The Gardens of Chiconia 23: hidden treasures

Today I have been mooching around the garden again with my camera.

Yesterday it was birds and frogs. Today it’s the turn of the plants. Time for some pictures:

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.33.49 PM

An orchid, casually being fabulous on a palm tree….

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.34.07 PM

Mandarin blossom

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.34.19 PM

I have no idea what this is, with its weird lilac spidery flowers and orangey red globular fruits. Any ideas, anyone?

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.34.46 PM

White silk pompoms….

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.34.59 PM

Pink silk pompoms. That’s a bud on the left, which will shortly explode into something like the thing on the right!

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.35.13 PM

Mulberries ripening. I wonder if I’ll get to them before the birds…

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.35.27 PM

The mulberry tree, a little tottery but still willing

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.36.04 PM

The poinciana. It needs a lot of dead wood cut out of it.

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.36.43 PM

Chookonia. In need of a little renovation, but I don’t believe the Girls will be too fussed about how it looks.

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.37.01 PM

The free range area, left side

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.37.13 PM

The free range area, right side. It’s about a quarter acre.

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.37.32 PM

Froglet Heaven. There’s water in there somewhere…

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 4.37.52 PM

… and in case you thought I was exaggerating, those are green ant nests in just part of just one of the mango trees. Seriously, that one closest in the shot is the size of my head and the tree is swarming with the little buggers.

I haven’t managed to get a great deal done; there was a visit to the doctor, an x-ray and an ultrasound on my sore hip. Results tomorrow; it’s either the arthritis spreading, or bursitis. Both are painful, and I’m grateful for the tasty new drugs I’ve been prescribed. On the plus side of the balance sheet, I did laundry, put up a blind to keep the morning sun out of our eyes in bed, gave the huge gas oven a test run (full marks on the splendid roast chicken), and unpacked three boxes of baking equipment in readiness for my next GF order.

Time to go and deal with the vegetables, which won’t steam themselves – even in this climate!

17 thoughts on “The Gardens of Chiconia 23: hidden treasures

  1. tialys says:

    It all looks very lush and beautiful. Those ant nests are a bit scary though. We have processional caterpillars here that make cocoons in certain pine trees and have toxic hairs which can cause really bad irritation or worse if inhaled especially by the very young or animals. I wouldn’t go shinning up your mango tree any time soon – even if the hip permits. Hope the results are not too daunting.

    • katechiconi says:

      The answer is to wait until I have the chickens, get telescopic pole loppers, bring down a nest at a time, and stand back while the Girls stampede for the free food! I will not be attempting any tree climbing, I promise, and hopefully the painkillers and anti-inflammatories will shut down any nonsense from my hip.

  2. The mulberry tree looks as though it needs propping up, like me! (and you by the sound of things)

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I rather think a nice crutch would be quite welcome at the moment. The mulberry has one, but it’s not very effective; the tree is much more horizontal from the side than it appears in the photo. I must make a priority of Doing Something About It. And that’s a list that isn’t getting any shorter…

  3. claire93 says:

    so many new things to discover in your new garden ^^

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, and I’ve barely scratched the surface. We’ve been here since Friday and I’ve been indoors unpacking and arranging furniture virtually non-stop. Today was the first day I could do a bit of exploration. I have to draw a plan of the place, and plot what’s there, and what I want to keep, and make a list of urgent tasks. So much to do, but really, all the time in the world to do it!

  4. that plant with the big green leafs !!! it’s soooo cool !

  5. EllaDee says:

    All the discoveries of your new garden are wonderful, particularly the mulberry tree, and excepting the aerial green ants nests… eeww. I love pom pom flowers, we have them too – on a shared fence line and the neighbors infuriate me by hacking them back [pruning too refined a descriptor for their practices] mid winter when they are in glorious flower…

    • katechiconi says:

      I confess that the roots of mine are actually next door, but the bulk of the bush is through my side of the fence. Our neighbour on that side is not someone even vaguely interested in gardening, so I think they’re safe, but they’re going to need a bit of a haircut at some stage. I will be moderate with the secateurs, I promise!

  6. Intrigued by those purple filamentous flowers… and how lovey to have a mulberry… even if it is vertically-challenged!

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t think it will ever produce more than one or two servings of fruit, it’s very old and very bent. But I suppose I could diversify with my livestock, and keep silkworms!

    • katechiconi says:

      Not quite Forever Sun; for 3 or 4 months it will seem like Forever Rain, and Big Winds, and then after that, the sun will come out again and dry things up. It’s kind of nice to have the weather come in predictable cycles, but after weeks and weeks of rain every day, I get a bit desperate for the sight of a blue sky….

Leave a Reply

