Stitch Along 6

My progress this time round isn’t too impressive.

To be fair, I have moved house between this one and the last one, my sewing room is still just a heap of boxes, there are hundreds of boxes still to be unpacked and most of the furniture to be positioned (or at least, that’s how it feels), and nothing is where I expect/hope/wish it to be.

Anyway, there is some small change. And I like where it’s going.

Before:

Screen shot 2014-09-19 at 9.10.01 PM

And after:

Screen shot 2014-10-12 at 7.52.13 PM

You can just see the start of the hand he’s resting his chin on. Still a long way to go!

And the Stitch Along numbers are increasing! First there were 4, then I joined to make it 5, and now we are 10. Do go and see what the others are up to – there are new projects to look at.

Avis at http://sewingbesidethesea.wordpress.com

Claire at http://claire93.wordpress.com

Gun at http://rutigt.wordpress.com

Carole at http://aslightobsessionwithbooks.wordpress.com

Eleanor at http://sunandcake.wordpress.com 

Alison at http://minervahandmade.wordpress.com

Jule at http://fromtheboudoir.wordpress.com

Elizabeth at http://garden4therapy.wordpress.com/

Wendy at http://thecraftersapprentice.blogspot.co.uk

26 thoughts on “Stitch Along 6

  1. Anlina says:

    That’s awesome Kate! And I am envious of your little tree frogs 🙂

  2. rutigt says:

    I´d say you done a lot! You have been moving and that´s a very good excuse for not sewing at all, I´d think 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

  3. Jule says:

    Looking great – and a little more than just ‘small’ progress. 🙂

  4. claire93 says:

    excellent progress Kate

  5. tialys says:

    Looking good! What does the H. of C. feel about being immortalised in thread and Aida?

  6. minerva says:

    I’d say that was fantastic progress considering you’ve moved house! Nice design, looking forward to further progress!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks! I reckon it’ll be finished by the end of November, just in time for me to give it to the Dowager for Christmas. Or the Husband may decide he doesn’t want it given away. I have the next project lined up, and it’s a big and pretty complicated one, so that’ll keep me out of trouble for a while.

  7. It’s looking great! Nice to watch him appear pixel by pixel 🙂

  8. Kim says:

    Beautiful! You do such good work. Progress is progress ad I’d say you did make some good headway..hehe Moving is hard work and unpacking is even harder. One box at a time, one stitch at a time. You’ll get it done.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, that’s very kind. It’s a whole lot easier to do a load of stitching than hauling boxes around and unpacking them, so perhaps I did make better progress than I should!

  9. Elizabeth says:

    I agree with the others^, there’s lots progress on this! did you use a program to transfer the photo to cross stitch pattern? Great idea!

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, but first I manipulated the photo to convert it to black and white, then added texture to soften it, and then finally put it through the program. If you go back to my previous post on the subject, I’ve given the website where you can do it.

  10. Carole says:

    It looks like you’ve got lots done, especially considering how busy you’ve been. It’s looking really good too 🙂

  11. Carolyn says:

    This is an interesting piece, I’m looking forward to seeing more.

  12. mihrank says:

    Kate – this is talent, creative. Bravo!

  13. wendy says:

    I can see the progress you’ve made, so well done! Thanks for your comment on my blog, you asked me how big my blackwork piece will be and the answer is that I don’t know! I cut the fabric to the size required at the beginning and since then I’ve forgotten the measurements… I’ll take some photos with a ruler for scale for the next update. I did want to reply to you by email, but you’re a no-reply blogger so i couldn’t.

    • katechiconi says:

      How weird, I have several other bloggers who reply to me by email, so I’m pretty sure I’m not… In any case, if you do want to email me, you can find the address in Contact Me. Perhaps it’s because it’s your first comment and I had to moderate it first? A ruler beside your piece for the next photo would be great. It’s beautiful now, but is going to be amazing when it’s finished.

Leave a Reply

