The Gardens of Chiconia 21: hoping for fruit…

After days and days of faffing about, the people selling the house to us have come to the point. We have finally, FINALLY, got the date sorted out for the house move. 25th September it is, one week from today.

Packing has recommenced with a vengeance and because I’ve been head down and bum up in cardboard boxes for the last week, I didn’t notice that my hitherto nice neighbour has murdered the passionfruit. Or at least, mangled it so severely that its future is in some doubt. When I planted it, we discussed whether she was OK with it twining through the fence. Oh yes, I was told, she likes passionfruit, no problem.  I told her to snip off any bits that were particularly intrusive.

Yesterday afternoon I went outside, looked across at the fence and promptly burst into tears. Instead of a luxuriant tangle of foliage obscuring a rather ugly fence, there were dead, dying and drooping branches, dozens of leaves on the ground, and a stark view of said ugly fence.  She’d only gone and cut every branch that passed through the fence, even if it came out again on my side. She cannot possibly have a shred of passionfruit left on her side, and I have barely a shred on mine. There’s ONE branch that survived unscathed. I’m fearfully sad about it… I can only console myself with the thought that I couldn’t have taken it with me anyway, but I do think that good manners should have prompted her to mention that she was about to conduct a passionfruit massacre instead of leaving me to find the corpse…

Anyway, on a brighter note, the little lemon tree is absolutely covered in the most deliciously scented flowers and the lime tree has noted this and decided that a spot of flowering is also in order. There aren’t many on the lime, but I live in hope. The banana tree, another one I can’t take with me, has put out two suckers which are now of a size to be potted, so they’re coming too, and I shall dig up my two pineapple bushes and pot those for transportation. The mango, avocado and lychee are still holding their own, but I think they will be much happier in the ground, so I’m looking forward to some action once they’ve got over the transplantation shock.

Screen shot 2014-09-17 at 4.06.41 PM

Loadsa lemon

Screen shot 2014-09-17 at 4.06.27 PM

Less lime…

Screen shot 2014-09-17 at 4.07.01 PM

Baby bananas!

I’m picking the last of the weeny cherry tomatoes, and then that bed can have the capsicum and rhubarb plants dug out and potted, and I can clear it. The potatoes are dying back too, so it’s almost time to harvest them – I’ll probably get that done before the move so I can carry a bucket of spuds rather than 6 potato bags of plants!

The adventure in the Gardens of Chiconia 1.0 are almost over. The New Gardens of Chiconia, version 2.0, are about to start

16 thoughts on “The Gardens of Chiconia 21: hoping for fruit…

  1. Hurrah – I hope that all the plants survive, that you have an abundance of new passion-fruit plants and that all of you are very, very happy in Chiconia #2

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I’ll probably be slightly incommunicado for a couple of days until we get everything plugged in and connected, but after that the torrent of Chiconication will continue unabated…

  2. I’m betting your normally nice neighbour found a HE to trim the passion fruit – never let a man lose with pruning shears! Passion fruit are very tough, and will bounce back very quickly.

    Is it the done thing where you are to take the plants when moving house? One of a clump, maybe, but not the whole shebang!

    • katechiconi says:

      Since it’s our house and will be let, I can take whatever I like! The chances of finding a tenant who will take good care of everything are fairly low, and having nurtured this garden from bare grass to lush tropical in 20 months, I’m taking as much as I can!

  3. tialys says:

    There’s just something about a pair of pruning shears in the hands of a man (or a determined amateur) that triggers a switch in the brain that has no ‘stop’ button.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think it was the shock that bothered me most. If she’d said she was going to chop it back, I’d probably have lent a hand and asked for certain branches to be left. As it is, I’m not at all sure the vine will make it… Thank goodness we don’t have to deal with the neighbours here too much longer!

  4. claire93 says:

    deepest sympathy for the passionfruit :s

  5. Kirsten says:

    Poor passionfruit plant! Maybe she didn’t do it, maybe someone came to do her garden and committed the crime. Not much consolation. I would be livid!

    • katechiconi says:

      Nope. It was her, they don’t have someone who comes in. The neighbours in front and behind conspired to chop down a very nice old frangipani tree out the front too, without consulting us. We’re surrounded by garden vandals! I’m so happy to be moving…

  6. Kim says:

    One of my neighbors cut three branches off of one of my crepe myrtles a while back. I wasn’t happy. They were droopy and may have been hanging “over” the property line, but he could have said something first!
    Good luck with the packing. Did you get your sewing room done? I’m sure that was a big one. What always takes me the longest is the little stuff that just lies around right before you vacate.

    • katechiconi says:

      The sewing room is done. I just have the ironing board still out, and my computer desk needs to remain, but all the fabric and tools and other bits are now in boxes :-(. I’ve kept back one little shoebox with a sewing kit and some scraps in it, and my embroidery, which will be posted on Sunday. I still have 7 whole days, but there’s the pantry and kitchen cupboards to deal with, not to mention the garden shed…

  7. rutigt says:

    Never trust a neighbour……. 🙂 I hope you´ll grow another tree in your new garden. Here we have aples and plums just outside the door and I´ve made jam 🙂 Next project is aplesirup, a recepie I found in a magazine and have never tried before 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    • katechiconi says:

      That sounds lovely. It’s too hot here for apples and plums, but I have delicious mangoes and pineapples to compensate! The mango trees are all in flower and there should be a good crop this year, so I will be freezing mango puree.

  8. some people !!!! neighbours often can’t stand if a branch or some leafs of a bush hang over the fence, or some fallen leafs !!! I’d love to tell them to go live in a flat on the 10 th floor ! but I don’t….but passionfruits are very strong you know, just take the bit that is alive, plant it and water it well, I’m sure it will grow again !

Leave a Reply

