the storage unit, which will need to be collected and brought home. I”m confident it’s in one of those! Meanwhile, my next sewing task is already on the table..

  6. claire93 says:

    I can imagine exactly how you feel ^^ I packed all my fabrics for the move end of June and still haven’t been able to set up a proper stitching corner because we’re still in our tiny temporary flat. Our move into the new house isn’t going to happen until early December . . . so I still have a few more months to wait.

    • katechiconi says:

      My deep commiserations! I’ve been miserable without handwork except the embroidery. Having a creative outlet makes doing the other stuff so much more bearable.

      • claire93 says:

        I’m actually more a cross stitcher than sewer, so I have been able to keep busy so far BUT I would like to get to work on some sewing or patchworking with my machine yet I don’t really want to unpack too much, since it’ll all have to be packed again ^^
        Such is life – come early 2015 I’ll be in creative heaven ^^

Leave a Reply

