The Gardens of Chiconia 25: lovely spuds

The potato bags did not do well in the move. The plants died back en masse and they weren’t coming back.

So I dug out all the baby potatoes, and we’ll be having big potato feasts over the next few days. There are three varieties in the basket: a few Kipflers, quite a lot of Nicolas (the largest ones) and some Bintjes, which I love, but which are late season potatoes so are very small. I’m fantasising a fabulous potato salad here, with lovely mayo, hardboiled egg, diced ham and tomato. I’ve left one of the sacks alone, because in the top there’s a volunteer sweet potato vine making a bid for freedom, so I shall see if anything comes of that.

Screen shot 2014-10-06 at 7.12.27 PM
Screen shot 2014-10-06 at 7.13.07 PMThe soil from the potato bags is still lovely stuff, so half of it was tipped straight into the raised bed near the patio. I’d watered the rubbish soil in there, covered it with soaked cardboard (yup, those packing boxes are now into their third life), and then the soil went on top. I’ve set up two bamboo teepees, and at the base of each I’ve planted tropical-friendly beans: long beans and snake beans. Cross your fingers!

Screen shot 2014-10-06 at 7.12.45 PM

I’ve ventured into the big thicket at the end of the garden to tackle the mystery creeper. It was a monster. I have a pile two metres across and a metre high. It had almost totally strangled two perfectly good citrus trees, a rather pretty white gum and was checking out the monster ficus above it.  If Gardening Australia get back to me in a few days to say it’s something deeply rare and protected, I shall shrug indifferently. Something that aggressive has no place in a domestic setting.

Screen shot 2014-10-06 at 7.13.21 PM
As I was clearing up at the end of a secateurs-heavy day, I heard a long chorus of honking, looked up and saw endless skeins of geese heading from the mangroves back inland to the golf course, where there’s a nice lake. They went out this morning in the same fashion. This evening, having some clue about what was going on, I sprinted for the house and my camera (ok, I hobbled fast…) and managed to capture the tail end of the flight. It was a lovely dusk, the moon almost full and a silvery light lying on everything.

Ok, off to finish making the sauce for my gnocci.  It’s smelling fab!

 

12 thoughts on “The Gardens of Chiconia 25: lovely spuds

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Those be some nice lookin’ spuds! And I applaud your attempt at transplanting!!

  2. I was surprised to hear the names of your spuds, Nicolas and Bintje are the 2 most popular spuds in Belgium !! Bon Appetit !

  3. mdlonnie says:

    A delightful moment to see the geese on their travels.
    I am really loving your blog, thank you for sharing.

  4. mihrank says:

    great post and informative!!

  5. tialys says:

    Have you made your own gnocci? I haven’t gone down that road yet but buy it here in bags like fresh pasta but I find they can be a bit ‘heavy’ and wonder if it makes a big difference to make your own.
    Love the bird photo by the way, it looks like a Red Arrow display.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have a recipe for gnocci stuck up on the fridge which I’ve been meaning to try for ages, and I’ll get round to it one day. I love gnocci! I can’t use the ready made stuff because it contains wheat flour, and the GF alternative I buy is extremely expensive, so it would be worth the effort.
      I must try and capture more than just the tail end of the evening fly-past, there must be thousands of them honking and flapping their way past…

Leave a Reply

