The other kind of Frogging…

The sewers, knitters and crocheters among you are probably sadly familiar with the term Frogging.

For the others, it’s the act of unravelling, unpicking or undoing your work – rippit, geddit?

Being currently sadly without any handwork that doesn’t involve a cordless drill and a box cutter, I was wandering around the garden this morning with the Dowager, planning my forthcoming pruning and slashing programme, coffee in hand, and keeping a sharp lookout for green ants, which have invaded in a serious way. We were inspecting the jungly tangle of foliage next to the patio, consisting of Monstera, giant Taro and a lot of ferns. I heard a little trill, and took a sharper look. There were tiny green tree frogs everywhere, the size of my thumbnail and smaller.

Screen shot 2014-09-28 at 1.40.05 PM Screen shot 2014-09-28 at 1.40.18 PM Screen shot 2014-09-28 at 1.41.03 PM Screen shot 2014-09-28 at 1.41.18 PM

Screen shot 2014-09-28 at 1.40.32 PM Screen shot 2014-09-28 at 1.40.48 PMThis garden has much more wildlife than my former one. There are koels, rosellas, willy wagtails, magpies (who are getting very territorial at this time of year, almost time to bring out the big hat), bee eaters, honey eaters, wattle birds, collared doves – and that’s just for starters. My bird book is still packed, but I’ll be trying to keep a record, in writing if not in pictures. Who ever has their camera handy, turned on and at the right focal length when something exotic flies past…?

I’d like to encourage the frogs. They eat insects, which can only be good. The Husband isn’t keen, as he feels that the water the frogs would need to be comfortable would in turn encourage mosquitos to breed. I’d like to give it a go and see who wins! At least I shall have some trickling water, which the mozzies won’t breed in, since they need it still. A little bit of water will encourage all sorts of useful creatures who will eat the less useful creatures that are eating my garden.

Back to work. I have doors to install in my new pantry cupboard and a trip to make to the storage unit to pick up my baking supplies.

33 thoughts on “The other kind of Frogging…

  1. tialys says:

    Mr. T. built a little garden pond last year which has a small waterfall down the rocks at the back. We bought six little fish to eat any mozzie larva which might appear and waited for the toads and lizards to move into it and stop drowning themselves in the swimming pool. The fish bred like crazy and we have lost count of how many are in there now. I bought a special doggy paddling pool so the dog wouldn’t muddy the waters but that lay abandoned while she made free with the pond. Meanwhile, the mozzies bred in the paddling pool! On the plus side, it’s lovely to hear the trickle of water when the waterfall starts up (we have a solar powered pump on a timer) and there are nowhere near as many toads and lizards in the skimmer. Sadly, we don’t seem to get frogs in our garden – only toads. I’ll have to be content with the other sort of frogging – which I indulge in quite a lot 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      We have a solar pump for a fountain sitting in a box, waiting for us to have the space for a weeny pond. Now I can have it. I don’t plan on having any still water anywhere, and we have no 4 legged housemates, so a paddling pool is not required. I can’t believe how tiny and cute and jewel-like these bright green froglets are!

  2. Anlina says:

    Very jealous of your froggies – a sign of a healthy habitat! Enjoy!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d love it if they’d clear up the dozens of green ant nests all over this garden, including several football sized ones in my mango trees. I’m going to have to get a pole lopper and chop them down and feed them to the chooks, when I finally get them.

  3. I predict hours of entertainment watching the little froglets do their thing.

    • katechiconi says:

      And listening to their evening choral efforts… “boy, boy, boy, boy, boy….. girl….. boy, boy, boy, boy, boy”, etc. And they call us the vocal sex. Still, they’ll do a smashing job of warning us when rain’s coming, something I used to rely on kookaburras for, further south.

  4. You stick to your guns and encourage the ecosystem of your garden. It will pay enormous dividends. What a wonderful list of birds.

  5. EllaDee says:

    We enjoy our resident frogs at Taylors Arm. They make themselves quite at home. And with, or without them as we are in Sydney there are mozzles 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It would be nice if they could reduce the overall bitey insect burden here, but I’m becoming moderately resistant to the North Qld biters; I don’t scratch all night any longer!

  6. Carole says:

    Oh how smashing! I love frogs 🙂

  7. rutigt says:

    Cute frogs! I would definitely try to keep them 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

  8. Kim says:

    When it rains here, the frogs make their little voices heard under our deck. I call to them with a whistle and they answer back. Bill call me the frog whisperer. 🙂 I have never seen such tiny little green beauties, what a treat! Do you have bats where you are? They love mosquitoes and eat scads of them. A bubbling fountain would be so wonderful to listen to, so calming. So much to look forward to in your new beautiful new abode. frogging is my friend. I had made a pair of fingerless mitts that I wasn’t happy with, my tension was off, so I frogged them and redid them…ahh, much better.

  9. Wow! Your new garden sounds like heaven to me. I love frogs and toads and any other wildlife. Thankfully we don’t have mozzies here because they like me a little too much LOL. I bet you are discovering new things every day 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I keep discovering new plants, that’s for sure. But I haven’t been able to spend much time out there yet, my time is all eaten up unpacking boxes, hanging curtains, installing blinds, arranging the kitchen, etc. Never mind. I have years yet to play with it!

  10. Kirsten says:

    So cute! I would definitely be encouraging them!

  11. I’d love to have them in my garden !!! We have lots of frogs but they are a lot bigger.

  12. HeeHee. I forgot there was another kind of frogging. Real frogs are very special.

  13. Froglets… what a wonderful feature in a garden 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      So much nicer than toads or bats…. The only trouble is that snakes are very fond of frogs for dinner! I won’t be wading into the undergrowth without long trousers and boots.

  14. Such dear little frogs. They’re a sign of healthy habitat too.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, it’s a hopeful sign for my new garden. I’m just hoping they have enough sense to stay away from the chook yard once I have it set up, because they’d make a tasty snack for the Girls, too.

Leave a Reply

